We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #58 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
denbigh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Had 3 nights out with friends and i have to say the entertainment was very good , they had a very good singer on karoke and a comedian on the sunday who made us all laugh so much.The staff were very friendly and helpful, The hotel is in need of a refurbishment and is quite shabby but its still a nice place to relax and spend time with your friends..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherineDenbigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review.
Glad to hear you had a great time, especially in the karaoke (hope you were up singing !)
I can't disagree that we need refurbishing but hopefully what we lack in decor we make up for in service.
We very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    430
    387
    286
    371
See reviews for
362
803
33
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pembs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

we stayed in the grand for 3 nights dont stay in room 509 carpet need a good clean stains on wall skirting boards dirty very disapointed no outlook only tiles on roof 1 lift working and every floor board creked over all the hotel needs a good revamp for whet we payed we did not get value for money

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevepembs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am so sorry for your disappointment; I agree some of the 5th floor rooms do not have a great aspect. We were 98.8% occupied on the Saturday night of your stay but I am sure had you gone to reception and expressed your concerns the staff would have endeavoured to deal with your complaints about the room and moved you elsewhere subject to availability.
We cannot address a problem if we are unaware; much easier to deal with at the time than afterwards.
I think at £30 per person, bed & breakfast per night,we still offer great value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed at the Grand for 4 days on a national Holidays trip. When we arrived we were booked straight in no waiting around our room was of adequete size as other reviews state the hotel is in need of decorating but the food, staff, and entertainment were all amazing. What we found to be good was the Hotel was cheaper for drinks and food than the local pubs and bars actually in Llandudno itself. We would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you so much for the review.
I won't comment on the need for refurbishment as it has been repeated many times and I have no control over work being undertaken in the hotel.
Glad you found the food, staff and entertainment amazing; I think the guests who like the hotel the most are the ones that actually use the hotel for what it is; an entertainment hotel offering decent food and reasonable bar prices.
These guests do not just see the inside of a bedroom but experience the whole package.

Thank you for taking the time,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I arrived the staff were pleasant and helpful. The view is amazing if you are on the 2nd or 3rd floor with a sea view and balcony. My room faced Llandudno town and the sea with amazing early morning sunrise views. The room was clean however needs a lot of updating and a good handyman. A few damp patches tired carpet and curtains. It's in general a good hotel if you are willing to just have a nice view.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for your review of the Grand Hotel Llandudndo.
The view is indeed fabulous across Llandudno Bay. I see you marked the hotel 4/5 for value and service and 3 for cleanliness so hopefully guests do not just come for the view.
It always a pleasure to see that guests who have enjoyed their holiday with us actually take the time to review the hotel as it is easy when things go wrong to be negative.

Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

our room 423 (standard double) was basic but warm with large bathroom no shower but big bath and plenty hot water.no views to speak of.14 inch old fashioned portable tv.Food nothing special but edible self sevice in the dining room we were in.You can upgrade rooms and dining but we chose not to.we went out at night and came back approx 9.30 after the bingo for the shows which we enjoyed bar prices are reasonable for hotel £2.80 for carlsberg.There is no car park at the hotel we paid £1.50 a day on the road that leads up to the hotel.prices double for parking after april.Tip if you are going shopping whist there take some carrier bags with you as all shops and supermarkets in wales now have to charge 5p per bag.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dereknewton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
I agree the hotel could do with some degree of refurbishement but I am pleased to hear the positive comments about your stay and yes we would love new televisions in the bedrooms.
Our bar prices are very reasonable as we like our guests to stay in the hotel and not have to venture out into the cold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Huddersfield, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Whilst the room was very clean, and staff friendly and helpful, the walls to the bedrooms were paper thin to the point where you could hear next doors talking and their TV clearly in our room, and the children staying in the other adjoining room noisy. The floors creaked badly. and the radiator didn't work, although there was a convector heater. Sorry, not somewhere I would personally go to again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill & jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel.
We do not normally have comments about the walls being thin but not knowing what room you stayed in I cannot really comment but I agree the floorboards creak.
It has been incredibley cold this winter; the hotel is hard to keep warm when the wind is driving from the east over the bay.
I am sorry you feel you would not to give the hotel another try; I am sure if you came when the weather was fine (which will hopefully be this summer) you would have a different opinion about the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
264 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Went with 3 other friends on a National Holiday. I dont usually go on a long weekend but the friends I was going with are such a riot so knew with them was in for a good time. The situation of the hotels is amazing, just needs an upgrade. The entertainment was poor and the entertainers needed to have more customer interaction.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMJONESY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
It sounds like you had a great weekend with your friends; I will pass on your comments to the entertainment team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#55 of 60 in Llandudno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Property: The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing