We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kensington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kensington Hotel
Ranked #42 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We last visited this hotel some two years ago with a group, and was generally satisfied. Refurbishing work has since been carried out at the Hotel. Our latest visit was for a short mid week break and we wanted a sea view room, with a bay window in order to sit and watch the world go by.The Hotel Receptionist did everything to obtain our request and also arranged our meal requirements including a choice of dining table,nothing was too much trouble.The room was excellent, clean and comfortable, maybe the absence of separate bed lights was a minor fault.The food was good and again excellent service made the break very enjoyable. The location of the Hotel to shops is good, and there is no problem with Hotel parking..

Room Tip: Book direct with Hotel to discuss your requirement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    97
    35
    18
    18
See reviews for
27
112
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed for 3 days with my wife and friends and found everything wonderful.Service from Veronica andAleana? absolutely outstanding both girls great credit to hotel.Food excelleny.Already booked for March2013

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidmbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
885 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Was part of a 50 strong dance group who stayed here earlier this year and are returning next year for more dancing with an organised dance holiday break. Many of the review comments are quite true, but when you consider how much we paid for our 4 day half board break we had no real cause for complaint. The meals are not Egon Ronay but then again nobody starved, the hotel has and is still being refurbished and the room we were in was clean and spacious enough.
The fact that at least 25 couples are prepared to return next year suggests that no one was too disappointed. The location is quite good and within easy reach of the main town area, shops, bus and train station. Parking is available at the rear of the hotel but I do agree with one reviewer that it could do with a bit of a tidy up, as could the rear entrance area, hotel management please take note.

Room Tip: Try to ensure you get a sea view room on the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnowland_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Great seafront location, good price, breakfast could be bit better but new room was great! Great shower! We stayed 1 night, 2 adults and a toddler, in a new referb room with walk in shower room, can't fault room at all be nice if they update hallways, reception and dining room, few older people there, but it is a seaside tea dance kinda place! We would stay again for a night if we had too.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylabranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I have just returned from a four-day break at this hotel. Its large car park at the rear is in need of a thorough litter-pick. The rear entrance is a set of double wooden doors with hand-written, mis-spelled notice either side proclaiming "Enterance" approached through the smoking area, which stinks and boasts two flower pots overflowing with fag butts!

Reception is on the next floor up, so as we had luggage, we took the lift. After a trip up to the first floor, despite having pressed "G", we arrived at reception to be greeted by an extremely curt fellow, who frankly couldn't have cared less whether we were staying there or not! He needs a lesson or two in customer relations - unfortunately he also doubles up as drinks waiter to the restaurant and was no more friendly in this capacity.

We arrive by lift on the first floor (via the basement this time) and find our room complete with hand-written paper number on the door! It has obviously recently undergone a refurbishment and looks very appealing - new furniture, soft furnishings and bed linen. However, the overall effect is spoiled by a really tatty, old carpet which is totally mis-matched to the room's colour scheme. The hospitality tray is lacking biscuits and a bit mean on the supplies of tea and coffee. The bathroom is nicely done out in beige wall and floor tiles with white suite.

We stroll down to dinner through the very dingy public lounges - dark brown leather sofas and chairs, dark mushroom walls and black patterned carpets don't help! In other public areas there are other colours of old, tatty and highly-patterned carpets which look in need of a good clean - or better still, replacement.The dinner menu is short - a roast, another meat dish, a pasta dish or salad. This was the case every night - so boring! The food was absolutely terrible! I defy anyone to enjoy this mass-produced, poor quality rubbish. The meats were overcooked and smothered in glutinous jelly which was described as gravy, and the vegetables, which were served separately, were similarly overcooked and flavourless. Starters and puddings were OK, but exceedingly unimaginative. Dinner was only available between 18.30 and 19.30 - ridiculous!

Arriving for breakfast (only available between 08.30 and 09.30), we were apprehensive - and rightly so after the first night's dinner fiasco. The help-yourself buffet was disappointing. Only orange juice of the UHT variety is offered. There were always about six fresh half-grapefruits and a similar number of bananas and tangerines together with cereals and a choice of thick-cut white or brown bread to make your own toast. Butter, jam and marmalade were provided on the tables in pre-packs, which were presented on a sideplate, having been rationed to two per person!

The full Welsh breakfast arrived - nicely presented on the plate, but the fried bread was soggy and the eggs were hard. Despite sending them back and asking for them to be cooked soft (i.e. runny yolk and set white) the chef seemed only to do eggs hard. The exception to this was when one of our party asked for a soft-boiled egg, which having returned it once because it was hard-boiled, came back virtually uncooked!

The saving grace of this exceedingly poor, dowdy restaurant was it's staff. With one exception - an extremely vivacious and bubbly young lady who I guess is from Liverpool from her accent - the staff were all either Polish or Eastern European. They all worked like Trojans and were very obliging - nothing was too much trouble and they smiled constantly. Unfortunately, they alone are not sufficient to save this ailing hotel from eventual extinction!

Room Tip: The re-furbished sea-facing rooms are of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
harold wood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

I have just visited this hotel and was impressed, The staff were friendly and the food was good I would return. The room was clean and had been refurbished to a good standard. The location was in a good place and was close to shops etc. I~ did read other reviews, and on some I was not sure that they stayed in the same hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

I stayed for a weekend at this hotel . Price did not meet my expectations , the food was well below top , my room was well cleaned . The staff was very polite except for the hotel manager . I did not expect that such a hotel will have so incompetent manager .I will not visit this hotel again and I will not recommend it to my friends.
My recommendations to Kensington hotel are to train very well the manager and to improve the quality of food.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#22 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hydro Hotel
Hydro Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shelbourne Hotel
Shelbourne Hotel
#47 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Hotel

Property: Kensington Hotel
Address: 6-8 Nevill Crescent | Central Promanade, Llandudno LL30 1AT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kensington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Llandudno Hotel is a traditional, family-run hotel, which is located in a prime location, on the central promenade in the heart of Llandudno's magnificent north shore. Run by the Beardmore family for over the past 20 years, the hotel is well-known for its warm, friendly, personal service. The hotel has 50 en-suite bedrooms, with tasteful, traditional decor. Every room is well-equipped with TV, tea & coffee making facilities to give a feeling of comfort and homeliness. Premier rooms enjoy magnificent sea views of Llandudno's north bay. From private guests to group parties, the hotel is suitable for every kind of visitor to Llandudno, Snowdonia and other North Wales destinations. The Kensington Hotel is less than a minute walk to the Venue Cymru which makes it an ideal base for delegates attending a conference as well as people attending a musical concert or theatre show.The hotel's location provides convenient access to all of Llandudno's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing