We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wanderers Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kensington Hotel
Ranked #42 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 9 June 2013

As usual we made a last minute decision to head off to North Wales for some good Welsh sea air when the weather was set fair for the week. We headed firstly to Bodnant Garden - see our separate review, and then into Llandudno which was really busy. We stayed at The Kensington last year and because of its excellent car park opted to try to get a room there again. We were met by the lovely Sam who was, as always friendly, helpful and efficient and found us a double room on the first floor, sea view. The position of this hotel is unrivalled - don't expect the same luxury as The Imperial or the St Georges, but then you are not paying the same price. The room is adequate, as is the bathroom and the shower works - not always the case even in "posh" hotels. We stayed 2 nights B & B, the breakfast is basic, the service good, but the toaster in the smaller area needs replacing! - it was however quite amusing to watch other guests trying to get their toast! This is essentially a "coach party" hotel, entertainment was provided and I'm sure many people do return year on year, that is how hotels like The Kensington survive and long may they do so.

Room Tip: Try to get a 1st floor sea view room near the lift
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wanderers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for The Kensington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over the May Bank Holiday. We arrived late on the Friday evening and was quickly given our key to our room that was spotlessly clean and was lovely and warm after coming in from the fairly cold and miserable evening weather. The room was a back room which actually looked over a black roof but it was cosy and we not once experienced any noise so slept well. The bed was comfortable and there were two lovely plumped up pillows. The room itself was an acceptable size but we did find the en-suite a bit small (it was very narrow and not much room between the wall and the sink). Although the en-suite was small it was not really a problem as it lovely (new and modern.) The only thing we would comment on is that the towels were not changed the whole of our stay (even though we threw them on the floor) and we did not find the cleaning lady very friendly.

The breakfast room was spotless, the service was good and all the staff were very friendly and worked so very hard to keep everyone happy. Breakfast consisted of cereals, porridge, toast and there was some fresh pineapple. The full Welsh breakfast was delicious and included bacon, eggs, sausage, mushroom, tomatoes, fried bread. No yogurts, selection of fruit or croissants but this did not matter as what was on offer was good.

Hardly anyone in the bar in the evening so lacked atmosphere but this may have been the time of year. We did not have the evening meal as it was a bit early for us but I would imagine by the menu it was worth the £15 a head. The restaurant had a wonderful full sea view and the hotel was on the sea front and central to amenities.

Would we go to this hotel again? Yes we would, we throughly enjoyed it and it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyhowieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The plus point of this hotel is the large car park. Other than that, it is pretty average! We were on the third floor and the room was quite small but it was clean and adequate if you don't plan on spending long in there. The location of the hotel is good, on the sea front and just a short walk to shops etc. Breakfast was ok. There was a small buffet of cereals with porridge and you had to make your own toast. You could then choose a full cooked breakfast or poached, boiled or scrambled eggs or kippers. Service was very good and all the staff were very pleasant. If I was to nit pick, the carpet in the room let it down and the dirty windows and I think it is a bit pricey for what you get. On the whole though, it was a reasonable place to stay and no real cause for complaint.

Room Tip: First or second floor rooms are probably better than the third floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50Cas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at the Kensington over the May Bank Holiday. Could not fault anything! Staff were superb - friendly and always at hand to help with any enquiries. Location of the hotel is perfect and has a large car park which is a bonus. Breakfast was tasty and enjoyable. There is an option for Evening Meal - three-course at £15 pp - which we feel is good value for money. We did not take advantage of this over the weekend as we were meeting up with family members - but we certainly will next time we come to the Kensington - we won't bother looking at the other hotels - the Kensington has everything we look for!! A big thank you from the Evans family!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clicatwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We parked our car in the large car park behind the hotel then took the lift to what is the ground floor at the front of the hotel. No one was at the check in desk when we arrived, which we thought was odd, but we later realised that the same three staff who worked in the dining room and the bar also did duty as receptionists. The manager was in the office taking a phone call, but later came out and gave us cards to fill in. We decided to go into the town and by the time we returned the key to our room was ready. We had a sea view room on the second floor. The room and bathroom were very nicely decorated and there was a walk in shower. Although the room had a sea view you had to stand at the window to see it as the window isn't large, but it made the room nice and light. There was very little storage for clothes - 3 small drawers between the beds and one on the side near the window. The wardrobe is more of an alcove with a shelf above. Not enough hanging space for long dresses, you would need to bring an overdoor hanger.
The lift is slow as others have said, but it beats carrying your case upstairs.
Breakfast was the usual choices - including kippers, cooked to order. There were halves of grapefruit, which I had. I enjoyed the grapefruit, but it would have been better had it been prepared with a grapefruit knife to loosen the flesh. I found it easiest to dig out the flesh with my teaspoon. There was only orange juice set out. There was a toaster to make your own toast.

You ordered your main evening meal at breakfast - quite sensible as it must cut down waste.
If you order melon, be prepared for it to come quite liberally dusted with icing sugar - not necessary really. Our party enjoyed the meals. I found them not quite as diet friendly as I would have liked, but as everyone else was happy, I am in the minority.

The hotel has a lovely ballroom overlooking the car park and two lounges at the front of the hotel overlooking the prom. It was very quiet while we were there, only a few other guests besides our party of dancers, so I can't comment on how it would be in high season.

We would all stay again, so that is a recommendation in itself.The three foreign staff being waiters/bar staff/receptionists were friendly and cheerful and a great asset to the hotel. Their english was good too.

There is a big shopping centre behind the hotel with Boots, Debenhams Monsoon etc. this can be accessed from behind the coach park and through a pathway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunseeker7Chadderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We recently stayed at the Kensington & arrived when they were trying out a new receptionist, when she found a member of staff to help her we were checked in quite quickly, given our key & asked if we were settling the bill then. It does say this in their literature, but I think this is a bit odd to pay for something that you haven't yet had!

We were shown where the dining room was for breakfast & asked if would we like to eat there that night, we weren't sure so they let us take a menu away & we could let them know later, but they had to know by 5pm as dinner was served at 6pm & only one sitting. It was a 3 course meal for £15.

We went to our room, went in the lift but it took so long to go up 3 floors we never used it again! The room was clean & tidy & nicely presented. The only down side was that there wasn't enough drawer space. There were small drawers in the bedside cabinets, but there wasn't a chest of drawers, plenty of coat hangers though. The bathroom was quite narrow, but adequate for our needs. The only down side here was that the shower cubicle only had half a glass screen & therefore when you had a shower, the water did splash out onto the wall & floor & did soak the floor towel. The other thing that was a bit annoying, was that there wasn't a soap tray or little shelf in the shower cubicle, so everything had to be perched on the edge of the shower tray.

We also noticed that some rooms have handles where you swipe a card & others were still a key. Be careful with the key ones, as if you close the door behind you, it doesn't automatically lock & can be opened from outside. There is a little button on the inside handle & so if you press this in before you leave, this then locks it.

We decided to stay for the evening meal & there was about 3-4 choices for each course, nothing too fancy but very reasonable & filling. There was a roast dish each night, together with a vegetarian course. Your room number is put on your table for breakfast & evening meal, if you have one & so you sit at the same table every day. The staff where very nice & friendly & very happy to help if you needed anything. Breakfast is help yourself to cereal & toast & fruit juice, although I only every saw orange juice & only ever saw fresh bananas. The usual problems were found with the toasters, as I find where ever I go, there is a rotary one where you send it through & it only toasts one side, so you send it back through & it burns the other side!! You then have the choice of a full cooked breakfast, eggs on toast in various ways i.e. scrambled, poached etc, kippers or beans on toast. Whilst we were there for our first breakfast the waitress came round with a clip board & asked what we would like for our main course at our evening meal!! We weren't sure if we were eating in that night, so said we would get back to her!

There is a lounge area that you can sit in if you don't want to go out or sit in your room, this has a flat screen telly, so you can watch this if you want. There is also a seating area by reception that again, you can sit there quietly if you want to read or use the computer. There is a little bar area, again with a flat screen telly in with a ballroom next to it.

This hotel is ideal for a relaxing break at Llandudno, you are right on the prom & can sit & watch the world go by if you wish. It is within walking distance of all the shops & there is a reasonable sized car park at the back. The staff are all very friendly & happy to help.

The only thing the hotel says about itself in their welcome manual is that none of the rooms or bathrooms have been adapted for disabled guests & there are a few steps at the front but no ramp.

I would definitely recommend this hotel & would definitely go there again if returning to Llandudno.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaltaGirl2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Hotel is right on the seaside. If the windows would be cleaned more often you can have a stunning view. You can use one of the many towels though and clean the window yourself to gain the super view :) Room isn't big, but functional, available desk is not really for business traveler, but still good enough. Rooms and bathroom very clean. Breakfast was a bit on not convincing. The corridor area etc. is really dated and it take you literally 2:30min to get to the second floor with the elevator (though a good reason to take the stairs and explore the hotel so to speak. Staff very polity and helpful. Internet access (free) not bad. All together for what you pay and what you get a good value. Would be even better if the windows would be cleaned once in a while, though I understand it is difficult being right by the sea to keep the windows clean all of the time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreakWentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
463 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#44 of 60 in Llandudno
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Address: 6-8 Nevill Crescent | Central Promanade, Llandudno LL30 1AT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £66 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kensington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Llandudno Hotel is a traditional, family-run hotel, which is located in a prime location, on the central promenade in the heart of Llandudno's magnificent north shore. Run by the Beardmore family for over the past 20 years, the hotel is well-known for its warm, friendly, personal service. The hotel has 50 en-suite bedrooms, with tasteful, traditional decor. Every room is well-equipped with TV, tea & coffee making facilities to give a feeling of comfort and homeliness. Premier rooms enjoy magnificent sea views of Llandudno's north bay. From private guests to group parties, the hotel is suitable for every kind of visitor to Llandudno, Snowdonia and other North Wales destinations. The Kensington Hotel is less than a minute walk to the Venue Cymru which makes it an ideal base for delegates attending a conference as well as people attending a musical concert or theatre show.The hotel's location provides convenient access to all of Llandudno's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel Llandudno
The Kensington Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing