We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“EXCELLENT COTTAGE, QUIET LOCATION YET CLOSE TO...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Llandudno, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

poppy2244...
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT COTTAGE, QUIET LOCATION YET CLOSE TO THE CENTRE OF LLANDUDNO”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I normally forget to leave reviews for the holiday lets I rent for my holidays, but as we were planning to rent this cottage again next year I looked on Tripadvisor to remind myself what a fantastic time we had there in September ( call it nostalgia ). Having already stayed there once, I was utterly bemused to read that one person only gave it one star - perhaps it rained all week?. We found the cottage brilliant for all our needs. We were a small group of walkers, so we were close to the mountains and Snowdonia, yet within walking distance of the centre of Llandudno ( one of our favourite destinations ). The cottage is in an ideal, quiet spot, with nice gardens and plenty of character. It was clean and bright and the owner Mrs Newell did all she could to make our stay so memorable, even when one of our party was slightly injured on a walk. We booked this cottage after recommendations from friends who had stayed here previously. We will certainly be contacting her again very soon to arrange another stay, as this year we had difficulty getting the cottage for the week we wanted due to its popularity. M.Mclean

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sunny garden, comfortable rooms and friendly, helpful owner
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Shimdda Hir.
Thank you for the lovely review.
Best wishes
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjholden
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“terrible not as advertised”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This cottage is the worst I have rented. The plates, mugs and cooking dishes were chipped and cracked. The furniture was dirty, and not as advertised. They was no outside games or tramopline as descrided or as pictured. The place was dark and smelled musty, we came home early. They were no cleaning facilites, the bins were full. the beds were obviously old and worn out. Even the light fittings were broken. I have taken pictures and will report this setting to the tourist board. I texted the owner re no trampoline as my two girls were very upset and did not recieve a reply, until I complained on returning home. The reply was it was damaged and we did not replace it. We should have been told before accepting the booking. I was glad to leave.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: going home
Liked least: not as advertised
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2015
I hardly feel any need to respond, but am only sorry you are not happy.
Kind regards
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahBX78...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely getaway cottage with plenty to do nearby”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This delightful cottage is in a pretty peaceful place which offered seclusion after enjoying time in busy Llandudno. Tracy was always on hand and was very helpful with directions-its easy to miss! The standard of cleaning could have been better but everything else made up for that. Some washing up liquid and a kitchen cloth would have been nice along with a couple of tea towels (I thought this came under linen provided) would have been useful. We didn't bring any because other cottages we have stayed in every year have provided these. We especially loved the cottage garden and enjoyed looking at all the lovely plants and flowers. A great place to stay :)

Date of stay: July 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
Thankyou for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at the cottage and hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaK_9
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Find”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We might have to make this an annual trip.

Tracy was very friendly and very helpful during the inquiries and on our way there. It's easy to miss the house because the sign is quite small so keep an eye out.

Close to town and within a good trekking distance but far away enough to have some peace and quiet. There was actually quiet a bit of outdoor things to do nearby which was ideal for us.

We made use of the games and the garden on our stay there as it was February, cold and rainy on some days.

Facilities in the house was good and comfortable stay.

The kitchen appliances were more than sufficient and we cooked up a storm having bought local seafood and farm produce and made cookies during our short stay.
Great place, great facilities, reasonable price and wasn't too cold once we sussed out the heating ;)

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Less than half a toilet roll when we arrived.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2014
Many thanks for your comments and lovely feedback. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay
Kind regards
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonzieBC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What a great location at the foot of the great Orme in a valley scenic private and very welcoming. The house being full of character with private large gardens for children and "adults" to play in. You can chill out in style or travel within minutes to enjoy what llandudno has to offer.. The owner of the accomodation was available to welcome us and to ensure we enjoyed our stay. It doesn't get much better. Would recommend.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2014
Many thanks for your comments and lovely feedback. I really pleased you enjoyed your stay
Kind regards
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
e_l_swale...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday Venue”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a great family holiday in this cottage.

We were travelling with young children and extended family, so had different age groups but the cottage worked out to be the perfect venue. The cottage had plenty of space inside, and a great large garden with stunning views outside. The garden area was a great safe place for the children and grown-up children to play. We also found the cottage was an ideal location for us with only a couple of minutes drive to Llandudno front.

Tracy was great and was there the same day to resolve any issues. The booking was also smooth and easy.

In conclusion we had a great holiday and would definitely come back and recommend this cottage to others.

Thanks, Family Swales

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The space inside, the garden and the location.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2014
It is lovely to receive such kind reviews.
I look forward to your return visit,
Best wishes
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris h
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Traditional Welsh Cottage in secluded location with great views of Little Orm”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We travelled as a party of 5 with a small dog. We had a very enjoyable time here, the cottage is excellent with everything required for a relaxing break.

Date of stay: April 2014
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2014
Thank you for your comments. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.