We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #58 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    436
    392
    292
    373
See reviews for
368
813
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Wandering around Llandudno we decided to give The Grand a go so we nipped in for a drink. The whole place felt a bit dilapitated and clearly needs some cash pumped into it to tidy things up a bit. It's a shame because you get the feeling that in it's hey day The Grand would have been just that. The staff were marvellous though and the bar prices were very reasonable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank QueenieBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan T, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear QueenieBean

Thank you for your comments regarding your quick visit for a drink.
Amongst other refurbishment projects The Connaught Bar lounge, Reception foyer, main restaurant & Premier restaurant all received a big makeover only 7 months ago, and has received very good feedback from regular guests and locals alike.
I'm sorry that the decor isnt to your taste, but delighted that the service your received was high and you found our prices reasonable.

Best wishes

From all at The Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Very disappointing experience!! I really should have known better!! When an offer appears too good to be true, it generally is!! Our stay was booked using a discount voucher, via a popular internet promotions web-site (kgbdeals). The deal offered a big discount (ca 50%) for what sounded like a good overnight package - B&B with 3 course buffet style dinner and full english breakfast included. I would have been REALLY disappointed had we paid full price! The hotel is quite old and in need of a lot of care and attention. The room we had was small, shabby and basic to say the least, with uncomfortable beds. In addition guests are advised not to drink the tap water in the bathroom. Heavens above, this is 2014!
The buffet style dinner and breakfast were equally forgettable. Not particularly well presented and un-appetising, despite a reasonable choice of dishes.

The main redeeming feature of this hotel is the staff who were friendly and helpful, and the bar prices which were reasonably in line with the local pubs.

Needless to say, we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Sea views will clearly be an improvement on those rooms over-looking the base of the Great Orme
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mallet-head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at The Grand for one night as a last minute get away to north Wales, during good weather. The reception staff were helpful, and swiftly booked us in, providing us with a welcome pack. We had to pay up front for the room. As the room was a lower priced option we didn't expect it to be the best, however we were a little disappointed as it was very basic and in need of some updating and decoration. The TV was tiny and didn't work. Towels were placed on the windowsill in the bathroom. There was no towel rail. The ceiling was damaged and dipping down in the bathroom. Water from the taps was 'not drinkable'!? The room was dusty in places. I was disturbed quite a few times late night and early morning by the noise of other guests & banging doors. I could hear word for word the conversations and TV from the next door/above rooms. Also as we were leaving, the clean linen for the next occupants was on the floor outside the room. Roadside parking is difficult, there are spaces but it gets full so be prepared for a few minutes walk. On a positive note the staff were lovely/helpful and chatty. The bed was comfy. The buffet breakfast was ok. Location of the hotel is right on the pier and only a few minutes walk from happy valley & The Orme. The town centre is also only approx 5 mins walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaeFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan T, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear RaeFletch

Im glad to hear you found the service from our team freindly and helpful, the bed comfy and the breakfast ok.
We are currently working through a number of refurbishment projects in bedrooms and this is starting to be recognised by guests who have recently stayed here.
We would love to get them done all at once in one swoop, but we would probably all get laid off whilst the place was closed for such a big job!! So we will continue to do what we can.
But l do appreciate your constructive comments and hope you will give us another chance should you be in Llandudno in the future - l'll see to it that you get a comp' upgrade!

Best wishes
All at The Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I went to Zambia and Botswana recently, and in both places, the hotel water had been purified and was drinkable from the taps. Here in the Grand, on the other hand, the water is NOT drinkable - notices in each bathroom tell you so. This is truly shocking in the UK in the 21st century. And the Grand does not even have the courtesy to provide bottles of free drinking water in the bedrooms - indeed, I heard the barman refuse to serve a glass of plain water to a guest in the ballroom one evening.

Add to this the fact that my bedroom was beyond squalid - the number (513) hung off the door folornly, two out of three lights not working, mould and rust in the bathroom, patches of damp on the bedroom and bathroom ceilings, damp carpets, no towel rails or soap dishes, a lump of wood hanging off the roof and banging around outside my bedroom window to keep me awake all night - and you have a hotel that provides a truly depressing experience to any traveller.

There is no swimming pool, no gym, no sauna, no jacuzzi - no modern facilities at all. And compared to many hotels in the vicinity, this one was expensive. I went as part of a group, but I shan't hurry to go back!

I fail to understand how anyone can give this horrible hotel a decent review - its only saving grace was that the food was tolerable - though the dirty overall of the man serving the carved meat gave one pause for thought.....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireGypsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan T, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear "Gypsy Girl"

I am quite astonished at your comments!
Firstly l am dissapointed to learn of your room problems, however there have been no complaints regarding this room for quite some time now but l will certainly look in to them.
I only wish you had come to us with these issues in the first instance so that we could have had the oppurtunity to put it right.

Please may l ask where you saw advertised a gym, sauna, swimming pool & jacuzzi, as we are a 110 year old victorian building which has never had these leisure facilities - if we did - we'd advertise them!
Perhaps other visitors who have stayed here have done their research properly about us and in turn not been so dissapointed at there being no such facilities!

In a world (not third world) of "blames & claims" we were advised by local authorities to place notices in guests bedrooms advising not to drink the water from the bathroom taps. In reality the water is probably absoloutly fine to drink - ive had a few cups myself and lm happy to say no bugs!
We have looked around the area of this room for any loose lumps of wood and can find nothing.

We are sorry you didnt enjoy your stay and again, please do tell us where you saw all these leisure facilities advertised (if you did) so that we can have them removed!

Best wishes
Dan Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Another enjoyable stay at the grand. The staff as usual where helpful. We stay here a couple of times each year, and always find it good value for money. The breakfast has plenty to choose from. The rooms, although very basic and in need of updating, are always clean and adequate. And the views from the sea facing rooms are beautiful. The entertainment team work hard to put on a very good show every evening. Well done.

Room Tip: Worth paying the little bit extra for a premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan T, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Linda

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.
Its always nice to hear from returning guests who enjoy the Grand for what it is and what it offers - great service, clean rooms, great food, great entertainment and great value!
As previously mentioned we are working through many of the rooms with refurbishment projects and have been replacing TV's as we go along with new flat screens, both 26" & 32" so hopefully you will get to use one on your next visit!
Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seing you again soon.
Best wishes
From all at the Grand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

we stayed at the grand again as we have many times as usual the staff were good the food choice was good and the entertainment team all worked hard.
The rooms are adequate some with excellent views yes the parking can be a problem but we have always had a good time there we have had at least 20 stays before and never had a problem thanks to you all.
we will be back.
Michael & Linda

Room Tip: choose a superior room & make the most of your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan T, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Michael & Linda

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay, and again its lovely to hear from returning guests who are still enjoying their stays here - nice to know we are still getting it right!
20 stays...... i hope you you've taken advantage of our rewards card!
Thank you very much for your kind comments and continued support & custom.
Best wishes
All at The Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
810 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#55 of 60 in Llandudno
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Property: The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing