We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ! Wonderful ! Week-end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #58 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Glossop
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful ! Wonderful ! Week-end”
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Me and my wife stayed here at the Grand this weekend, on D.B&B.
Lovely room with a balcony and stunning Bay-view.
The meals were great --- Buffet style so you picked what you liked and as much as you liked , and the staff were excellent -- nothing was too much trouble for them.
The evening entertainment in the Ballroom was non-stop from 7.30pm til late -- starting with cash bingo - live Dance Band ( the Drummer was absolutely FANTASTIC !!!! ) followed by Cabaret Acts. Then afterwards if you had'nt had enough in the Bar Lounge area there was a keyboard player for Singalongs until the wee small hours.
The only thing I could complain about is --- No Car Park, but just a few yards up the road is a Council run Carpark and at £4 . 10p for 24hours it was'nt a problem.
On departing I booked rooms for next year ( at 12% discount ) for a family - weekend away !!!
So leave your magnifying glasses and microscopes at home ---- and ENJOY ! your holiday.!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlossopDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    447
    410
    298
    391
See reviews for
386
840
36
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Staying here was an extraordinary experience which turned full circle into a comedy.
Had to park nearly a mile away from hotel. In the lobby mistaken by an elderly lady as the bell-boy!
The room was basic and finishes out of the V & A Museum.
Went out for dinner and fancied a nightcap at the bar upon our return. Treated to a 'cabaret' artist who looked like a shrunk Jimmy Tarbuck on speed cracking Crackerjack jokes to a largely unresponsive audience with the punch line accompanied by a jingle on his 1980's synthesiser. The audience had a complete men/women divide and was the most extraordinary thing I have seen in many moons.

Breakfast was an OK affair.

Had to say though that once you treat the hotel for the clientele it so obviously serves, we found it amusing and simply one of those experiences.

If you are a snob or want refinement then this place is not for you.

However, service wasn't rude or nasty it was just basic.

We at least didnt have to put up with any overbearing 'to the manor born' guests.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roamingabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
derby
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2009

No freshly ground coffee.No Earl Grey tea.No brown bread, The carvery /buffet opens at 5,30 pm-we dined at 7.00 pm and in my opinion the vegetables had been on display for that 90 mins. Totally overcooked and terrible..When we were leaving ,carrying our bags downstairs there were 3 staff sitting on the stairs. Not one of them said "good morning "or anything else. Never return ever!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shroshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

My Husband and I decided to take my mother-in-law to the Grand Hotel in Llandudno for the weekend. Chose the Grand because it was so close to the bay and features were sing-along and ball-room entertainment which seemed just up her street being aged 85.
Husband and Mum travelled over in the car ahead of me as I had to work late on the Friday so let the train take the strain.
We had booked two double Superior rooms with sea view as could not have 2 Premier rooms as fully booked. A choice of Superior or Standard so of course chose Superior.
Well,Hubby said when they arrived Reception very charming, helpful and escorted them to lift. Card for both rooms next door to each other. Opened door expecting rather oppulant surroundings as it was classed as superior. Goodness what a joke, As soon as Mum opened the door with her card the first thing she noticed was that between where the door opens and the frame was absolutely filthy and had "never" been cleaned for years. the pokey room was shabby, the one side of the curtain was hanging off the pole. The windows were absolutely filthy. the tiny white wrought iron balcony was scruffy with all the paint peeling off with two dirty white plastic chairs placed there. The double bed looked as though it had been built out of hardwood.. There was only one side cabinet instead of two !! The T.V. remote did not work, the inside of the kettle does not bear talking about. No fridge, No telephone, The ad said room service but you would have to book it at reception the day before. Crazy !
The rooms looked dated, tired, scruffy and in desperate need of refurbishment in a big big way, (The Hotel Inspector would have had a field day).
The bathroom was to laugh at. a tiny box room with no windows, a vile yellow light fitment in the ceiling that cast a dark yellow dreary light in the room. the same for the tiny strip over the mirror. On the ceiling a weird square hole with a grill over it where the wind from outside howled into the bathroom. It looked quite sinister! also a trapdoor in the ceiling which quite unnerved me. What was above that ?? The grouting around the bath was quite dirty, also around some of the tiles.
We decided not to complain because we did not want to spoil the weekend for Mum but we were bitterly disappointed with the standard of cleanliness at this hotel. Outside in the corridor the every floorboard creaked and cups and saucers left on a window ledge from the Friday night were still there Saturday night.
Breakfast was ok. Nice to see hot plates were used.
Dinner was ok. Plain but very tasty.
Staff, Helpful.
Tea must have been something they paid £1 for 3000 tea-bags because it was disgusting, cheap weak nasty ... put 6 teabags into the pot to try and get some colour to the tea but still ended up weak and tasteless. Coffee was no better, tastless !! We ended up buying Latte's from the Coffee Shop all weekend just so that we could enjoy a proper hot drink but oh I missed my cuppa.
Now the view from the rooms and the Hotel.. To die for !! fabulous, fabulous and if it were not for these fantastic views I would have been down at reception and acting like a shrew over the disgusting state of the rooms. Will never go back but really enjoyed Llandudno.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oswestrylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Quite often when one reads these reports, one is at a loss what some people exoect for the money.

Be assured, The Grand Lllandudno gets all the bad reports it deserves.

Bedrooms (Premiere): Cold Dull Miserable!

Food: Edible, Boring, Repetative

General Ambience: Lacking, I thought dull greens were for hospitals.

Service: ?????? What Service.

Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wiganwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

my girlfriend and i loved the plaace, great view, very clean and wine to greet us... we will be back

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james24011988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

So lookiing forward to staying in the "Grand Hotel". Very far from grand! The room was filthy , the food was awful watered down orange juice , dried mashed potato ,stale cornflakes , I could go on but won't ,not a nice hotel and when we complained we were told we got what we paid for!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
#21 of 60 in Llandudno
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Property: The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing