We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THis HOTEL COULD BE BEAUTIFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #58 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We came on a short break staff are wonderful food in restaurant luke warm we had to leave it it was not to our standard I felt sorry for the residents all dressed up to get there tea and it was disappointing .our room was ok nice a clean the view was beautiful so much you could do with the bedrooms I would be willing to pay extra for a room made better with modern tv and updated
I looking at the reviews of other people that stay at the grand does the owner ever read them and note what people are saying good entertaiment we went to weatherspoons for a lovely breakfast the hotel is in the best position could be made lovely staff work very hard .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven_paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,785)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,004 - 1,010 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and i went there for a nice peaceful weekend break only to find our room was dirty, cobwebs and dust all over the place, very shabby and a shower that did not work properly and dripped all night, granted this was repaired the next day after complaining and a maid come back to get rid of the cobwebs, we didn't have much of a view but that was on the plus side as you couldn't see out of the dirty windows anyway, as for the peaceful part, anyone that walked past our door or in the room above us sounded like the roof was coming down and kept us awake mos of the night, food was luke warm and not much choice and it was an imposition to the staff that we actually wanted to eat there, to the extent that they were clearing the food away as we were trying to put it on our plates. We did send an email of complaint but have not even received so much as an apology. Would I recommend this place I think not.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had another great stay at this hotel Tracy on the desk made us feel really welcome and brain in the bar was very welcoming hope to go back in June all the staff are helpful weather was good to .they are doing lots of work on the hotel so hope that will get the review it is worth

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Raver2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Our bedroom was dirty. Old dirty fingermarks, dusty. Cracked bath panel, a radiator with paint peeling off, rusty balcony, a wardrobe door that wouldn't close properly. A definite lack of maintenance on the whole. The tea making facilities were poor standards - cheap tea bags yuk. Breakfast was poor quality again - no beans, awful scrambled eggs, terrible tea. A complete lack of quality and attention to detail. Even some of the crockery and cutlery was dirty. Its such a shame, such a beautiful old hotel which is in desperate need of some TLC.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AliOldColwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever been to and will never go again. Faulty Towers it certainly is and the appearance is something from the 1970's.
The smell in the room has an distinct smell and I have seen better furniture on my local tip.
Despite paying I just walked out and went to another hotel.
I had a look into the breakfast room but it looked like a set up for school dinners. Table clothes were no where to be seen.
Avoid this hotel, its awful

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank GMD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan T, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for you r comments GMD13.

Certainly no Basil or Manuel duo here, although l do like the television series myself (especially some of the guests they encounter...)

Our restaurant is advertised as Carvery/Buffet, lm sorry you failed to see this and it was not what you were expecting.
We no longer use table cloths and have gone for a less 1970's approach and a more modern/hygienic one.

I only wish you had approached the reception team with your concerns and given us the chance to offer you a better room, perhaps even free upgrade to Premier sea view as goodwill. But if we are not made aware of the issues at the time then we aren’t able to put it right
Best wishes
The Grand Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is by far the worst hotel I've ever been to.
We turned up at 7 pm in the middle of a fire alarm. The only people leaving the building were the staff! Chefs in dirty overalls and waiting staff eager to get a bit of fresh air I'm sure.
The overwhelming smell as you enter the hotel is that of stale cooking fat, the kind of smell that clings to you and your clothes.
We couldn't check in as our voucher was online only and the staff on reception seemed unable to help. The supervisor was upstairs investigating the fire so was unable/ unwilling to come down to help. We cut our losses and booked alternative accommodation.
There were signs all over the hotel urging customers to use the alcohol gel. Not a frequent sight in a seaside hotel.
The windows should have been an indication as we walked up to the door. They were so dirty that you couldn't see in! The entrance is a gathering area for smokers, butts everywhere and an unpleasant haze to fight your way through upon entering and exiting.
In short, you get what you pay for. Pay pennies get poo.
It smells, it's dirty, the staff need training on customer service.
If this hotel had a cash injection of say £50 spent on bleach it may scrape a 2star level but it doesn't look as though that's going to happen which us a real shame as the building from a distance, looks as it says on the tin- Grand. But it has all gone terribly wrong. Never again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WelshMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

got a late internet deal
hotel facilities and staff excellent
very disapointed at a 2 class system of food service at the
evening meal and breakfast
this did not enter into a ralaxing spirit as what you
would expect in a hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,250 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#49 of 60 in Llandudno
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#40 of 60 in Llandudno
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £44 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing