We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK FOR OUR DANCE GROUP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kensington Hotel
Ranked #41 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Was part of a 50 strong dance group who stayed here earlier this year and are returning next year for more dancing with an organised dance holiday break. Many of the review comments are quite true, but when you consider how much we paid for our 4 day half board break we had no real cause for complaint. The meals are not Egon Ronay but then again nobody starved, the hotel has and is still being refurbished and the room we were in was clean and spacious enough.
The fact that at least 25 couples are prepared to return next year suggests that no one was too disappointed. The location is quite good and within easy reach of the main town area, shops, bus and train station. Parking is available at the rear of the hotel but I do agree with one reviewer that it could do with a bit of a tidy up, as could the rear entrance area, hotel management please take note.

Room Tip: Try to ensure you get a sea view room on the first or second floor.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnowland_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for The Kensington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

Great seafront location, good price, breakfast could be bit better but new room was great! Great shower! We stayed 1 night, 2 adults and a toddler, in a new referb room with walk in shower room, can't fault room at all be nice if they update hallways, reception and dining room, few older people there, but it is a seaside tea dance kinda place! We would stay again for a night if we had too.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaylabranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I have just returned from a four-day break at this hotel. Its large car park at the rear is in need of a thorough litter-pick. The rear entrance is a set of double wooden doors with hand-written, mis-spelled notice either side proclaiming "Enterance" approached through the smoking area, which stinks and boasts two flower pots overflowing with fag butts!

Reception is on the next floor up, so as we had luggage, we took the lift. After a trip up to the first floor, despite having pressed "G", we arrived at reception to be greeted by an extremely curt fellow, who frankly couldn't have cared less whether we were staying there or not! He needs a lesson or two in customer relations - unfortunately he also doubles up as drinks waiter to the restaurant and was no more friendly in this capacity.

We arrive by lift on the first floor (via the basement this time) and find our room complete with hand-written paper number on the door! It has obviously recently undergone a refurbishment and looks very appealing - new furniture, soft furnishings and bed linen. However, the overall effect is spoiled by a really tatty, old carpet which is totally mis-matched to the room's colour scheme. The hospitality tray is lacking biscuits and a bit mean on the supplies of tea and coffee. The bathroom is nicely done out in beige wall and floor tiles with white suite.

We stroll down to dinner through the very dingy public lounges - dark brown leather sofas and chairs, dark mushroom walls and black patterned carpets don't help! In other public areas there are other colours of old, tatty and highly-patterned carpets which look in need of a good clean - or better still, replacement.The dinner menu is short - a roast, another meat dish, a pasta dish or salad. This was the case every night - so boring! The food was absolutely terrible! I defy anyone to enjoy this mass-produced, poor quality rubbish. The meats were overcooked and smothered in glutinous jelly which was described as gravy, and the vegetables, which were served separately, were similarly overcooked and flavourless. Starters and puddings were OK, but exceedingly unimaginative. Dinner was only available between 18.30 and 19.30 - ridiculous!

Arriving for breakfast (only available between 08.30 and 09.30), we were apprehensive - and rightly so after the first night's dinner fiasco. The help-yourself buffet was disappointing. Only orange juice of the UHT variety is offered. There were always about six fresh half-grapefruits and a similar number of bananas and tangerines together with cereals and a choice of thick-cut white or brown bread to make your own toast. Butter, jam and marmalade were provided on the tables in pre-packs, which were presented on a sideplate, having been rationed to two per person!

The full Welsh breakfast arrived - nicely presented on the plate, but the fried bread was soggy and the eggs were hard. Despite sending them back and asking for them to be cooked soft (i.e. runny yolk and set white) the chef seemed only to do eggs hard. The exception to this was when one of our party asked for a soft-boiled egg, which having returned it once because it was hard-boiled, came back virtually uncooked!

The saving grace of this exceedingly poor, dowdy restaurant was it's staff. With one exception - an extremely vivacious and bubbly young lady who I guess is from Liverpool from her accent - the staff were all either Polish or Eastern European. They all worked like Trojans and were very obliging - nothing was too much trouble and they smiled constantly. Unfortunately, they alone are not sufficient to save this ailing hotel from eventual extinction!

Room Tip: The re-furbished sea-facing rooms are of a high standard.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I have just visited this hotel and was impressed, The staff were friendly and the food was good I would return. The room was clean and had been refurbished to a good standard. The location was in a good place and was close to shops etc. I~ did read other reviews, and on some I was not sure that they stayed in the same hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I stayed for a weekend at this hotel . Price did not meet my expectations , the food was well below top , my room was well cleaned . The staff was very polite except for the hotel manager . I did not expect that such a hotel will have so incompetent manager .I will not visit this hotel again and I will not recommend it to my friends.
My recommendations to Kensington hotel are to train very well the manager and to improve the quality of food.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Erika593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I agree with a previous reviewer that the location and parking availability are this hotel's saving grace. There has been what appears to be a poor attempt at refurbishing rooms, and the communal areas sported odd pieces of bric a brac that looked as if they came from a charity shop. Beds were atrocious, felt as if I we were sleeping on a board. We had twin room at the front and a huge double glazed window opened in, this appears to be an accident waiting to happen. The outside of the window could have easily been cleaned but was really dirty. Full Welsh breakfast very poor quality and not very hot, there was a fairly decent choice of cereal but the choice of bread came down to large sliced brown or white!! We did not have an evening meal so unable to comment on the quality of that. We found waiting on staff at breakfast very friendly and accommodating. Front desk staff also ok. As with a previous reviewer I also consider that meal times were regimented and ludicrous. Only 1 hr allocated for breakfast 8.30am to 9.30am and dinner served at 6.30pm. Booking in time of 3.00pm I do not feel is acceptable even though we were offered the opportunity to leave the car in the car park if we arrived prior to this time. The room offered very little in the way of storage, no wardrobe just an open fronted hanging space, and very little drawer space.Bathroom was clean and adequate, bath & shower were ok. Hospitality tray was very sparse with only 2 sachets of coffee, 4 teabags and milk, no hot chocolate, no cream, no biscuits! I compared this with lots of other hotels we have stayed in, some costing less and some only a little more and found this hotel sadly lacking. I would say it was way overpriced. Perhaps we were paying for the "entertainment" which we had no interest in whatsoever. Would definitely not return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welltravelled013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Just come back from a 3 night stay and apart from the location and parking facilities would not choose to stay here again. A very dated establishment, with a foisty smell, apart from bedroom, and even in there we couldn't open the windows!!!! Reception give a Very poor greeting upon arrival and during whole of stay, costs nothing to smile! Breakfast poor quality food and times for evening meal are ridiculous. Unable to get afternoon tea or snacks. Once fully modernised and with some serious staff trsining could be a gem.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snailers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#40 of 60 in Llandudno
463 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,250 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#44 of 60 in Llandudno
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Address: 6-8 Nevill Crescent | Central Promanade, Llandudno LL30 1AT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £67 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kensington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Llandudno Hotel is a traditional, family-run hotel, which is located in a prime location, on the central promenade in the heart of Llandudno's magnificent north shore. Run by the Beardmore family for over the past 20 years, the hotel is well-known for its warm, friendly, personal service. The hotel has 50 en-suite bedrooms, with tasteful, traditional decor. Every room is well-equipped with TV, tea & coffee making facilities to give a feeling of comfort and homeliness. Premier rooms enjoy magnificent sea views of Llandudno's north bay. From private guests to group parties, the hotel is suitable for every kind of visitor to Llandudno, Snowdonia and other North Wales destinations. The Kensington Hotel is less than a minute walk to the Venue Cymru which makes it an ideal base for delegates attending a conference as well as people attending a musical concert or theatre show.The hotel's location provides convenient access to all of Llandudno's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel Llandudno
The Kensington Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing