We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fair deal for what we paid"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #58 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Fair deal for what we paid"”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed on the 11th February for one night as part of a group mystery tour, from the moment we arrived staff at reception were very friendly and helpful as were all staff throughout our stay.
The food and entertainment were good and the location is nice.
While the hotel is dated in places people should realise what they pay and should they want 4 or 5 star try a different hotel and pay the proper rate.
Our rooms were clean and adequate and the staff enhanced our stay, if Britannia added some money to update the hotel it would benefit everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRASHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel. As you rightly state there are 4* hotels in the town but the cost to the guests would be much higher than staying at the Grand.
Plus the atmosphere and staff would not be as good at the Grand (Lol)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    438
    394
    293
    373
See reviews for
369
815
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed in February for 1 night on Bed, Breakfast & Evening Meal basis. Couldnt really fault it for £59 for the 2 of us. We asked for a high room with a sea view, and that's exactly what we were given on the 5th floor. The staff were friendly enough and check-in was swift. If I was to knock it for anything it would be that the hotel is looking a little tired and Britannia should really throw a bit of money at it. Hotel is within walking distance of shops and right on the sea front. Certainly would consider staying there again though.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Towny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for your review and kind comments; so glad we got your request right. It is not always possible but we do our utmost to meet guests requests so it always worthwhile mentioning anything that is important to you.
Being an entertainment hotel can lead to some noise on the lower floor rooms so it is always advisable to ask for a high floor if you like peace and quiet although of course we cannot control the lovely seagulls having a squabble from time to time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2012

On reading the reviews after we had booked a weekend away at the grand hotel,we were exceptionally concerned about our stay.But from the very first instance our concerns where washed away.We had a great weekend.
We stayed in a premier room that was lovely and overlooked the sea,balcony to boot.
The bathroom was huge and looked like it had just been modernised,fully tiled with separate shower and bath.Reviews we had read complained about the quality and choice of the food,but we had a choice of 3 main dishes that where all lovely and piping hot.
Staff where always polite and friendly and the entertainment was good too.
I stayed with my wife and her mother and would recommend anybody looking for a nice weekend away to give the Grand a try.
We have gone to Blackpool the last 5 years staying in the choice hotels and have enjoyed them very much but will be going back to the grand next year.
Ticked all the boxes.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommending up grading to a premier room,not much extra and the views are stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you for the great review. So glad you were not put off visiting the hotel. It certainly sounds like you had a fab time and it is lovely to hear you have added Llandudno to your to list of places to revisit; we welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel in November 2011 on a Turkey & Tinsel break with a group of friends and found it excellent despite some of the reviewsfrom Trip Advisor guests.The staff were great,food first class, & entertainmentwas good.Rooms clean &good size.Would recommend it.the shops were within walking distance, as was the Great Orme.

Room Tip: premier rooms look out over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments; we really appreciate you taking the time to submit a review after your holiday as it does help future guests decide if they want to visit the Grand Hotel. The shops are close enough to walk to and if you are fit enough the 6 miles round the Gt. Orme is on your doorstep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I had a premier room. Very nice clean lovely view and balcony. It was far to cold to go out so I stayed in. The entertainment was fun. Lovely to see people enjoying a break. Breakfast was plentiful and nice. The operation was run with great precision. The waiting staff and bar staff were great. The night time duty manager was extremely pleasant. But dear oh dear. Reception need to pull its socks up. I waited for ages to check in while listening to the 3 staff not serving me discuss their lottery syndicate. And they wouldn't give me an invoice when I checked out apparently because I booked though Expedia. I have checked with Expedia and as I suspected this is all nonsense. It's clear that reception have their 'little ways'. Apart from that I think that if anyone has the opportunity to stay in this hotel that should take it. It's really nice

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGAP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you for your review and your kind remarks about my Night Duty Manager. So glad you enjoyed your stay and of course I have already addressed the problem with staff discussing their Lottery Syndicate which is totally unacceptable. Not sure what time you checked in but I know none of the Reception staff are actually a member of the Lottery syndicate but whoever was on duty should have been on the Front Desk at all times.
Thank you for your positive comments about the food and entertainment; much better to stay in on a cold night than venture into town.
This lady was misinformed by Expedia. We do not give out an invoice because the reservation is through a third party and the rooms are paid AFTER the check out therefore the receipt would show an outstanding amount plus all third party websites are subject to commission which Expedia would not like the hotel to divulge. Receipts for third party bookings are given by the Company in which you have a contract i.e between Expedia and the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

It was the third time at this hotel,nearly always the winter months so never for the sun but it cant be faulted for the friendly and homely ambience it gives out.The staff are more than helpful and polite making you feel at home straight away.The Grand is badly in need of some refurb and is very dated in appearance but it does not take away the feeling of always wanting to return and never tire of this place.The food is basic but tasty and filling.Buffet style so helping yourself is no problem for those with a healthy appetite.!The sea views are second to none and if you had the weather you wouldnt need to go abroad...There are not many facilities here,but if its a chill you want then its here you go..Nightly entertainment is good even if a little old fashioned at times..Dont expect 5 star but do expect a warm friendly hotel with lovely food.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeanjampot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post positive comments about our hotel. It is always nice to hear from regular guests who have revisited the hotel on a number of occasions.
I would so love to have the hotel refurbished; I think if I won the 45 million Euro Lottery I would pay for it myself (Best buy a ticket as I will probably win now !!)
As you rightly state, don't expect 5 Star as we certainly don't charge 5 Star prices but we do offer clean and comfortable rooms with buffet style food and nightly entertainment and if this is what rocks your boat then give us a try. I just wish we had the weather to go with the lovely sea views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I booked this hotel for my Dads Birthday as we were going to see Billy Connelly at Venue Cymru.
After reading the reviews i was so nervous about staying.

However the hotel was good, yes it is a building that is 112 years old so the floorboards do creak, but the rooms were clean, a liitle too hot for me but i opened a window!!
At £40 per room for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast with a bottle of wine it was incredible value.
The location was amazing as right at one end of the pier, so 3 min walk into town, 10 minutes to the venue Cymru perfect
Didn't see any of the evening entertainment.
All the staff we encounted were friendly, the food was ok and something for every taste.
If you want a modern hotel this is not for you, but if you want somewhere that is in keeping with the resort then this is for you.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anji B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review.
We are ideally situated for all of Llandudnos' attractions including Venue Cymru which do have some great perfomances on this year.
I believe the Big Yin received a warm welcome in Llandudno with no hecklers so I'm guessing your dad enjoyed his birthday treat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
810 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#55 of 60 in Llandudno
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#40 of 60 in Llandudno
441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Property: The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing