We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coach trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #57 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stayed at the Grand in January with my husband.The room we had was small and the bathrrrom tiny ,could hardly get dried after a shower.The food was quite good plenty of it and a good choice ,something for everyone.Our friend upgraded rooms and were able to dine in a separate dining rooms when they pleased,but we were alotted certain sittings.The enertainment was excellant two dancing girls and a male and female singer They were only young but gave great performaces.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilynm15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thanks for the positive review of our hotel.
I am pleased to hear you had a lovely holiday and the food and entertainment were good.
I will pass your comments on to the relevant staff who are always happy to hear that guests are complimentary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,341 - 1,347 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

I stayed at the Grand for one night while working in the area. When looking for accommodation I just booked the lowest cost hotel I could find on the net and ended up here and at under £30 it was good value for money. I had the cheapest room with a single bed and no views. My room and en suite were warm and clean if a bit tired looking. Its a huge hotel and must be massively expensive to run so for what I paid I would not criticise the accommodation. The hotel is right on the waters edge next to the pier, it's a great location. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. I arrived too late in the evening for the restaurant but the breakfast was good and I could have sat there until lunchtime enjoying the view. I will definitely be staying again when in

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view unless you just want somewhere to sleep ( I just wanted any room, my view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank factorthirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for the great review of the hotel.
It is refreshing to read comments from someone who understands that the upkeep of a hotel the size of the Grand is extremely expensive, especially the heating bills.
So glad the staff were friendly and welcoming and your breakfast was enjoyable.
Make sure you stop at the Grand next time you are working in the area; we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Arrived Friday 01 Feb to Monday 04/02 ,stayed in room 107.£10 extra per person per night for premier room upgrade,worth the money.
The hotel is tired and needs a general upgrade,the staff work hard to please and certainly succeed.
Four drinks per person per night are allowed in the deal only redeemed in the downstairs bar between 19:30 - 23:00,get your drinks from there and take them upstairs.
The entertainment was ok and the tried hard,karaoke in the upstairs bar until 01:00. Overall you get what you pay for,value for money,clean,good service. The Scarisbrick at southport is a Britannia hotel that could learn a lot from The Grand ,location is a bit out of the town but next to the Great Orme.

Room Tip: room 107 is a good spacious room and well worth the upgrade fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeandyBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
It is certainly worth upgrading to a sea view room as the aspect is so much better than looking at the Gt.Orme.
Pleased to see the positive comments about my staff; they do work very hard to accommodate all guests requests and obviously they succeeded on this occasion.
Entertainment is very subjective; what one person likes another doesn't but hopefully it was acceptable and you joined in with the karaoke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

What a wonderfull place to stay ..nothing like the grand scarborough !! Very cleen friendly staff lovely food .the prenier rooms are real value for money .we had a roon with balcony and sea view ..the entertainment was first class

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleyannemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you so much for this great review.
The Premier rooms need a bit of TLC but overall they are well worth the supplement upgrade, even in the winter. Today is a beautiful sunny (cold) day and the views are still fabulous from a lovely warm toasty room.
I am very pleased to hear that the hotel was clean and the staff friendly; we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Visited this hotel for the tenth time in the last 20 years ,this time with national holidays for the first time.As usual we had a great time ,room 326 more than adequate with a sea view down the pier,the food and restaurant was very good,and the entertainment outstanding with a superb 3 piece band called Grand Melody ,organ ,drums and guitar,very professional ,rare but much appreciated to see live music nowadays. The production team two singers and 2 dancers worked very hard and were much enjoyed by my wife and I. one lady said to me this is the best entertainment i have ever seen in an hotel ,and i find it hard to disagree. Llandudno is a beautiful picturesque resort with lovely walks ,and is also home to venue cymru which stages spectacular stage show .We were lucky enough to see High Society whilst
we we there. My advice would be book this hotel with confidence especially if you like entertainment and fun. Well worth paying extra for a sea view. Visited 26th to 30th january.

Room Tip: sea view well worth the extra ,trip round the great orme a must on 1958 coach from pier entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianandchristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for this brilliant review of the Grand Hotel.
10 times ! So nice to hear you are still coming back after all this time.
We are lucky to have Grand Melody; decent live musicians are a dying breed and Grand Melody are a very talented group.
Llandudno is indeed a great little seaside town, plenty of nice walks, 2 beaches, lots of attractions in the suimmer months and soem very good shows on at Venue Cymru.
Hopefully we will see you for the next 10 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

stayed at the grand llandudno we didnt know what to expect after staying at the slum in scarborough..
what a pleasant suprise the hotel was clean the staff were excellent and the room was spotless.
we stayed in a premier room with a balcony and a sea view .
unlike there sister hotel in scarborough you would not know this was part of the same group the staff were all pleasant and seemed happy at there work the food was spot on as well as the service.
the whole experience at the hotel was a pleasure from start to finish.

Room Tip: choose a premier room if your budget stretches to the added £15.00 gorgeous views of the bay and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thanks for the great review and the compliements of every aspect of your holiday. I am so pleased you were happy with my staff and the food and in fact everything. It is really refreshing to read such positive reviews; we will hopefully see you again on some future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

On holiday in Wales for the first time, my husband and I checked into this hotel on a Saturday night and were so disappointed by the room we were given that we left shortly afterwards and stayed elsewhere. The run-down reception area and general shabby appearance of the ground floor should have alerted us to what we could expect of the bedroom and this was indeed the case! The room was grubby; the furniture and carpet scruffy; the bed was hard and the whole room smelled musty and damp. The pillows were actually stained when we removed the pillowcases! The bathroom was not much better with stained floorcovering and a general grubby appearance. The bedroom window looked directly onto a hill and people on the pathway up the side of it could see straight into our room so we had to keep the curtains closed. We were so keen to find somewhere else to stay that night that we left without complaining as the reception was crowded. The following day (Sunday) we were forced to return home earlier than expected and returned to "The Grand" to ask for a refund - this was refused point blank. Subsequent emails to the hotel to ask for a refund for the second night (we didn't ask for the first night as we accepted that this was improbable since we hadn't complained at the time) were passed back and forth between Britannia Hotels' customer services branch and the hotel management team but the result was the same - a refund was refused. If the standard of accommodation was poor, it was surpassed by the standard of customer service or to be more precise, the lack of it. We were advised that our complaints about the standard of the room were an afterthought because we were refused a refund for the Sunday night, and when in a final email we said that we would be giving negative feedback it was inferred that this would be sour grapes on our part and unjustified "abuse". My husband and I have abandoned any chance of a refund and written our visit to "The Grand " off as a very bad experience - I'm writing this review now to warn other potential visitors of what to expect. We only wish we'd read some of the other allegedly abusive reviews before we'd booked into the hotel in the first place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

The only comment I will make is that his couple wanted a refund on a non refundable break (the hotel do have to pay commsion on bookings made via a third party website) so they could return on the ferry early. They were refused so decided to complain about lots of things they did not previously complain about and yes they did threaten us with Tripadvisor but this should not be a reason to give a refund if it is not due.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
1,301 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,461 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 59 in Llandudno
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 59 in Llandudno
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
#21 of 59 in Llandudno
915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#49 of 59 in Llandudno
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £27 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing