We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but massively overpriced...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Tudno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Tudno Hotel
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but massively overpriced...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

If we had paid about half the £100 per room per nite that we actually did pay, then this hotel would score 5 out of 5. However for the price, one should be entitled to expect much much more. The attic room was tiny and I banged my head on the low ceiling several times. One of the sash windows did not close properly and rattled all night as it was quite windy. Didn't eat dinner in the restaurant, but breakfast was nice on both days. Service very good on the first day and dreadfully slow on the second.
The hotel does have a lot of good points - the rooms and public areas are spotlessly clean, and the Molton Brown toiletries are a nice touch. The pool is obviously an added bonus although a bit tired looking. The lack of a night porter is not something you would expect in a so called luxury hotel.
The mini bar in the room is also a nice touch, but the prices are nothing short of extortionate. In particular a small tube of Pringles showing a price tag of 49p was on sale for £2.25! Very cynical, and needless to say we didn't partake.

All in all a quite nice hotel but I finf it hard to beleive that you couldn't stay in one of equal qualty in Llandudno for around half the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BRIAN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    104
    41
    13
    11
See reviews for
130
277
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

It was my elderly mother's first holiday for several years and all the staff went out of their way to make her stay a special one, from Receptionist Hayley's suggestion as to which rooms to book, the meals and staff in the restaurant, the help we were given with her wheelchair, etc. to the owner's enquiries that everything was done to our satisfaction. The rooms were comfortable and furnished to a high standard, with extra little touches such as bathrobes and Molton Brown toiletries, and the nightly "turn down" service was a lovely bonus, as it made the rooms very welcoming on our return in the evening. The location is excellent, right on the promenade opposite the pier, which enabled my mother to sit at the window and pass a pleasant hour or two "people watching"!

Room Tip: The Alice Suite plus Room 1 is ideal for 4 adults as they are adjoining and the suite's sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We didn’t stay at the hotel, but ate in the restaurant. A nice light airy room, shame it is at the back of the hotel. Friendly service, well priced menu, fresh local fish cooked simply and well presented. A good choice for dinner in Llandudno.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sugardoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

great staff, lovely rooms and breakfast a delight. myself and my better half have been staying in hotels in llandudno on a regular basis for the last few years and the st. tudno is by far the very best.
well done ALL the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peteryoungwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Criccieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I booked a night here to celebrate my husband`s birthday this week. I was attracted to it due to it`s location and the fact that it was pet-friendly. We were impressed by the firendly-ness of the staff and the genuine welcome given to Abbi the beagle, who was permitted into all the public rooms, except the restaurant. We enjoyed a lunch (and bottle of wine) sitting outside on the terrace, entertained by the Punch and Judy man across the road. Our breakfast the following day was excellent too. I enjoyed an early morning swim in the pool - warm and spotlessly clean. Our room, no.10, at the back of the hotel was also excellent, plenty of room for Abbi`s cage. We didn`t indulge in the mini-bar, but enjoyed the home-made biscuits! We will definitely return for another stay!

Room Tip: I telephoned and discussed our requirements, the staff were very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panda686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Lovely hotel in a brilliant location, so close to the pier, Happy Valley, shops and beach. Food was first class with special little appetisers and sorbets between courses. Staff always willing to please. Shortbread biscuits supplied with the tea in your room were superb. The fridge in the room was also useful. Our room (No. 12) at the rear of the hotel, was small with a small bathroom, however, the suites at the front of the hotel are much bigger but pricier because of the size and the view. Swimming pool was lovely and warm. Car park small and limited. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The suites at the front of the hotel have the wonderful panaramic view and are larger in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We dined here with friends a couple of days ago and were extremely impressed by both the quality of the food and the service - fine dining at its best. We did see Tarkwell the cat but we rather liked him! Would definitely recomment this restaurant to others (we did not stay overnight).

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank carrotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cae Mor Hotel
Cae Mor Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Tudno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Tudno Hotel

Property: St. Tudno Hotel
Address: 15 North Parade | Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#13 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#19 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#21 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Tudno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your St. Tudno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Tudno Hotel Llandudno, Wales
St Tudno Llandudno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing