We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #58 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Break”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Had a nice time at this hotel. All Staff were superb and helped you no end. All the food was excellent. 1st room choice was not so good, but the wife went straight back to reception and we were given another room which had a great view. Hotel is in need of a makeover, but is very clean and for the price no one can complain. Llandudno is a great place and we went out each night to stroll the number pubs in the town making it a nice entertaining weekend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveller218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    430
    387
    287
    371
See reviews for
362
804
33
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just returned from a weekend at the Grand - we booked last minute as we simply fancied doing something different. When we arrived we upgraded to a Premier Room - well worth it. With a Premier room you eat in the Premier restaurant which is a carvery and much quieter than the main restaurant. Restaurant staff very friendly and food was really good. Reception staff and cleaners also very friendly.

For the price we paid - it was excellent value and we will definitely return.

Ok, the hotel is dated, and the floorboards creak - however, our view was lovely (sea view). No complaints from me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfarouke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed at the grand last year and I was unimpressed then, so this year , sept 13 I knew what to expect, I could not get booked any where else, so I thought it may of improved this year so we took a chance and went back.. never again, we where on the 5th floor, the room was very small, dirty, in fact we could not use the shower as it was so mouldy and really dirty, plenty of cobwebs in the room if you like that kind of thing... message to manager.. get a grip of your cleaning staff they clearly don't do much work

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porky_paulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

A very tired old fashioned hotel, wont go back. Not exactly what we wanted or expected of a christmasy weekend. 150 guests and four staff in the dining room on Friday (Christmas Eve). A transport café would have more atmosphere. No table decorations, table cloths and a free for all dining experience. Saturday night "Christmas day" was a little better crackers and a party hat! a few more staff. The bingo was a rip off and entertainment not good either. We were a party of 4 and we will take our pre Christmas break elsewhere next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bedlington13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan T, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Bedlington13

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay and l am sorry your pre-Christmas stay wasn’t as "Christmassy" as you had expected.
Britannia hotels offer fantastic value Christmas breaks and many of our customers enjoy them so much they take advantage of our "book before you leave" offers and return again and again.
During the run up to Christmas our Turkey and Tinsel breaks have received great feedback but l have looked in to our guest comment cards for the period when you stayed.
On average we had 120 to 180 guests (the quiet "lull" before Christmas itself.
Out of these, 89% were very satisfied with their breaks with 92% of them giving positive feedback about dinning.
We could dress the tables with crackers, hats, party blowers every night from the middle of October but from customer feedback in past years this has been a "over-kill of Christmas", so we try to keep the Christmas dining experience concentrated on Christmas day.
Staffing - As you know the restaurant set-up is carvery/buffet style (self service) as advertised, therefore 4 waiting staff dedicated to just clearing tables for 130 guests over 2 hours is more than adequate and has been tried and tested/reviewed frequently.
The Hotel is old - it is a Victorian Hotel and this is clearly advertised.
We have completed a large number of refurbishment projects over the last six months, including the redecorating of all ground level public areas and bedrooms. Further refurbishment projects are underway and we have received very positive feedback from returning guests who have noticed significant improvements in these areas.
Many of our returning guests choose us for our entertainment programmes which also receive very positive feedback on our comment cards.
To summarise, pre-Christmas breaks are loved by some, hated by others.
Our Turkey and Tinsel breaks are very popular and we always try our very best to accommodate “both sides” of the festive season.
We are very sorry we couldn’t make your experience more Christmassy.
We hope you have a great Christmas at home or away, and thank you for choosing Britannia Hotels.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

After reading so many poor reviews we still booked and it was simply the best experience. I would like to point out the majority of the negative reviews are wrong for the below reasons 1. The hotel is from A Victorian era and has so much charm and character and deserves the name. Apart from the odd patch of flaking paint the hotel is decorated to an excellent standard. 2 if your going to moan about creaky floorboards and the odd patch of flaking paint then maybe you should go and stay at a cheap mass produced premier inn instead of venting your poison on here in the form of damaging reviews.

Standing tall and having the best views of the entire bay of llandudno it was so great to have a balcony and the double room was ample.
Falling asleep in front of the sea and listening to the sea was amazing.

Food at breakfast was amazing!!! All you can eat and drink .

I can't vouch for every room but what I saw from lobby and lounge and the bars was very nice and our room was a sea view 315 double. If your not happy with your room ask for it to be changed instead of waiting and writing poor reviews . Please if you have to make a decision make it after reading this review . We loved it
And will be returning in the near future. Alex and Sonya from bromsgrove.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank alexhanson225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan T, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Alex

Thank you very much for your lovely, kind comments which have certainly put a spring in our step!
The Grand Hotel is indeed Victorian and has a lot of charm and character.
As the newly appointed manager l am delighted to confirm we have a number of refurbishment projects well underway and we are very excited to be actively bringing the Grand back to its former glory.
We have recently completed redecorating the restaurants and introduced a wine bar in the main restaurant hall, which is proving a great success.
You are absolutely right in that if guests aren’t happy with their rooms we would much rather be informed at the time so we can offer a alternative (even a free upgrade to Superior/Premier when available!) than not be told until it is too late and get a bashing on here!
With all the efforts currently going on to improve The Grand, constructive feedback and the chance to put things right at the time is what keeps us going.
We thank you again, Alex for your lovely comments which have certainly given us a boost.
Wishing you and your family a great Christmas and hope to see you again in the New Year.
Best wishes
Dan and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

What a place.

Do NOT stay in room 511. So tiny, no heating, no view and not very clean either.

It felt a bit like staying at a hospital...disinfectant lotions and norovirus notifications everywhere!

But in there defence the staff very helpful and friendly.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Timm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan T, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Tim

We are very sory that your room was not what you had expected and we will look in to the areas you have mentioned.

We would like to inform all existing and future guests that we have had no cases of Norovirus here at The Grand Hotel in Llandudno.
There have been reports of this winter sickness in some areas across the UK, however not here at The Grand.
We take the health and safety of all our guests and employees very seriously, and as a precautionary measure introduce additional good hygiene practices when we hear of such sicknesses, which can spread through travellers.
Should any future or existing booked guests have any queries please contact us direct for advice.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troed-y-rhiw, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Pulling up to this place in the dark all lit up and looking all ominous gave it is grand title.. But going inside to check in was a different story... First you are met with an old feeling that this place has had its day... But it still has charm and you know is a place your gran would love. Corrie on the wide-screen TV in the bar area backed this up. The rooms were very basic and seen better days. So come here you need to not expect the best and get ready to run shoulders with your nan.....

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#55 of 60 in Llandudno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Property: The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing