We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #57 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed here beginning of Jan with a National Holidays tour. The location of the Hotel is great and the food was really nice, that was the only good part. Now for the not so good bits. The decor was terrible, green and pink wood chip everywhere ( that looked 100year old), wall paper pealing, ripped wall paper, all off colour paint, parts just left half broken and cupboard door off ( not in the room). We were on the 5th floor and i have asthma and was very ill with it but still went with the advice of my doc. I am scared of lifts so asked if they could move us which they did do and i was very grateful. The only problem was that it was direct over the karaoke part ( which for some reason instead of having it in the ballroom underneath the hotel it was in the part direct under rooms) and there was terrible and very loud ( could not hear our tv for it) until 1am! We were setting off back to Leeds at 12.45 and we had to be out of the room for 10am. I went to the reception and explained that i was very ill ( had to see a doctor while there) with asthma and would we stay later in the room. I was told of course you can stay in it ( the tiny box that it was) till 12...for £15!!!!!!!!!!! I told them forget it. All in all it was not a great hotel. If the decor was better, the room was not as noisy and they didnt try rob their customers ( that were ill and in need) i would have given it a better score.

Room Tip: if you are not scared of lifts, up up up, to get away from the noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxjoxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,368 - 1,374 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed for two nights half board. The deal was good value but the hotel was a real disappointment- anything but "Grand". On arrival the room we were allocated had a very damp wall with paper peeling off and black mould growing- certainly not acceptable even on a cheap deal. Staff changed the room on request to a basic but adequate room. Cleanliness was good and staff harassed but helpful. Food was very poor- it's hard to spoil a basic cooked breakfast but this was almost inedible- soggy toast, rubber eggs and everything barely luke warm including tea and coffee. Plates had food from the previous meal adhering to them at 2 of the 4 meals we ate.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel for Twixmas,the hotel is clean and bedrooms well set out and exceedingly warm throughout our stay.
We stayed on bed and breakfast and found breakfast a big disappointment as toast was soggy as it was kept warm over a bain marie of hot water. and fried eggs were often dried up.
On one morning the table was not set for us and we had to run around finding cups, saucers ,tea spoons and milk jugs which I felt were basic duties of the waiting staff.
The other food was hot and there was plenty of it available.
The reception staff were more than willing to help. throughout our stay but do not think I would rush back soon

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view have great views of the bay also some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mysteryvisitor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed on a twixmas break, great!! Rooms tired but spotlessly clean, staff efficient, entertainment in the ballroom first class! Food good never go hungry! No complaints as it is excellent value for money! Try it!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hillary and Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This is the second time my wife and i have been on the twixmas break, and we have booked to go again next year as well. If you book before leaving you get a 20% discount ( quite a good bonus ). Rooms clean, light and well serviced, the staff well mannered and helpful and the entertainment was relaxing, family friendly and very professional. All round a very relaxing time was had by us both. Would recommend this hotel 100%.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are great on both sides of the hotel, the premier rooms speak for themselves, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maurice h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Checked into the Grand for a preChristmas birthday and shop and was initailly battling between sympathy for anyone managing such a periodic hotel and sympathy for people like myself who thought this would be akin to the other fine offereings on the Llandudno front. Having been allocated a room presumably rejected by an eastern european chambermaid, with a view into the central bowel of the hotel and its store of plastic chairs I bought an upgrade, simply to a room with a view of the town. Dirty trick by the Britannia chain, I presumed, since the hotel was clearly under-occupied midweek and I had no neighbours in my new room. No sympathy for the state of the moss-ridden balcony and dirty windows, since I now felt cheated.

The grand Grand foyer tried to be elegant, however flanked by two large vending machines, a gauntlet for cola and crisps one could have been mistakenly entering a coach stop waiting room.

On the positive, I found all staff pleasant and respectful and the breakfast (although for me it could have done without chips) was fairly good. Evening enteratinment was not eagerly anticipated and I was therefore not disapointed with the talentless monotones of a bloke on a keyboard with some tapes. There was a frantic race for the zimmers at one point - could have been nasty.

Llandudno was nice enough with colourful seasonal lighting, alternative shops and bistros, if you know where to look, and a lovely waterfront. In contrast somewhat was the Grand, which had lost its battle for charm and dignity. What happens with such hotels as they age, should they change their name? Perhaps all they need to do is look carefully at the thriving competion and grow back some enthusiasm for their purpose.

Room Tip: Askbefore yiu pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveandjaneLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here recently on a Saturday night out. Only booked as our double room was very very cheap for the night. The hotel must have been particularly quiet that week.
We wouldn't dream of paying full price for this hotel as it is in need of repair, basic decoration, new bathrooms (probably throughout). Despite all this it was clean, and the bed had fresh sheets. I wouldn't call it comfortable, but I would say we definitely got what we had payed for. I would consider using this hotel again....but again..only on a cheapy!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Songbird24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
1,303 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,463 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 59 in Llandudno
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 59 in Llandudno
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
#22 of 59 in Llandudno
916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#49 of 59 in Llandudno
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £27 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing