We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kinmel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kinmel Hotel
Ranked #56 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Crewe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Last minute break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We booked this at the last minute, the night before, because it was a good price and included breakfast, as well as having a small car park which was fortunate because when we arrived the town was very busy, and hosting a triathlon.
Our room was quite adequate, with a very good bed and a sea view. The bathroom was nice, but the shower was terrible, the water was either scalding hot or icy cold (as said by a previous reviewer here - I wonder if they had the same room?.). Other furnishings were dated, but not shabby. Both a rotary fan and a portable radiator are provided. The fan was great, and we certainly had no need of the radiator but it is good to have for winter months. The wardrobe contained two extra pillows and more blankets. All these are thoughtful touches, as was the supply of cotton buds and balls in the bathroom.
The bar/lounge was nice, with many sofas. The lift was reliable but very slow.
The restaurant is on the lower ground floor and we found it rather warm in there. It looked very smart, and the full Welsh buffet breakfast was of a high standard (in particular, the scrambled eggs and the bacon).
Staff were friendly and helpful.
I would definitely consider another visit to this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view. The view makes up for the fact that the rooms are a little dated, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenBCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    62
    50
    37
    36
See reviews for
62
129
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
warkwick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

more care and attention to the cleaning, bedroom 18 the curtains are thick with dust as was a lot of the far too much furniture in the room. major warning do not use the shower in the bath so very dangerous, goes from cold to burning without any warning. five mirrors in one room, why! the room and hotel really need a lick of paint and some loving care. the plus side brilliant staff and food.

Room Tip: don't not use room 18 dangerous shower. room over looks the back car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annt69Warkwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Kinmel Hotel. Yes the hotel is somewhat,outdated,but it more than makes up for this by the very friendly staff and the owner Sarah. I accidently left 2 expensive chargers which were promptly posted back,to me by Sarah. The food was was excellent and we had a comfortable seaview room. This hotel certainly is value for money and we will definitly be returning to the Kinmel hopefully in the near future

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doreenpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

After reading some of the previous reviews me and my wife were slightly apprehensive about the decision we had made to stay at this hotel. However, upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly reception staff and also the lovely owner, Neville. The reception/bar area (of which we happened to spend a lot of time during our stay) was very well decorated and had a great atmosphere. The room was absolutely breath-taking with a bay window allowing you to view the whole of the promenade.

The food was one of, if not the best attribute at the Kinmel. Ever meal we had was to a very high standard with outstanding flavours that could not be anything but home-made. We decided to venture out for a meal one night of the stay but soon realised the cooking from the hotel was definitely not worth missing out on.

Have already recommended the hotel to many of our friends and would also recommend anybody else to stay there also.

Fantastic stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel earlier in the year.Clean rooms, Friendly staff,nice bar area.Evening and meal and breakfast, very good. Booked nice room looking over promenade.Parking at the back of hotel was a bonus,. Would stay there again

Room Tip: front rooms with sea view are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

A KGB deal for two nights for £99. Very friendly staff and perfect location for the town centre and venue Cymru. The rooms were a little outdated however very comfy. Excellent breakfast. Would definitely stay again but would like to have a seaview next time and not a view of the car park

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clewis20b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Hotel could do with a revampe as a bit dated , room ok and view good .The shower in the bath room was very dangerous as it went from warm to extremelly hot in a few secounds and it burnt my hair , this day an age the least they could do would be to install a power shower , would be very carefully if you have children as could get hurt. As for the breakfast when we went in the dinning room all the tables were full of dirty dishes ,we were told to take a seat, then after a few minutes we were taken to a table which still had dirty plates on and table cloth was dirty and stained ,we decieded to leave and have breakfast else where.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzieb1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
10.9 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#21 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#33 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#11 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinmel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinmel Hotel

Property: Kinmel Hotel
Address: 11-12 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinmel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kinmel Hotel is a family run, 28 En suite room hotel, with a lift to all floors, a fully licensed bar, a menu of freshly cooked food, and friendly well trained staff. The hotel centrally situated, only two minutes walk from the theatre and conference centre at Venue Cymru. The hotel enjoys the panoramic views of the beautiful coastline of North Wales. This seafront hotel is based on Llandudno's Promenade, between the Great and Little Ormes, and is ideally situated for your visit to Llandudno - The Queen of Welsh Resorts. Occupying a prime position on the promenade, the Kinmel Hotel is simply a stone throw away from the numerous shopping facilities and attractions within Llandudno and North Wales. The Kinmel hotel benefits from a car park, exclusive for our guests, located to the rear of the property, and cctv in the public areas to ensure our guests safety and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Kinmel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinmel Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing