We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All time low”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #57 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our worst hotel experience ever. Mould on the walls, broken toilet, dirty floors, unappetizing buffet, tasteless food, grumpy staff....and so on. Once - no doubt - a 'grand' hotel, but SO long ago and not any more. Nothing less than sad, and so not worthy this beautiful little town of Llandudno.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Kalhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

990 - 996 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Well this has been my third trip with another twentyeight eager trippers . And once again we stayed at the wonderful old grand hotel . Friends and family say to me "Don't you get fed up going to the same place year after year " well the answer to that is a definate NO .
This hotel stands tall and proud overlooking the entire town. It's wonderful large spacious rooms tower over you when you enter the building , and if you close your eyes and just try and imagine how this hotel must have been when queen victoria reigned this country it takes your breath away , just the thought of the ladies of that time walking ever so slowly down the grand staircases in their ballgowns on their way to the ballroom .
It doesn't need much imagination in this surroundings .Yes this is definitely the place to be if you want a holiday that will stay in your memories for a very long time. The building like so many other hotels in Llandudno has been ravaged by time , but if you keep this in mind before you come here you will enjoy your stay .
If you want a pnice new plastic hotel , don't come here

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just back from Llandudno. When we arrived at the Grand at 7.15pm met a grumpy receptionist, she gave us a sealed envelope, said nothing, we asked what time dinner was served till, she said 7.45pm it was take or leave, we had been travelling all day, went to the 4th floor, and just left our luggage in & went down for dinner which was horrible, steak & kidney stew, fish and salad for premier dining. Only stayed here because other hotels were booked out, checked out after 2 days. The hotel is not on the beach as advertised. The views were lovely. Floors in the hotel creaked, old stained carpets, noisy at night, loud music in the hotel, waiterress were lovely you do feel sorry for them. We ordered wine at the dinner table, to be told it will be 5 pounds when I get back, you couldn't have it charged to the room? No air conditional in the bedrooms, no glasses, no parking, guests smoking at the front door, very old fashioned, must say the beds were good lovely white sheets, but we had no bedside locker, no place in the room I guess. Dont go to this place, book well in advance, The Queens & the Chatsworth or the Somerset is much better. The Grand is over priced it is more like a hostel.

Room Tip: No air condition, no glasses, no bedside lockers, food horrible it was a dogs dinner, breakfast was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maria186635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked this hotel for one night as we were visiting friends near by. We had to park away from the hotel in a pay and display car park. We found the reception desk and were ignored for some time as the person on the reception was on the phone. The keys were handed to us in a sealed envelope which I thought odd.The key did not work in the door so I had to go back down 4 floors to the reception to have a new one cut.On entering the room the main light didn't work ,the handles were missing on the wardrobe and draws ,the T.V. didn't work,the curtains were tied to the rail,the bathroom ceiling tiles were stained and mold was growing around the shower.
The room had not been cleaned for some time as thick deposits of dust were evident on the skirting boards and dirt was on the carpet.
As we were only staying one night we didn't complain , but had the feeling that we would not have had much of a response from any of the staff on reception as they were more interested in reading the papers.
It couldn't get any worse !! But it did !! The so called entertainment kept us from getting any sleep as it vibrated up the walls. People walking on the creaking floor boards in the corridor sounded as if they were entering the room as it had no sound proofing. Breakfast was very poor,the only thing that was edible was the bran flakes.
If this was a back packers hostel for £20 a night then this level of service may have been acceptable.
Please dont stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned from a one night break at The Grand, it was filthy & Over priced. Blood stains, coffee stains and hair in the bed. Staff were unapproachable and miserable. Would not advise taking children here. The only reason we actually stayed the night was because all other hotels were fully booked, i would of happily paid to stay elsewhere it was that bad. We spoke to other guests during our stay and it would appear were weren't the only people to have the opinion of how filthy it was. The room and surrounding front of house areas were that dirty i could not bring myself to eat anything that had been prepared in the building. We payed £120 for ONE night expecting the hotel to match the price we payed. Staff drinking with the guests in the bar which i found extremely unprofessional, staff dressed shoddy, unironed uniforms, shirts untucked. I could go on and on, but my advice is don't stay their. There is some lovely looking local BnBs in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, sea view balcony in the sun all day.

Not much else to recommend it.
Food is abysmal, even on a small budget surely it is possible to do better than this, maybe hire a school cook ?

Rooms and all the public spaces need major renovations.

Staff were good, cheerful if rushed, sheets were nice white cotton. OK, you can see I am trying!

Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank AJreviews2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We made a spur of the moment decision to go to Llandudno, and booked the day before we travelled last Tuesday. We were pleased to have obtained a rate of £59 for B&B and booked for two nights.

When we arrived we were disappointed to have to park the car about 500 metres away from the hotel, and there was no possibility to stop the car outside the hotel to drop of the bags, as there were coaches in the drop off zone.

The main entrance to the hotel looks reasonable but certainly it's not plush, and our first impression was that we had stumbled accidentally into an old folks residential home. The receptionist was jolly and well organised, but clearly he is used to dealing with large numbers of customers quickly, as there was no finesse in his approach. His approach amused us rather than annoyed us, as he did nothing wrong. Both of us imitated his behaviour in private a couple of times during our stay to make us laugh.

On arriving in room 333 our hearts sank. The room urgently needs refurbishing and the bathroom has a cracked sink; and torn wallpaper behind the towel rail and the toilet. I cleaned the shower head before we used the shower, as we were not happy with the state of the shower head.

The furniture in the bedroom is very old indeed, and the television in the room belongs in a museum.

The room was very hot, as we have had some fantastic weather recently. However, we could not open the window more than a couple of inches. When we looked down from the open window we were disgusted to see the rubbish in the well between the two tower blocks. It is not necessary to dump old chairs and rubbish there. The view from our room was the wall of another tower block.

Breakfast was something of a joke. It was like sitting in a huge factory canteen of the type that was prevalent in the 1960s. It was self service. There was no butter in the large metal bowl, where it should have been, and when we asked for more the staff said that it had all gone. We had not realised that the food was on ration.

There was little choice and the Germans sitting next to us, were clearly amused at the "British breakfast". Apart from the cereals the breakfast was nearly all pork fat. The muslims who came into the room behind us quickly left, as there was nothing that I could see for them to eat.

The chef came in to the restaurant and poured a huge bowl of tinned tomatoes into the receptacle in the servery causing the contents to splash over other food. It made my wife comment that the chef probably was more used to serving pigs on the farm than people. This really was appalling behaviour and it typified the standard of service in the restaurant.

This type of low level service and the lack of choice gets the British a bad name. Breakfast does not have to be like this. It should be a delight to have breakfast - and this certainly was no delight.

We only took breakfast on one day preferring to go out and buy a meal in one of the many cafes in town. We enjoyed the breakfast we had in the nearby cafe.

This could be a good hotel and we are sure that once it was grand. Britannia Hotels need to make a major investment to sort out this hotel and to train the staff to a standard where they provide a high level of customer service. Customers deserve more than they get, even if it means increasing the price of the service.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GwynRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
1,303 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
#22 of 59 in Llandudno
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 59 in Llandudno
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 59 in Llandudno
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £30 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing