We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby from the outside, Shabby on the inside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #58 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last night (Sunday) for one night having needed a hotel at the last minute. I found the Grand on Hotels.com with what seemed to be an excellent rate of £94 reduced to £39 B&B.
Check in was efficient and all the staff I encountered were friendly.
I was in room 323- 3rd floor and there are a couple of litts should you need them.
The room was very small and shabby. Lots of marks on the wallpaper, dust everywhere, burn marks on the bedside lampshade where the bulb must have got too hot and rubbed on the shade (an obvious fire hazzard), filthy window cills and windows so dirty it was almost impossible to see out! In the ensuite the shower casing was poorly put together and had sharp edges and the towel rail was falling off the wall. No bath towels, just 2 hand towels and a couple slightly larger suitable only for someone 3ft tall.
The bed was comfortable enough just pillows very thin. The tv was ancient but worked fine. Tea and coffee was available with old water left in the kettle from the previous guest...no biscuits or water provided so do buy some water as the hotel say the sink water is not consumable and they charge £1.50 for a small bottle in the bar.
Breakfast was edible (thats it) and the staff were friendly. The selection was very limited though.
The location is excellent- right by the Pier and Great Orme and just a short walk from the town (theres an excellent little Italian- La Taverna- just round the corner.
The view from the Quiet Room Terrace is spectacular.
Overall a dissappointing stay at a hotel with a lot of potential. I would not return here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
8  Thank AlexJ262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

949 - 955 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Last minute booking was pleasantly surprised. For under £70 with breakfast had premier room (very clean double with en-suite with both bath and shower) with balcony and view overlooking the sea. Entertainment not my cup of tea, but most guests (mainly over aged 60) enjoyed it. Staff friendly, bar very reasonable and breakfast okay. Gradually doing the place up but has a kind of faded elegance charm. Cannot fault its location. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: Go for a premier room - have very good last minute booking deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gypcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

nice clean room, enjoyed the meals, and entertainment (shame bingo was cancelled)
very helpful, friendly staff - I'm disabled and used a scooter, they really took time to look after me, very much appreciated, thanks.
what a great setting!

Room Tip: we faced the Orme, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sanb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I can imagine this place was once the greatest hotel by the promenade. It's now rotting away without getting the care it desperately needs. Moldy walls and ceiling in the rooms, very rusty balconies, toilet broken in one room, breakfast and dinner not really good, noisy food hall... The waiter was nice enough though.

I wonder what all the elderly people that have been coming here year after year think, when they see their beloved holiday resort in such bad decay... Must be sad. I would love to see this place in its time of greatness, but that time, sadly, has passed.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank KLHyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I bought this short break on a deal from Living social and paid for an upgrade to a sea view room..which was about the best part of the two days I was there with hubby. The room itself was clean but very well worn and in dire need of being refurbed but in fairness the beds were comfortable. I know this a popular hotel for coach trips as there were loads of elderly people there but going for dinner or breakfast and being herded in like cattle and left to get on with it is not my idea of a hotel stay. The food was cheap and mass cooked so I ate very little..even on the first night when again I paid for an upgrade to the premier restaurant the food was overcooked and sub standard..sad to say we ended up eating out. This is a Britannia hotel and some you win some you lose..My stay at the Adelphi in Liverpool was a totally different experience. Also the entertainment at the hotel was poor with the acts having no interest in engaging with the audience or it could be that they had tried before and just gave up :( Just a note if you are looking for nightlife in LLandudno it does not exist they are a resort I think which is targeting the grey pound.

Room Tip: sea view was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventurer0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have just come back from an overnight stay at The Grand Hotel Llandudno and we enjoyed our stay. This was mainly because this hotel enjoys that best location in the whole town: you can forgive the place a lot when you get into your room and you have a panoramic view of the whole promenade. I would recommend that you ask for a room with a view of the sea and you won't be too disappointed. The bed linen was clean and the room fairly tidy and ok. The welcome and reception staff were friendly and helpful.

However, the TV didn't work in our room and there was only one set of towels (we didn't complain about this as we were only there for 1 night). The whole hotel is in need of redecorating, new flooring and general maintenance - ( a constantly flicking light in the corridor by the lift). We did not eat at the hotel apart from breakfast, which is as previous reviews have stated - basic. No fresh fruit and squash instead of orange juice.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rutheneurys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I booked The Grand on the basis of the history and location of the hotel building, but after our recent two night stay I was so disappointed and would not stay here again unless there was vast improvement.
At check in there was no greeting or pleasantries, we were simply handed an envelope and told "This is the hotel information. You're in 220". The room itself was not too bad (though the door didn't fully open because of the bed). However it could have done with some general TLC - like most of the hotel. The bathroom was very dank and dated, with a big sign advising not to drink the water (but no alternative is provided). The beds however were clean and comfortable, and we slept well both nights.
Breakfast is awful. Choice is limited. There is no fresh fruit (everything very obviously comes out of a tin) or fruit juice. The restaurant is crowded and - most bizarre - we discovered that unless you had paid for sea views in your room you weren't allowed to sit by the windows for sea views at breakfast either!!
Our booking was not cheap and frankly I was left feeling more than little ripped off. You get far better at a Travelodge. Furthermore Britannia should be ashamed that they have allowed such a great piece of Llandudno history to fall into such disrepair :(

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JennyM9275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
856 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £35 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing