We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking Hotel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #40 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shocking Hotel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I took advantage on a Groupon deal a few weeks ago to stay at this hotel, I wished I hadn't bothered. This hotel is supposedly rated 3 star, whoever has rated it must of been blind, I don't think is possible to rate this hotel.
Upon arrival the exterior of the hotel is very drab. Venturing into the hotel it's clearly visible that it's well overdue a makeover, not only that the hotel had a musty old smell to it which wasn't nice at all. Going up to the room and after looking closely there were hairs in the bottom of the shower, black mould around the grouting, again an old unpleasant smell along with drab outdate decoration, bedding which didn't look clean and which was well worn, the mattress was old and shabby which probably had bed lice in it and the chair in room had dark stain's on it, need I say more.
I know that it was a cheap deal on the internet but you would still think that there would be a good standard of cleanliness there, but there wasn't. After seeing the bedroom that did it for me I went straight to reception to complain, I was offered a full refund and left the hotel, I must of only been in there 20 minutes.
Be warned people I wouldn't even let my dog stay at this hotel, so think twice before booking and read previous reviews on here.

Room Tip: Don't bother find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HotelSniper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    245
    186
    82
    124
See reviews for
121
436
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.firstly my boyfriend and I booked a double room and had two single beds I went to complain and receptionist said there was nothing they could do about it as had no more doubles available.secondly we upgraded to a spa room with "whirlpool" and a bottle of champagne..the "whirlpool" was simply a tiny bath with a few jets (the website indicated more of a jacuzzi type spa upgrade) in a grotty bathroom! When booking and asking for champagne which was an additional 30 odd pounds I had asked if it was Moët and they said yes however on arrival it was Brut!and reception denied saying it would be Moët and that they don't stock it and once again said there was nothing they could do about it!we also had pre paid for a 3course dinner at £16.50 each. there was only the option of 3 main courses and all courses were brought out within 1minute of ordering and were disgraceful! The restaurant is also only open for an hour between half 6 and half 7 which we weren't made aware of when booking. The room itself is old and dusty and smelt stale on arrival. Do not visit this hotel unless you are over 70

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jaysey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We visited Llandudno mid feb as part of the groupon deal, arrived and parked in the street for small fee. Staff very welcoming on arrival, we're given keys to our room, room 120 was quite frankly horrible, very shabby, double bed was small and like sleeping on a rock, we both woke up aching each morning. Bathroom was dirty, we had to go and buy flash wipes and clean it ourselves, you should have seen the dirt that came off. Maybe we had a bad room because we were on a cheap deal, I don't know, maybe there are better rooms. Tv was freeview so had a good variety of channels.

Location of hotel was great. Breakfast was average, although each morning we had to ask for the items that the waitresses had forgotten!! I was impressed however that they had vegetarian sausages, many hotels don't give this option.

Husband went to bar one night for drinks and you could only pay cash, and couldn't open a tab which we found strange, so we went out instead for drinks. Didn't eat in the resturant we prefer to venture out.

Overall I would say it was what we expected for what we paid but certain things like cleanliness should go without saying. Could do with a complete makeover especially the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chloeanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The hotel was awful. We checked out after just 10 minutes (and checked into the St Georges Hotel across the road - that I would recommend). Our room was decorated from the 70's with a 2" gap under the door for noise and cold draft to pass freely. The bed was so uncomfortable. We had a fire exit in the room that led out to a moldy garage roof that could double as the worst balcony in the world. We asked for an alternative room which we were told was not possible as it was fully booked. Really? Middle of winter... there were only a handful of other couples moping about and they looked depressed (they'd obviously already spent the night in this 'hotel').
I really wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Save money and time. Don't even consider it. Better option - treat yourself and stay in the St Georges Hotel or alternatively sleep in your car.

Room Tip: Rooms in a different hotel would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Seats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel was fine for the price being just an average seaside hotel.
The food however was terrible. The 3 course evening meal was totally overpriced at £12.50, was poorly presented, was totally tasteless, with the only saving grace being the inadequate portions.
Breakfast was another problem. I have a very dry mouth and need soft food. I asked for very soft boiled eggs done for no more than 3 minutes. If they are hard i can't eat them.It is really very simple. The first morning they had to go back as they were solid. The second morning I gave up and just left them. The real problem lies with the staff as their understanding of English is very limited and any request out of the ordinary just does not get correctly understood. The staff were pleasant but in the event useless.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard.pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Ambassador between 10-12th February 2012. The staff are very friendly and the hotel is in a lovely position. It is spotlessly clean.
There wasn't a lot of choice on the evening menu but what we had was well presented and tasted lovely. The breakfast menu was very good with lots of choice, it was presented well and tasted wonderful with as much tea or coffee as you wanted.
Our room was of a decent size and very clean. However, we did feel it was a little tired, especially the bathroom. We had paid a little extra for a side sea view room and it was in a good position.
When we arrived we took our bags up to the room in the lift but this was an experience never to be repeated. The lift was very small and a bit rickety and even my husband (who does not suffer in confined spaces like myself) did not enjoy the experience.
We would like to say we did have a lovely weekend and the staff are lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanY-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Where to start with this review. I suppose I should start with something positive, the rooms are very clean...that's it really. The rooms obviously haven't been decorated or redecorated since the 1970's. In our room (307) the border on the wall doesn't even completely make its way around the room, and just when you think I'm being picky it stops in the middle of the wall not even in a corner! The bathroom was clean but the shower assembly was loose and not secure. The worst part had to be the restaurant experience. We were seated at next to another couple and we were so close to them we could smell their food! The waitresses although tried to be nice and polite were unable to do so due to the fact that as soon as we were sat down we were asked to order. When we asked for some wine the waitress highlighted to the dining room that we were on a pre-booked deal. When we tried to order our starters and mains we were told...."starters only!" quite abruptly. The starters arrived 60 seconds after we ordered them and within 3 minutes we were asked if we were finished. When they took the plates away we were allowed to order our mains...which arrived less than 60 seconds later......and yes the food definitely tasted and looked like it was under a heat lamp for quite a while. The service was supposed to be silver service but we were asked to remove the restaurant's things from the table so that the waitress could place the food on our table....very professional!! At that point we asked for a knife as there wasn't one on the table an we were given an evil stare from the waitress. Suffice to say that it continued like this until we left the restaurant...25 minutes after we were seated. And incase you're thinking we attended the restaurant late...we really didn't, we got there at 7pm and they started serving at 6.30. Also if you like a choice of time to eat your dinner, be prepared as they only serve from 6.30-7.30. I would NEVER stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 59 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#35 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing