We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lighthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. George's Hotel(Llandudno)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merrion Hotel(Llandudno)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Manor Hotel(Llandudno)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Queens Hotel(Llandudno)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Headlands Hotel(Llandudno)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Broadway Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
107
19
10
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
19
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslamp roomtelegraph roommountain goatsgreat ormeguided tour of the groundsfour poster bedseparate sitting roomamazing locationirish seawelsh breakfastperfect hostsnext morningother guestsoriginal featureswarm welcomenight's sleepexcellent breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This Lighthouse takes you back to Victorian times and unique. Ray And Fiona were very good hosts, with Ray meeting us by our car with an umbrella as it was pouring with rain. The first night we stayed in the Lamp room and the second night in the Telegraph room. You feel you are going back in time and the whole experience was great. The breakfast was very nice and very tasty. I can’t fault it.
The only down side and this was due to us booking in January was it was very cold in the lamp room. This is a Grade II listed building therefore they are limited as to what they can do. Fiona had heaters in there but watching TV with a blanket over me I could still feel the cold although my wife didn't mind. However this did not spoil the experience and you have to expect that if you book in January. The Telegraph room was a lot warmer. The view from the Lamp room is to die for!

Room Tip: Wear warm clothes in the Winter
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markiboy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Being well travelled I feel qualified to say that this is one of the most beautiful places on earth.
The lighthouse is 2 miles from anyone else, which made for a stunning weekend comprising a walk across the cliffs ide amongst cashmere goats to watch a stunning sunset.
stayed in the lamp room which although quite cold was gorgeous and authentic with a panorama of the sea where we actually saw dolphins!!
Although serendipitous regarding the weather and wildlife the weekend was made truely memorable by a beautifully welcoming and accommodating ray and fiona (landlord and lady) and their son, who treated us to a rendition of ludovicio einuadi's I giorni on piano.
can't thank you 3 enough for a great experience!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexjwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We always wanted to visit The Lighthouse and I am glad that we finally did! I was glad to find out that we could use the kitchen for to make tea or use the microwave, and will take that into consideration the next time we visit. The Lamp Room needs a reservation of a year in advance, so we will be sure to make plans early!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Principle Keeper's Suite which was 2 rooms, but up a flight of stairs.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julifromla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was a real highlight of our trip. Ray had to leave early to meet his son (at school), but Fiona was a great hostess. She's very proud (and rightfully so) of the history of the building, and took the time to show us some fantastic old press clippings and even more fantastic tour of the lighthouse - inside and out. And she pointed out some playful porpoises in the water below. She also prepared a great breakfast. We normally eat just a small breakfast, but Fiona made whatever we liked and we really "stuffed" ourselves.

We stayed in the lamp room, and it was a beautiful suite. Warm and cosy (in spite of cool December winds), and we didn't even use the extra electric heaters provided. An extra plus is that's it's on the "ground floor" - so no carrying luggage up stairs.

When we were ready to check out, we didn't realize that they only accept checks and cash (no cards). Since we don't have a checking account in pounds sterling, we thought we'd have to run into town to a cash machine. Fiona said not to worry about it, and to just send her the remainder when we got home. A very trusting individual! And we really appreciated it, since we had to drive to Heathrow to leave the same day.

If I could recommend one thing, I'd say that the web site should remind everyone to bring cash. All in all, a great experience and one I'd recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: The lamp room is great, and on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

As with a previous "reviewer", I too have tried without success to contact this place. 4 emails and a phone call all unanswered. I tried the same time last year too. Obviously not keen to take more business (I was asking for 3 nights B&B). But very rude not to answer inquiries. I too have booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
8  Thank SONIA248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews