We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If heaven isn't like Llandudno I don't want to go!”
Review of The Lighthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lighthouse
Ranked #61 of 145 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Being well travelled I feel qualified to say that this is one of the most beautiful places on earth.
The lighthouse is 2 miles from anyone else, which made for a stunning weekend comprising a walk across the cliffs ide amongst cashmere goats to watch a stunning sunset.
stayed in the lamp room which although quite cold was gorgeous and authentic with a panorama of the sea where we actually saw dolphins!!
Although serendipitous regarding the weather and wildlife the weekend was made truely memorable by a beautifully welcoming and accommodating ray and fiona (landlord and lady) and their son, who treated us to a rendition of ludovicio einuadi's I giorni on piano.
can't thank you 3 enough for a great experience!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexjwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for The Lighthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We always wanted to visit The Lighthouse and I am glad that we finally did! I was glad to find out that we could use the kitchen for to make tea or use the microwave, and will take that into consideration the next time we visit. The Lamp Room needs a reservation of a year in advance, so we will be sure to make plans early!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Principle Keeper's Suite which was 2 rooms, but up a flight of stairs.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julifromla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was a real highlight of our trip. Ray had to leave early to meet his son (at school), but Fiona was a great hostess. She's very proud (and rightfully so) of the history of the building, and took the time to show us some fantastic old press clippings and even more fantastic tour of the lighthouse - inside and out. And she pointed out some playful porpoises in the water below. She also prepared a great breakfast. We normally eat just a small breakfast, but Fiona made whatever we liked and we really "stuffed" ourselves.

We stayed in the lamp room, and it was a beautiful suite. Warm and cosy (in spite of cool December winds), and we didn't even use the extra electric heaters provided. An extra plus is that's it's on the "ground floor" - so no carrying luggage up stairs.

When we were ready to check out, we didn't realize that they only accept checks and cash (no cards). Since we don't have a checking account in pounds sterling, we thought we'd have to run into town to a cash machine. Fiona said not to worry about it, and to just send her the remainder when we got home. A very trusting individual! And we really appreciated it, since we had to drive to Heathrow to leave the same day.

If I could recommend one thing, I'd say that the web site should remind everyone to bring cash. All in all, a great experience and one I'd recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: The lamp room is great, and on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

As with a previous "reviewer", I too have tried without success to contact this place. 4 emails and a phone call all unanswered. I tried the same time last year too. Obviously not keen to take more business (I was asking for 3 nights B&B). But very rude not to answer inquiries. I too have booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
8  Thank SONIA248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Lighthouse as part of our wedding week. Amazing experience. Stayed in telegraph room so we could go on the roof. Everyone should go there at least once. Host was fantastic, so nice and friendly. Couldnt have been any better for our wedding. Tony and Trudie.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitehousetg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

What a wonderful place in which to spend a wedding anniversary ! Our stay here was a gift from our daughter and son-in-law and it couldn't have been more appropriate. The welcome we received from Fiona and Ray was so very warm and we felt as though we had been friends for years. The room was warm and comfortable with a panoramic view and we slept well, lulled by the sound of the wind and the waves below us.
We made the climb onto the roof where it was like entering another world. The whole place is steeped in history and the whole atmosphere of the place quite easily takes you back in time.
Wonderful !
It was so very different from anything that we had experienced before, and is to be highly recommended.
We felt honoured to be guests there and to share in something as unique as this.
Thankyou Fiona and Ray. We'll be back !
Anne and Graham XX

Room Tip: Either the Lamp room or the Telegraph room. Both are cosy and have phenomenal views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

nothing less than expected, teriffic, fabulous, different, we stayed in the lamp room the veiws where fantastic, the lighthouse was like staying in a small victorian museum ( spot on )
Fiona and Ray were very pleasant and nothing seemed to much trouble.
Thanks for a nice stay 1-3 nov 13
best regards, Terry & Sheila Heywood Lancs

Room Tip: lamp room worth waiting for
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
1.8 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#43 of 60 in Llandudno
327 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
702 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wilton Hotel
Wilton Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,399 reviews
2.0 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
341 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse

Address: Marine Drive | Great Ormes Head, Llandudno LL30 2XD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Hotel Llandudno
The Lighthouse Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing