We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Offer and wonderful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #58 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We were going to a reunion in Llandudno and wanted somewhere decent and reasonably priced to stay. WE found an offer for one night in The Grand, Dinner, Bed and Breakfast with complimentary bottle of wine and a room with a sea view for £75. The only disappointment was The Grand have changed the checking out times and we had to vacate at 10am, whereas before it had been 11 or 12. We asked if we could have a later check out and were told this would cost us £15pp.
The Carvery dinner means you can eat as little or as much as you like and the dame at the self service breakfast. Only downside we had finished our meal before the bottle of wine appeared but as it was sealed we just brought it home with us.

Room Tip: Pay more for a sea view , well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaz4rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,405 - 1,411 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

weekend treat for my son and his partner. had a great time. hotel is very old but very welcoming. room was spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. breakfasts were very good, lots of choice. have stayed here before with my hubby, and have always had good times here. thank you to all the staff who really make the holiday a good one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The location was great.Pity we did not get a sea facing room although had requested for it when I booked it.Room was okay although I thought its a bit more for what you pay.Breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Sea facing is the one to go for,otherwise might choose another hotel coz its too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoyfrmKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

A typical dated seaside hotel, room was like a student bedsit, bathroom dirty and shower a joke. the breakfast was poor, plastic eggs and soggy toast. can't comment on the entertainment, didn't fancy bingo and was told the bar was closed when we returned at 1am.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdmc70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The Grand Was A Good Stay Even Though The Other Guest`s Were A Little Older Than My Wife And I We Are Early 50`s We Had Good Night And The Food Was Fine The Act Was Very Good And We Had a Comfortable Night We Had Great Sea View

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 5 days last week and I loved the whole hotel! I found all the staff very welcoming, the food was average in variety but always tasted good, the bedroom was a bit basic but adequate clean with a good view (i would recommend paying the extra for a sea view was well worth it). The one downside was that it would have been nice to of been greeted on the coach by a manager to give the 'personal' touch rather than just sending a receptionist (although he was very pleasent).

Room Tip: ask if there is an upgrade available and if so pay the extra it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Grand Hotel is a fine example of a Victorian hotel. Well placed, and with fantastic sea views (worth the extra money). The staff are all polite and helpful and do an amazing job. The food was excellent, and with 'help yourself' meals everone can be sure of a good fill. If I had to pick fault I would say that the hotel does need a full refurbishment, as furnishing and fittings are looking a little dated and tired. Extra lift capacity would also be helpful .Parking is a problem (why on earth don't they turn the old pavilion site into a car park?), with limited spaces outside the hotel and time limited spaces further down the road.

However I would definately stay again, but I would definately go for the room upgrade.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room upgrade - it's worth it - and if you're not happy with you room raise t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robaltech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,266 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#49 of 60 in Llandudno
856 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £36 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing