We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic but clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #58 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here recently on a Saturday night out. Only booked as our double room was very very cheap for the night. The hotel must have been particularly quiet that week.
We wouldn't dream of paying full price for this hotel as it is in need of repair, basic decoration, new bathrooms (probably throughout). Despite all this it was clean, and the bed had fresh sheets. I wouldn't call it comfortable, but I would say we definitely got what we had payed for. I would consider using this hotel again....but again..only on a cheapy!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Songbird24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,344 - 1,350 of 1,839 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

booked in on a very cold and windy day in november my first visit to that part of wales.
was told rooms ready soon but we could wait in coffee bar which we did very nice it was to staff very friendly and helpfull.
when we went up to our room it was better than we expected great views very clean and with a large bathroom.
we had book premier and enjoyed it greatly the dining room as a great view and the food was far to good fresh well cooked and very good choice.

Room Tip: sea view and go premier the dining room looks over the sea and its worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eddy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

It sounds like you had a very nice time; so glad you enjoyed the food and you found my staff friendly and helpful. The Pemier rooms do have fabulous views over Llandudno Bay.

As long as it isn't very windy the hotel will feel lovely and warm.

So glad you were happy with your short break and thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

when we arrived in our room there was no heating on and it was freezing we were told it was on a timer and it would take quite a while to come through to our room, it didn't, so we were given a mobile heater, 2 in fact because it was so cold. The soup was cold the chips were cold I think cold was the theme of the hotel, when we said this to a chap on reception he said what do you expect it is minus 2 outside. Breakfast was good, hot and plenty of choice, but to put the top hat on it my friend started with the Novovirus as we were driving home, we were told about it being in the hotel after we were settled in our cold room, not on booking in and given a choice of whether to stay or not

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank 340pattianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

Booked a 4 night stay dinner bed and breakfast stayed for 2 nights an that was a struggle milk was off at breakfast asked to be checked an changed waiter ushered away as he was foreign not a care very poor toast like mouse mats, butter floating in warm water yuk, bacon tasted like it was off disgusting, did not know there was 2 servings at dinner and felt like we was given first servings slops that was left, room was basic not grand very dirty black mold above shower furniture from a run down downton abbey the bar consisted off flat drinks had to come home ill did not complain just left as I would of no doubt been greeted with a shrug off the shoulder, an just remembered the trifle was put next to hot potatoes is this normal I think not, I'm still ill now and have not eaten for 2 days if persists may get checked by doctor

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fagsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Thank you for the review of the Grand Hotel.

I sometimes find it hard to believe that some of the reviews actually stay in the same hotel as each other. Mostly the staff comments are about how friendly and accommodating the staff are so I can only assume that it all comes down to how they are spoken to.

I am sorry for everything that was wrong about your holiday but I cannot apologise for contracting the Norovirus because it is not the fault of the hotel.

A guest visitng the hotel came with the virus and passed it on to other guests but as ever the hotel get the blame. Anyone who watches the news will read about the widespread of the Norovirus in the winter months. It is a constant battle for the hotel through the winter months; this is the reason why we have hand gel at the entrance to the restaurant, as a preventitive measure.
Luckily this was the only small outbreak we have had in months so the hotel procedures are definitely working.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I have just stayed at the grand for a couple of nights.Where do i begin?Five stars all round from the staff,room ,food,atmosphere.A special thanks to the staff in the dining room food presentation excellent and a wide range of dishes will return soon best wishes Steve Wade.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevensteve67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

Thanks for the great review; we should be so lucky as to have 5 stars but hopefully I do have 5 star staff and may 3 star everything else.
.
The restaurant staff are always good at creating an atmosphere, especially Joanne, Duncan and Andy.

Thanks again for the review Steve Wade; we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My wife and I and our 7 year old daughter were invited by my in laws to spend the weekend with them at The Grand. To be honest I was a little concerned to how it would pan out ,we arrived Friday evening and were given room 311 which was really spacious with 2 double doors looking right over the bay of llandudno,the beds were very comfy,tea and coffee and kettle ,good shower and comfy seating. The evening meal was good especially the carvery overseen by a very friendly Portuguese fellow, the turkey and beef both tasty and tender. We later went across to the lounge and were entertained by a great singer especially his 'night fever' voice! Ha ha! So all in all we enjoyed the whole experience. Ok The Grand is not Claridges and it is a little worn at the edges but to me that what gives it character along with the very friendly staff and the quirky squeaky floorboards...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank casperfreidrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

Thank you for the fabulous review; so pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend.

Room 311 has recently been decorated by my maintenance staff so I was pleased to see the positive comments.

John (the portuguese fellow) is a lovely guy and always pleasant; I will pass on your comments.
John McLaren was on last Saturday; great singer but he's no John Travolta Lol.

Once again, thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Grand for the weekend to visit the Christmas market. We booked a twin room and were concerned initially to find we had been given a double! However, we realised it was in fact a family room so we actually had a double and a sofa bed which was fine. The room had the most amazing picture window and view and had a living area with table, chairs and the sofa (bed). So we had loads of room. We also had a whirlpool bath! There was lots of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and milk. The room was snug and clean. There was loads of hot water and fluffy towels. There were a few chips and scrapes but overall we were thrilled with our room for the price (the room was £60 per night). The breakfast was plentiful with no restrictions on amount of food or drinks. We would definitely stay there again particularly if we could stay in room 97!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Family rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Thanks for the lovely review of our hotel.

The sea view family rooms are indeed lovely and spacious; we are happy to let these rooms go to 2 guests outside of the childrens school holidays.
During school holidays they are always popular; for anyone reading this for a family sea view booking, ask for a room 'downstairs'.

Glad you enjoyed our 'all you can eat Britannia beakfast'; it certainly sets you up for the day, especially for tramping round the shops and the Christmas market.

Once again, thank you for taking the time and effort to review the Grand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,292 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,449 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#49 of 60 in Llandudno
878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £32 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing