We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kensington Hotel
Ranked #42 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 19 June 2007

We have stayed there many times, last occasion was May Bank Holiday and as always found the hotel to be brilliant. We have stayed in many rooms but the first floor front rooms are the best and we can't think of anything to complain about. Superb location and food plus the added bonus of having its own car park - which is unique to find anywhere in Llandudno!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs_A_Y_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2007

Very Dissapointed!

Hotel needs serious updating, room very dusty and not up to a high standard, even lampshades were missing!! not in the best of state.
Very rude and unhelpful manageress, visitors book had similar comments, should not be dealing with the public.

bird excrement was on the bedroom wall by the window and also on the carpet, obviously been there a while.

Mould around the shower (shower very old and not much water came out), bed sheets were stained, bed springs coming through! Towels were not replaced when told if you would like new ones place in sink, I did this only to find the dirty towels had been hung back on the towel rail, Not very Hygenic!

Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveller551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2006

last minute reduced rate arranged thought the internet,
Cant complain real not bad for the price we paid
Qutie enjoyed the place. If you pick and choose how you use the hotel i am sur anyone would enjoy

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldgreywolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2006

We have just returned from the weekend from hell....

We booked into the Kensignton hotel a little early on Saturday afternoon to be met by a miserable useless receptionist. Upon arrival into our room it was clear to see that it hadn't been decorated for at least 25 years (no exageration!)

After dumping our bags we noticed and in need of a refreshing shower we noticed the following things:

1. The shower head could not be fixed properly to the wall.
2. There were blood stains ALL over the duvet cover.
3. There were also tea stains all over the duvet cover
4. There was a USED sanitary towel in the top draw of the unit and stains all over the walls and carpets with chaire

After finding that I was not a happy bunny.....

I went down to see the manager and was told by the receptionist that I'd just missed her but it would be possible to be moved.

I accepted this but found that the new room was even worse.

When I saw the manager who was exceptionally rude and unhelpful...

I was offered a bottle of wine i quickly refused this and decided to leave the hotel too which i was told i was expected to pay £25 for dinner.

It is the worst hotel i have ever had the misfortune to stay in.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank vicky54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington_Hotel, Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2006

We state on all of our correspondence that rooms will not be serviced and ready for occupation until after 3pm. Anybody arriving at the hotel before this time runs the risk of the room not having been serviced. If this is the case an alternative room may be offered if available.

Upon making a reservation a non-refundable deposit is required, and this will not be returned.

In this instance the guests were offered a choice of alternative rooms by Reception and then offered a complimentary bottle of wine for their inconvenience, which is not hotel policy.

If any guest chooses not to stay, after they have eaten, the meal does of course have to be paid for as in any restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
manchester
14
Reviewed 10 April 2006

room not in best state of repair ie bathroom door would not close,very noisy at 2am due to 200 partygoers in basement located next to the room.
not all the food on the menu was available.the staff were very nice and worked hard.basically an old fashioned hotel in terms of decor and furniture.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington_Hotel, Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2006

The Kensington Hotel is a traditional Victorian building situated in a glorious position on the main promenade of the traditional Victorian town of Llandudno. All rooms are decorated sympathetically to adhere to the inkeeping of the building.

The hotel has fifty bedrooms and to maintain each one to 100% is nigh on impossible, however any fault reported to Reception is dealt with that same day.

We regularly cater for functions and events and do our utmost not to let these events interrupt our guests stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: de kamer beneden ligt onder straatniveau en baadt in het licht van de gevelverlichting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reismeis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank newty29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#45 of 60 in Llandudno
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Address: 6-8 Nevill Crescent | Central Promanade, Llandudno LL30 1AT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £64 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kensington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Llandudno Hotel is a traditional, family-run hotel, which is located in a prime location, on the central promenade in the heart of Llandudno's magnificent north shore. Run by the Beardmore family for over the past 20 years, the hotel is well-known for its warm, friendly, personal service. The hotel has 50 en-suite bedrooms, with tasteful, traditional decor. Every room is well-equipped with TV, tea & coffee making facilities to give a feeling of comfort and homeliness. Premier rooms enjoy magnificent sea views of Llandudno's north bay. From private guests to group parties, the hotel is suitable for every kind of visitor to Llandudno, Snowdonia and other North Wales destinations. The Kensington Hotel is less than a minute walk to the Venue Cymru which makes it an ideal base for delegates attending a conference as well as people attending a musical concert or theatre show.The hotel's location provides convenient access to all of Llandudno's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel Llandudno
The Kensington Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing