We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merrion Hotel(Llandudno)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
St. George's Hotel(Llandudno)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Headlands Hotel(Llandudno)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Broadway Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$135
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hen-Dy(Llandudno)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Queens Hotel(Llandudno)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,957)
Filter reviews
1,957 results
Traveller rating
253
499
445
326
434
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
499
445
326
434
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational holidaysbit datedplenty of choicea sea view roomshort breakstansingerormeprom
Filter
Updating list...
1,779 - 1,784 of 1,957 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2011

we have just returned from a 4 night stay in llandudno, we really enjoyed the time away, its the second time we have been to this lovely town, we opted to stay in the grand hotel as it looked nice and we had seen it on our last visit, i dont have anything really bad to say but i feel i must say the following, on arrival we checked in all staff we came into contact with were very polite and helpful, we went to room on 4th floor and it was what we thought it would be, comfy, clean and had everything we needed, but the windows needed cleaned, the floor boards on the corridors upstairs were very sqeaky, on the two days after we arrived the maid came into our room but didn't hoover the floor, this was put right on speaking to a manager, the breakfast was nice once i got used to the buffet style i enjoyed the choice and the frredom it gave us, the staff were very efficient at clearing the tables, i do feel the hotel is more suited to the older generation but that didn't bother us, don't get me wrong we enjoyed our stay but do feel that some money needs to be spent to make the hotel 'grand' again

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller19Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2011

Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your short stay here at the Grand Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

The Grand seems to function largely as a geriatric home and maybe it should be judged on that basis rather than as ahotel for business use. It is a large building above the pier on the Great Ormes Head side of the bay. This gives it great views if you are on the seaward side (or would if they bothered to clean the outside of the windows. The bedroom, though of a strange shape was clean enough though had no phone and there was no shower, just a bath. The main problem was noise until quite late from the ballroom two floors below.

The staff appeared generally disinterested though check in and out were quick enough.

Breakfast was poor - cheap ingredients, warm rather than hot, soggy toast, completely tasteless mushrooms.

Breakfast did not start till late - 8.00am - by which time there was agigantic queue outside the main dining room. We were allocated the 'premier' dining room and given particular tables to sit at when we checked in. When we protested that as a group we wanted to sit together rather than on the seperate tables we had been allocated, we were told this would be sorted but it never was. However it was ihardly relevant as the dining room was largely deserted and we happily sat where we fancied - bizarre!

One does wonder whether, if the management spent more time managing rather than putting defensive comments on tripadvisor, standards could be improved.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brunlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2011

Thank you for the feedback. As is quite rightly pointed out we are mainly an Entertainment and Leisure hotel and so do not always appeal to the business market.
I realise this may appear 'defensive' but the hotel is not a geriatric hotel; in fact a lot of our regular guests would be quite offended to be described in this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Stayed at the grand on the 18th march for 2 nights, Supported an elderly gentleman who had stayed before. Check in was pleasant, stayed in rooms 411 and 413 which were ok, The bonus being that we only paid for single rooms but actually got doubles. The rooms were plain and simple but they were clean and were stocked up with teas and coffee. The breakfasts wernt up to much but the evening meals were really really nice, Had lamb on the 1st night and Beef on the 2nd, No complaints with the evening meals but would suggest to people to upgrade to premier as the seating area is much nicer than the standard dinner hall. Cant really comment on the entertainmentas didnt really see it. The one thing that drove me absolutley crazy was the floorboards!!! THEY WILL KEEP YOU AWAKE. Its awful woke up several times from people above us walking around in their room ( Not their fault) but it got to the point where if it hadnt of been for the gentleman I was supporting I would of left. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Parking was ok although I can imagine that it would be more difficult to park in the summer months, Cost £4.10 per day to park but beware you have to pay £3.00 from 10am till 6pm then go back and put another ticket on for the night time rate which is £1.10 from 6pm until 10am. All in all it was ok, good for the elderly but wouldnt stay with my family

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natz0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2011

Thank you for the positive feedback. The hotel will be 109 years old on July and it is true to say we do sometimes have problems with squeaky floorboards, although not always.

The parking charges you describe were for the Pay and Display. Had you managed to park on the road this would only have cost you £1.50 per 24 hours with no return to top up your charges.

I have passed your compliements to to the chef about the evening meals; we will look to improving the breakfasts.

Once again, thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

The room was really good ,nice view ,warm. Restaurant manager was really helpful, only had to queue if you went down before times you were given. Drinks at happy hour prices were good value as were the four bottles of wine for the price of three. Staff were friendly and polite.Choice of food was very good, only fault would be that the food could have been a little hotter. Would certainly stay there again.
Coach Operator B.Ham

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonataBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback for our hotel; it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Stayed for 5 days with a coach party, Food very good, self service, plenty to eat and choice, very efficient service, you should not leave hungry. Veg was OK -a bit of a let down, but cooking of the Veg is always a bit iffy at times everwhere you go.. catering for many people.
No problem with our room (404) do not know about the others, was clean Decor and view was OK.
Pity the main lift was out action (has two) hope it will be fixed soon.
Need the windows to be cleaned asap, spoilt the view from the room and main staircase windows.
Will be back.....

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radioham16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback.
We are working hard to repair the lift but the part had to come from Spain, hence the delay.

I agree the windows need cleaning; it is a major operation as we require platform access to even get to the 4th floor but is it is something we are working on.

Thanks for your positive comments about the food; it is nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews