We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“super two day break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Tudno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Tudno Hotel
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“super two day break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Small, friendly hotel in prime location. Staff were exceptional, nothing too much trouble, food excellent, hotel spotless. Super sea views, but remember to duck in a dormer bedroom. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 19 great sea views from dormer bedroom. Warning, the seagulls get up early and dance on the fla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank a1jnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    104
    41
    13
    11
See reviews for
131
277
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have just spent a lovely couple of days here. It is absolutely fantastic. The food is fabulous and I would completely recommend this hotel. Lovely staff and the owner is such a delightful man. Our dinner was just perfect, the best lamb ever. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room 14. Perfect sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

First the good bits. The staff were excellent excepting the receptionist who would best be described as uninterested and supercilious. The food was good - with exceptions.The place does have parking facilities which in Llandudno is an advantage.
We had booked a so called special offer of two nights B and B with "Gourmet Dinner" at £440.
The meal provided was from the standard A La Carte menu and we later worked out that the price was their standard rate withn no special offer about it.
The room, number 1 on the first floor was, at their price discraceful. Although generally spotlessly clean the areas around the window and radiator were rusted and encrusted with dirt. The minibar fridge didn't work so their advertised fresh milk went sour overnight and the shower provided only cold water although hot was available in the bath. The plumbing fittings kept falling off.
Now to the food. Generally very good but - and it's a big but - the menu said cod with samphire, a favourate of ours, and when served it was presented with spinach. We were told that that was all they could get that day. We should have been advised of this failing and could have ordered differently.
Now, the real insult. Bearing in mind this so called Gourmet Special offer imagine my surprise whan, at checkout I was charged £7.50 extra for coffee!! Total price over £500 (including wine) for two days in UK jumped up B&B. Never again.

Room Tip: Avout room 1 or similar like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StTudno, Manager at St. Tudno Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad that on the whole you found our staff to be excellent and the food to be good. I was also pleased to hear that your room was spotlessly clean and that you managed to make use of our free parking.

I am somewhat disappointed you did not mention that we gave you a free upgrade to our Rhoda Junior suite with sea views for the first of your two nights as you were celebrating your anniversary (for which we also gave you a card and special dessert plates offering our congratulations).

In fact upon your arrival and on hearing your dislike of Room 1, Mr Bland, the proprietor came up to find out what the problem was. The only reason you gave at the time (calling the room ‘terrible’) was the fact it was rear facing and did not have a view, even though it was of the Great Orme. Absolutely no mention was made of anything else at the time!

Mr Bland obviously wanted you to be happy, particularly as it was your anniversary and offered you our sea facing Rhoda Suite (an upgrade worth an extra £126). This was a very generous upgrade but we could see you were extremely angry and we needed to defuse the situation. We obviously thought we had done just that but sadly you continued to be unhappy.

So, to comment on a few of your negative points;
Firstly, I must apologise about the lack of samphire on your cod dish. You should have been told about the change to the dish and that it would be served with wilted ruby chard instead.

The mini bars especially with the hot summer we have had do not always keep things as cold as a fridge as they are only designed to keep drinks cool. If you would have mentioned that you had a problem with your milk, we would have brought you a fresh one straight away.

Our hot water is on all day and again you only needed to mention your problem with the shower and we would have gladly showed you how it works. The handle does need to be turned clockwise several times in order for hot water to come through.

I am extremely surprised regarding your comment about the coffee which you ordered in the bar after your meal. Freshly brewed coffee and homemade petit fours are £3.75 per person which is a pretty standard price for coffee and sweetmeats in a hotel.

We hope that, in future, you find an hotel that will meet your very high expectations and indeed, I suggest you book a room with the best view to save any further upset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just back from a lovely weekend away at St.Tudno and what a lovely time we had. The owners and staff made us feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. This is a lovely small hotel on the front at Llandudno and even though we didn't have sea views it had a lovely feel to the hotel. Came with Husband and 11 year old nephew who went swimming in the pool on Saturday and enjoyed himself. We didn't eat at the hotel we ate out but the breakfast was really nice in the morning. They had full breakfast and I had scrambled egg on toast which was delicious, the only thing I would have liked is that continental breakfast was served so you could take your pick me being a vegetarian but that's my liking and nothing to do with the way breakfast is served here. Apparently the Welsh breakfast was delicious.

Would stay here again just because of the personel touch and the lovely homemade shortbread was a lovely touch and also fresh milk!!!!!! great stuff. The room was nice and adequate for our needs and I must confess to being a Molton Brown freak and they have Molton Brown in every room!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janet e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Simply the most enjoyable break my husband and I have ever had. The St Tudno is a little gem of a hotel. From the minute we arrived we were looked after so well by the amazing staff and spoilt rotten throughout our stay. We had a beautiful front room with an incredible view of the sea front, and molton brown minis in the bathroom too!

Our best experience however was dining in the hotel's restaurant .. without doubt the best food we have ever tasted (and we are "foodies"!). I could have devoured everything on the menu but was overjoyed at my selection .. Starter: Pea pannacotta & crab, Main: Trio of pork, Dessert: Morello cherry & chocolate dessert. I could talk about each of these courses for days and still be enthusing about them!!! Just delicious, clever, stunning, great value ... but bad on the waist line! I now need to diet so I can return and eat at The St Tudno many many more times! Yum yum yum

THANK YOU to all the staff, the clever chefs, and the wonderful Mr Bland. See you again very soon.

Room Tip: Try to get a front room as the views are great over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

A very enjoyable experience,excellent staff,superb food,extremely comfortable rooms,will be back to this really inviting hotel on our next trip to Ireland.
Our rooms over looked the bay and the views were fantastic,the amenities in the room were way above what we expected in this hotel.

Room Tip: Our rooms were really comfortable and extremely well presented,stayed here with our grandchildren an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patmcdonagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

What a delightful stay! and out little cockapoo was made as welcome as we were. From the moment we arrived to our departure the next afternoon we were treated live VIP's. Our room was on the top floor with a sea view and what a lovely view it was too. Although the rooms are slightly smaller than they appear in the photographs we couldn't fault it for cleanliness and comfort. A simple thing like there being a fresh pint of milk in the fridge made my day! how often do get tea and coffee making facilities and only two or three tiny milk tabs? The breakfast was lovely too, and for those that don't have a dog with them (and we were the only ones on this occasion) you do have a separate area to eat and a separate lounge area, its all very well done. The staff were very professional and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Although there is limited parking, we were lucky enough to get a space and allowed to leave our car there the next day even after we had checked out, we just left our keys with them in case of an emergency. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a short or longer stay, thanks to all the staff for making us feel so welcome, we will be back!

Room Tip: High Floor on the front - sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regulartraveller1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.9 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Tudno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Tudno Hotel

Property: St. Tudno Hotel
Address: 15 North Parade | Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#13 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#19 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#21 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Tudno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St. Tudno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Tudno Hotel Llandudno, Wales
St Tudno Llandudno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing