We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #58 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
cheshire uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Grand for one night on 14th June in room 303a, room cost £100.
When entering we were early but that staff member at the desk was lovely, said the room was ready and we could go straight up.
Sadly the room wasn't up to standard. First thing I notice is the toilet had dried blood, urine and feces. We spoke to the guy on the desk who apologised and said he'd get someone to sort asap.
When we got back from our time out, the toilet had been sorted but the toilet was now full of tissue which had been used to clean the seat!
It was at this point we started to notice more things wrong. I went for a shower and it was disgusting, I had to clean it before I could use it. The rail was rusted, the shower leaked and there was a strong smell of damp.
The ceiling of the hotel room was damp and mouldy.
The dado rail was thick with dust, it clearly hadn't been cleaned for a good while.
The doors leading to balcony were damp and mucky
The door was generally unclean and in need of some serious attention.
When we complained, we were only offered a bottle of wine (we clearly had our toddler with us so of course we're not going to drink with her in our care) and when pointing this out, we were offered 4 j20.

All that being said, we were happy with the breakfast. We could get a much as we wanted and although I only had fruit, my husband had a full English which he said was spot on.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank victoria e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    428
    382
    283
    367
See reviews for
357
795
33
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Over all a really nice stay, staff helpful, we forgot to book are 6 month old baby in the room and they provided a cot free of charge and bought it to,the room promptly. The view was amazing in room 407 and the room was clean. Was really impressed, the only thing that let are stay down was the food. I would come come back again but would not have the evening meal, we paid 9.95 each and there wasn't much choice and the custard had a think layer over the top where it was left to sitting. Entertainment was as expected for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Pay extra and upgrade to premier for excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My partener took me to llandudno to propose. Its was so romantic he did it on the great orm and we stayed at the grande which was perfect. Our balcony had fantastic views of the beach and sea and all the other hotels. We kept the doors open all night and fell asleep listening to the sea it was perfect. Our room was comfy and clean. The staff where helpful and friendly couldnt ask for a better nights sleep. Breakfast was lovely to all round fab stay and I will be coming again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanya-melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have stayed here numerous times and never been disappointed, when we arrived and went to our room there was a problem with blue bottles we went to reception and were quickly given another room (suite) which was fantastic. The food was lovey entertainment good thanks for another great stay. Looking forward to Motown weekend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beverley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

we have stayed at the grand before and the fact we came back indicates we were happy last time,
however some improvements have been made, a conveyor type toaster is now available for breakfast for fresh toast rather than pre cooked soggy toast, the quality and choice of the food is excellent with a menu to suite all and the breakfast and evening meal buffet is ideal.
the rooms are clean and comfortable although in need of a little updating,
the entertainment is good and bar prices reasonable.
for a budget holiday the grand is excellent value and we reccomend it.

Room Tip: try to get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

dining room desperately needed a run over with a vaccuum! overall enjoyed my stay but the cleanliness and maintenance of the hotel needs some attention to detail. disabled access room was poorly thought out. Overall I did think this was expensive for the quality of the room and food @ more than £400 for 4 nights (single person)

Room Tip: upgrade to premiere rooms if you want a nice outlook from the room and comfortable surroundings. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

For the first time ever i didn't check the reviews as the photos etc., were fine, what a mistake... Leave this for national Holidays & Pontins bookings only.. If you are a private booking then look elsewhere.. Paid £130 for 2 nights B&B which is available at much better hotels in llandudno.. Only have self to blame & never again!!! Yes its a lovely location, yes it was Grand at sometime in its history & I do think the staff try but its no pleasure to stay in the shabby rooms..(woodchip, damp patches, room 401 last weekend, old damp smell, noisy expel air in bathroom etc). Basic food.. canned fruit etc.. Sorry Brittania but you really shouldn't be taking hard working peoples money to stay there.. Must mention that llandudno its self is magical..xx

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrissie1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#52 of 60 in Llandudno
781 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
1,315 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#56 of 60 in Llandudno
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
431 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Property: The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Address: North Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing