We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, nice owners”
Review of Kinmel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kinmel Hotel
Ranked #57 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Rochester NY
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice room, nice owners”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We were booked here through Treyne tours. My room, on the ground floor, had 2 twin beds and a loveseat. It was at the back of the hotel and very quiet. No complaints about cleanliness, but could have done with a couple more hangers, which were supplied upon request. Breakfast was fine. Our dinner menus included selections for vegetarians and were ample in portion size. Desserts were delicious! Sarah and her husband were very gracious and I enjoyed several conversations with her at the end of the day, sitting outside in the patio area, which is full of beautiful roses. The Kinmel is convenient to everything. There are concerts at the bandstand on Sundays and Mondays, just a few minutes' walk from the hotel. Very short walk to the main street of the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    62
    51
    38
    37
See reviews for
62
129
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This was a KGB deal. Our room needed a good makeover. Even the hangers in the wardrobe were broken! Couldn't regulate water in the shower. Either too hot or too cold. Plumber arrived second day we were there and he did manage to get the water to an acceptable temperature. When we went down to dinner that evening the plumber had morphed into a waiter! Obviously had plenty of experience at adjusting the water being as he worked there. Food was okay, nothing special. Dining room was fine but a large party from a holiday company there and my husband and I tucked away in a corner by the door to the kitchen and the stairs leaving the dining room so quite busy by our table. The day before we left toiletries and toilet paper not replenished. Shame that on KGB deals we feel penalised. Last entry in the visitors book when we left said what a lovely room they had. I would have liked to have seen it. Would not return.

Room Tip: Our room on third floor facing the car park and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed in the family room and booked via booking.com for £120 for 3 of us. There is a notice in the room stating to call them to get the best price so do this if you are going to book. We had a top floor room, a double bed and bunks, decent size room and smallish windows but a nice sea view. Bathroom was a bit outdated but OK. Room decor was nice and so was the general bar/seating/restaurant area. At the end of the day this is a very old building and they seem to have done as good as they can to certain areas. Breakfast was quite nice, needs to be topped up more regularly as we had to ask for more sausages, juice and hash browns and toast. This was done without an issue but in my opinion should have been topped up without having to ask. There was only one girl in the restaurant who seemed to be doing everything by herself. Its not 5 star but overall would return if I got a better price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Really enjoyed staying at the Kinmel Hotel in Llandudno. it ticked all the boxes for me and my wife! Good food. Nice rooms. Prime location. Great views. Friendly staff. Fantastic stay. Definitely be back this summer!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We booked this at the last minute, the night before, because it was a good price and included breakfast, as well as having a small car park which was fortunate because when we arrived the town was very busy, and hosting a triathlon.
Our room was quite adequate, with a very good bed and a sea view. The bathroom was nice, but the shower was terrible, the water was either scalding hot or icy cold (as said by a previous reviewer here - I wonder if they had the same room?.). Other furnishings were dated, but not shabby. Both a rotary fan and a portable radiator are provided. The fan was great, and we certainly had no need of the radiator but it is good to have for winter months. The wardrobe contained two extra pillows and more blankets. All these are thoughtful touches, as was the supply of cotton buds and balls in the bathroom.
The bar/lounge was nice, with many sofas. The lift was reliable but very slow.
The restaurant is on the lower ground floor and we found it rather warm in there. It looked very smart, and the full Welsh buffet breakfast was of a high standard (in particular, the scrambled eggs and the bacon).
Staff were friendly and helpful.
I would definitely consider another visit to this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view. The view makes up for the fact that the rooms are a little dated, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenBCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warkwick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

more care and attention to the cleaning, bedroom 18 the curtains are thick with dust as was a lot of the far too much furniture in the room. major warning do not use the shower in the bath so very dangerous, goes from cold to burning without any warning. five mirrors in one room, why! the room and hotel really need a lick of paint and some loving care. the plus side brilliant staff and food.

Room Tip: don't not use room 18 dangerous shower. room over looks the back car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annt69Warkwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Kinmel Hotel. Yes the hotel is somewhat,outdated,but it more than makes up for this by the very friendly staff and the owner Sarah. I accidently left 2 expensive chargers which were promptly posted back,to me by Sarah. The food was was excellent and we had a comfortable seaview room. This hotel certainly is value for money and we will definitly be returning to the Kinmel hopefully in the near future

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doreenpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
10.9 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#22 of 60 in Llandudno
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
371 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinmel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinmel Hotel

Property: Kinmel Hotel
Address: 11-12 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinmel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kinmel Hotel is a family run, 28 En suite room hotel, with a lift to all floors, a fully licensed bar, a menu of freshly cooked food, and friendly well trained staff. The hotel centrally situated, only two minutes walk from the theatre and conference centre at Venue Cymru. The hotel enjoys the panoramic views of the beautiful coastline of North Wales. This seafront hotel is based on Llandudno's Promenade, between the Great and Little Ormes, and is ideally situated for your visit to Llandudno - The Queen of Welsh Resorts. Occupying a prime position on the promenade, the Kinmel Hotel is simply a stone throw away from the numerous shopping facilities and attractions within Llandudno and North Wales. The Kinmel hotel benefits from a car park, exclusive for our guests, located to the rear of the property, and cctv in the public areas to ensure our guests safety and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Superbreak UK and Cancelon so you can book your Kinmel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinmel Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing