We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #58 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel ”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever been to and will never go again. Faulty Towers it certainly is and the appearance is something from the 1970's.
The smell in the room has an distinct smell and I have seen better furniture on my local tip.
Despite paying I just walked out and went to another hotel.
I had a look into the breakfast room but it looked like a set up for school dinners. Table clothes were no where to be seen.
Avoid this hotel, its awful

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank GMD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan T, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for you r comments GMD13.

Certainly no Basil or Manuel duo here, although l do like the television series myself (especially some of the guests they encounter...)

Our restaurant is advertised as Carvery/Buffet, lm sorry you failed to see this and it was not what you were expecting.
We no longer use table cloths and have gone for a less 1970's approach and a more modern/hygienic one.

I only wish you had approached the reception team with your concerns and given us the chance to offer you a better room, perhaps even free upgrade to Premier sea view as goodwill. But if we are not made aware of the issues at the time then we aren’t able to put it right
Best wishes
The Grand Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    442
    401
    296
    379
See reviews for
375
826
34
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is by far the worst hotel I've ever been to.
We turned up at 7 pm in the middle of a fire alarm. The only people leaving the building were the staff! Chefs in dirty overalls and waiting staff eager to get a bit of fresh air I'm sure.
The overwhelming smell as you enter the hotel is that of stale cooking fat, the kind of smell that clings to you and your clothes.
We couldn't check in as our voucher was online only and the staff on reception seemed unable to help. The supervisor was upstairs investigating the fire so was unable/ unwilling to come down to help. We cut our losses and booked alternative accommodation.
There were signs all over the hotel urging customers to use the alcohol gel. Not a frequent sight in a seaside hotel.
The windows should have been an indication as we walked up to the door. They were so dirty that you couldn't see in! The entrance is a gathering area for smokers, butts everywhere and an unpleasant haze to fight your way through upon entering and exiting.
In short, you get what you pay for. Pay pennies get poo.
It smells, it's dirty, the staff need training on customer service.
If this hotel had a cash injection of say £50 spent on bleach it may scrape a 2star level but it doesn't look as though that's going to happen which us a real shame as the building from a distance, looks as it says on the tin- Grand. But it has all gone terribly wrong. Never again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WelshMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

got a late internet deal
hotel facilities and staff excellent
very disapointed at a 2 class system of food service at the
evening meal and breakfast
this did not enter into a ralaxing spirit as what you
would expect in a hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Nice hotel, comfortable bed, quite room as we were on the 5th floor. Food good, self service, so choose you own and eat as much as you want. Good entertainment,though the alcoholic drinks weren't very good. All inclusive and if you didn't want anything alcoholic you were left with a choice of pop.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We decided on a random night away, we ended up in Llandudno!

Hot search on a hotel finder and found the grand for £41 I then went on there website and paid extra for an upgraded room! So a extra £15

When I got In it was cheap shabby and dirty so I asked reception to move us the lady behind reception was very helpful and polite but I felt had little management support

There was no parking as this was a factor of making the choice so we had to pay on a pay an display

They moved us to room 207, this was a much more spacious room but still has broken furniture and dated decor, the view was outstanding but spoiled by to build up of seagull muck all over the balcony

To top it all off at 9.30am we where woken from sleep by the cleaners wanting us out to clean the room

This hotel should be it's name sake! And had massive potential to be "grand" but I feel it requires more tlc and management guidance and in my expert opinion should be refurbished from the top down and the staff retrained

I would love to see this gem in better hands but feel Britannia hotels are just looking to fill the rooms as cheap as possible

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelPanda79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan T, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

I'm very sorry that your stay was not as pleasurable as you'd hoped.
Our housekeeping team may very well have knocked on your door at 9.30am, as breakfast service finishes at 9.30am, also checkout is 10.00am so in fairness they wouldn't have thought you would still be asleep at this time - but we apologise for waking you up!

Im very pleased my reception staff acknowledged you weren't happy with your first room and offered you a better, larger room. They are very experienced and trained members in customer service which is reflected in the many positive comments we receive both in house and on these site "friendly and helpful" are the regular words that pop up on here.

I'm sorry to learn of your disappoint with the rooms. The Grand Hotel is a Victorian hotel, over 110 years old and we strive to keep its character within its era. This isn't what all our guests are expecting and can lead to comments such as "outdated".
We currently have a number of refurbishment projects well under way and have been replacing items such as TV's with flat screens, whilst taking care not change the Victorian character of the hotel.
Thank you again for your comments.

Best wishes

From all at The Grand in Llandudno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a couple of days at the Grand Hotel. We have stayed there in the past just for bed and breakfast. We had an evening meal this time on both nights. It was plentiful and well presented.The staff are always pleasant. We noticed some decoration had taken place since our last stay. We can't wait to stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mrsteddypairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Property: The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing