We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of St. Tudno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Tudno Hotel
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

On our whistle stop tour of north Wales, we stopped in Llandudno for one night. Was greeted by welcoming and pleasant staff, rooms very pretty with a sea view, food in the evening and breakfast the next morning was a delight!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mms111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    105
    42
    14
    11
See reviews for
136
282
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Having read good reviews about the food my wife and myself called in for lunch and was welcomed and shown to our table by a member of the front of house staff who when requested removed a cat from beneath it. The fishcake starters were presented well but just about edible due to over salting. Hoping that the mains would prove better we were disapointed to find that again the chef had been heavy handed with the salt which we pointed out and was thanked for the feedback and told "yes everything is well seasoned here" so we declined a sweet.
A very disapointing and costly experience not to be recomended.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank dagwood055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StTudno, Owner at St. Tudno Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
We were very disappointed to hear you didn’t enjoy your dining experience in our bar here at the St Tudno Hotel. I believe, after your meal, you informed a member of the Front of House team that you don’t use seasoning when cooking at home. Maybe this could be the reason for you feeling that we were seasoning heavily. Chef would gladly cater for any dietary requirements and if we were informed prior to you dining with us I think your experience would have been far better.

Tarkwell, our resident cat, does wander around the public rooms (but never in the restaurant) and is very popular with the vast majority of our guests. We are sorry if he upset you, we always move him if he causes problems, but he seldom does.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Although I did not actually stay at the hotel, came here for afternoon tea with a friend. we were able to park at the back of the hotel in their small carpark which was good because finding a place on the prom to park is not always easy(and you have to pay!) Reception staff were very friendly, polite and welcoming. We had our tea looking out at the view of LLandudno bay. Choice of teas, sandwiches and cake or pastry and also had scones with cream and jam, warm welsh cakes and bara brith bread. Staff were very attentive throughout, coming to bring hot water and checking everything was ok. Before we left we asked to see the swimming pool we had heard about and we were given a guided tour of the downstairs of the hotel as well as the pool and the lovely little courtyard garden. I'm sure anyone staying here would have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahjanewales2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The English Midlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We held our wedding here in 2010 and decided that the Anniversary was the ideal time to stay again!
It was like a Home from Home with all the friendly and attentive staff looking after us, the only thing missing was our Friends and Family from the Wedding Party but the Hotel Staff more than made up for that.
Our two night stay in Lorina was enjoyed so much that we stayed an extra night.
We ate in the Restaurant on two nights and on the other went to the Pen y Bryn Pub Restaurant at Colwyn Bay which is excellent
Should have stayed to eat at St Tudno on that night, however, as they were hosting an international Chefs Competition and we understand that the food was WONDERFUL that night. Its always great so it must have been exceptional.
Thanks to Mr Bland for the Roses in our room and the champagne left by our friends made it even better.
We were jealous of the other wedding couple using the Alice Suite for their wedding night, we had the whole hotel reserved and had to give Alice to my wifes Daughter and her family! We had Lorina.
Looking forward to our next visit and the changes that will be taking place.

Ian & Sue

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffs
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We held our marriage ceremony and reception at the St Tudno on 18 December. The snow had been falling heavily for 24 hours but it was the most wonderful, magical experience. The hotel staff could not have done more for us and our guests, The hotel was picture perfect and the bridal suite (Alice suite) was just lovely. All our guests commented on the wonderful wedding breakfast and my friend's husband who is a chef told me it was the best food he'd eaten at a wedding! I cannot recommend this hotel enough and Llandudno is a wonderful resort at any time of the year. The local people from the florist and registar to the beautician and hairdresser went the extra mile for us. I wish we could do it all again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasoned69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester north wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

this hotel is one of the best small hotels we have ever had the pleasure of staying in.i did read some of the negative reviews.but glad we still booked our two night stay the molton brown shampoo etc. in the bathroom is a lovely touch.the owner is a real gent.look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fencefitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceredigion
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We received a friendly welcome, and the service from the front of house staff was excellent throughout our stay; some went the extra mile to help us. Our room, which was supposed to be a superior room, was far too small; there was barely room for two people to pass one another at the end of the twin beds (which were pushed hard up against one another), very little space at one side, and a small table and two chairs crammed into the small bay window on the other side. At one point we had to move the beds, as far as it was possisble, to hunt for a lost pair of reading glasses; interesting things under the bed, a piece of chewing gum, and two pencils. We were so displeased with the room that we expressed this to Mr. Bland (the owner), and we were moved, to one of the small suites, at no extra cost. This was far more roomy, and we were pleased with the extra space. However, like a lot of things at the St. Tudno, everything, from furniture to bedwear, is looking so very tired, faded, and over-used. The carpets are looking very worn, and are bubbling up everywhere. It was lovely to have the small swimming pool, but again, it is looking very tired, the shower does not work properly, and hygiene is not what it could be. For some reason the front door of the hotel is opened and fixed back early each day, and remains so until it is nearly dark; this means that the downstairs is cold, and although we are into October, and the first few days of our stay were cold, there was no heating in the hotel, so we were given an electric heater for our room. Wierd ! The food at the hotel is excellent - imaginative menu, beautifully presented, but we do think that the restaurant could be improved by the introduction of a serve-yourself bar for the first course at breakfast; having to wait for table service for juice, cereals, etc. is a bit of a bore.

Llandudno is an excellent place to stay, and has its' own little micro-climate of balmy air most of the time. the promenade is long, lovely, and has seating along most of its' length. There are numerous attractions within the town, and several interesting National Trust properties within striking distance, including Bodnant Gardens and Plas Newydd on Anglesey. Conwy Castle is nearby, and the original town is surrounded by virtually compolete town walls, along which you can walk and enjoy super views of the castle, old town and the Menai Strait. There is a very good local bus service to most places of interest.

The things that we liked best at the St. Tudno were the pool, the food, and the lovely staff. However, we shall not be going again (and this was not our first visit); the hotel is in need of a refurbishment, and the prices are far too high for what is now being offered.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanCeredigion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StTudno, Owner at St. Tudno Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TA and I am sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay.

But firstly thank you for your compliments about the staff and our restaurant, and indeed about Llandudno as a whole being such a good resort with plenty to do and see.

The Lorina room is a first floor room with bay window and lovely views. It is an extremely popular room even though it is on the smaller side. I am sorry that there were some housekeeping issues that were below our usual standard. I have discussed them with our housekeeping team and there has been some retraining in certain areas.

However, because you spoke to me during your stay and expressed your unhappiness with the room, we upgraded you free of charge to our Rhoda Junior Suite which I thought you were happy with. As you know I was constantly available and spent some time chatting to you on several occasions always being receptive of any comments you made to me. I would have liked to have thought that we had developed a good relationship.

We have always received very positive comments about our breakfasts, guests generally like the personal touch and prefer it to the ‘buffet’ style offered in so many of the larger hotels.

We have experienced such unusual and lovely weather recently in Llandudno and we often have the front door open at selected times of the day whilst it is warm. This is carefully monitored as is also choosing the right time to put the main central heating system on for the hotel when it is judged to be in the best interests of the guests. Some guests do not like the stuffiness of central heating when it is still mild whereas others are very happy to have a heater in their rooms as some feel the cold more than others. No other guests mentioned being cold in the hotel.

We have many positive compliments about the hotel with over 80% repeat business. If you did consider returning, please contact me directly so I could reassure you of receiving a warm welcome and more importantly a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.9 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Tudno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Tudno Hotel

Property: St. Tudno Hotel
Address: 15 North Parade | Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#13 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#19 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#21 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Tudno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St. Tudno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Tudno Hotel Llandudno, Wales
St Tudno Llandudno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing