We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!!”
Review of Eden Tea Rooms

Eden Tea Rooms
Ranked #11 of 19 Coffee & Tea in Llandudno
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Description: The Eden Tea Rooms is one of the West Shore's best kept secrets! We are located on West Parade opposite the boating/swan lake. Come early and you will be able to sit at one of the window tables, which will give you spectacular views over the Conwy Estuary towards the mountain peaks of Snowdonia and Anglesey. We serve: Teas, freshly ground coffees, soft drinks Hot and cold lunches (from 12 noon - 2:30 pm) Daily specials Snacks Home made cakes Ice-cream from Parisella's of Conwy A special gluten free menu (which is also wheat free)
Restaurant details
Description: The Eden Tea Rooms is one of the West Shore's best kept secrets! We are located on West Parade opposite the boating/swan lake. Come early and you will be able to sit at one of the window tables, which will give you spectacular views over the Conwy Estuary towards the mountain peaks of Snowdonia and Anglesey. We serve: Teas, freshly ground coffees, soft drinks Hot and cold lunches (from 12 noon - 2:30 pm) Daily specials Snacks Home made cakes Ice-cream from Parisella's of Conwy A special gluten free menu (which is also wheat free)
Malaga, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a find!!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

After just moving into the area I found this delightful tea rooms online and I'm so glad I did! Their boast of an extensive Gluten free menu attracted me as my friend was visiting and she needs Gluten free food. Well, we weren't dissapointed.......the food was delicious and as promised, very varied. The lady that looked after us was a joy and we thoroughly enjoyed our food and her company. The views are just gorgeous across the Conwy estuary over to the Snowdonian mountains and over to Anglesey. On a nice day there is ample seating outside. Parking isn't a problem either as there are lots of spaces on the street outside. I will definitely be visiting again, very soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelqueen571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oh dear! Don't bother......”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We called into this little tea room for a cup of tea and slice of cake, but very quickly realised we had made a terrible mistake.
They had obviously been very busy (it was the Easter weekend), as all the tables needed clearing. One young waiter was shouting about not having any cups or saucers, no wonder, they were all on the tables.
The one waitress in the cafe quickly finished her shift half an hour before closing, leaving all new customers sat at tables waiting to order to eventually queue at the takeaway counter to order their drinks.
Despite writing our order down, and taking our cash, our order failed to materialise (this was after being informed there were no cakes or Welsh cakes left to order). Other customers arrived afterwards, and were served before us.
To be honest, watching the teenage waiting staff in action, it was total chaos! Where was the management? The till does not have any chance of balancing - we saw 3 occasions of double entry into the till - and the staff weren't too bothered. They were using the till as a calculator, as they were unable to manually calculate the correct change to be given once they'd hit Total. Nothing malicious going on, just lack of instruction, blind panic and ignorance.
The good and drinks are over-priced and not that good. The only saving grace were the tea cakes which were actually quite tasty.
How this manages to successfully run as a business is beyond me - on such a busy weekend, young inexperienced teenaged staff need to be guided, prompted and managed to work more effectively, not left to run around like headless chickens.
Our visit was aptly summed up by the lack of apology from the waiter when we finally received our order, 30 mins after ordering it "I'd offer you an excuse, but it's not worth it"
It truly wasn't.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJF73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth_Eden, Owner at Eden Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
This was our busiest day in 5 years, and our 2 waiters and 1 waitress were all experienced staff in their early 20s, who are known to work calmly, efficiently and politely, and understand our complicated till. Being so busy, the manager came in to help with the washing up, so was available to assist with any enquiries. Inevitably there were some delays in serving, and stocks of cakes were low at the end of the day, but there were still some on offer.

We are sorry if this visitor had an experience which was sub-standard. We have many local and day visitors who return because they say the food is good quality and value for money, and the service friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More of a café than a restaurant”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Welsh rarebit is delicious, and made with beer, so be aware if you're teetotal. The bara brith goes well with a pot of tea. Specials are displayed on a board, and they stop serving hot food at 2.30pm. Staff are friendly. All in all, delightful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newtonjohnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff and good menu”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I just visited the café for tea with friends. The tea was provided in a pot for £1.60 and I had 3 good cups of tea from this. Extra milk and hot water was provided if required. I think this is exceptional value from what I pay elsewhere. My friends had cakes and they said they were delicious. The scones looked lovely and I was sorry not to have tried them. They also do gluten free food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 642Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Closed due to bad weather”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

it was windy but warm and we would have loved a coffee.. Been loads of times though and found it a bit pricey...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth_Eden, Owner at Eden Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
We have never closed due to bad weather unless the wind has been so strong to be dangerous to enter and leave the building. We do however reduce our hours in February, March and October to 11:30 am - 4:00 pm Monday to Saturday, rather than 10:30 am - 4:30 pm from April to September. We are closed for the winter, when very few people venture out onto the West Shore, and we need to carry out work to improve the premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eden Tea Rooms also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Eden Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing