We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Reason We Came Back!!”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Reason We Came Back!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We had never been to Llandudno before, but myself and my partner had recently lost our little boy and wanted to go somewhere where nobody would ask us any questions, or know of our heartache. we decided on Llandudno and started the search for a good hotel. I have a habit of book first, read reviews later. Now we are a young couple, at the time I was 22 my partner 24, so we generally are assumed to want all the high quality things. To be honest, we're more of an old couple, our attitude is that you go to a place to visit, and a hotel to sleep, so long as you have a bed, why moan? I booked this hotel and then sat and read the reviews, we were a little nervous but thought what the hey?
Upon arriving, we were allowed to check in early, which we thought was very nice. The guy in reception was absolutely lovely and we saw him a few times afterwards. Our room was perfectly adequate, it was spacious and clean, and had a lovely sea view. All in all, we were wondering what was wrong. The tea and coffee supplies were quite brilliant, infact, spawning my love now for Assam teabags-I'd never tried them before and we had two of those and one english teabag left one night, it was a gorgeous tea that I would never have known about. The breakfast was fantastic, well cooked and it didn't take all that long to arrive. We ate out on the first night, but on the second night we decided we'd try the hotel's own restaraunt. We both went for the lamb-in wales, try lamb- it makes sense! To this day, we still rave about it, it was the most succulent most tender, most amazing piece of meat we had ever tried. The waiter was foreign and bless him he struggled a bit to understand us, but all of the staff were lovely. We then figured we should try the bar, at 10pm I was sat with a hot chocolate and a biscotti whilst my partner downed a cold pint, the woman who served us was again lovely. We ended up winning some money off a fruit machine and stayed an extra night and upgraded to a room with a spa bath for our last night. All of this should have a bigger reflection given that we went in January, instead of peak season. We have since been back once and are going back again in a few weeks time. Although we haven't since stayed here, it's simply been because it's fully booked. To me, that shows how good it is. Do not write off this hotel, it is far better than some nitpicky people will have you believe!

Room Tip: Seaview spa rooms, well worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    276
    207
    92
    137
See reviews for
138
500
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

OK so it was very cheap using Groupon vouchers for 2 days and the wife found it quaint and enjoyed it. That's important at our age! Very faded grandeur, rather threadbare and we got the impression they were filling in for the off peak period. Don't fancy it on peak. Maybe older people us like it and the location is great, being on the promenade. Worn out room and bedding but clean. Bathroom was ancient but working (mostly). Big noise about 11pm overhead like someone doing DIY. So many different receptionists, trying to be helpful but not really in control. Tight parking at rear of hotel a shambles because of padlock system and cars in the wrong place. We coped OK and enjoyed an evening meal and afternoon tea in the price. The lifts need a mention, not for the claustrophobic. The hotel is a combination of a least 3 smaller ones joined together over the years. It really does feel like Fawlty Towers.

Room Tip: Face the sea or road but probably not the inner courtyard / car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BhuddaBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I recently took my Mother to this hotel on a three day break for her 87 th birthday. The hotel was clean and tidy and although my Mothers room was small, both rooms were very well presented. We couldn't have been closer to the sea, and my room had a jacuzzi bath and was enormous! it was rather cold in the rooms, but we were given heaters immediately on mentioning this to the reception staff, which warmed the rooms immediately. We spent all our break in the hotel, as the wind was too strong for my Mum to go out, and every one of the staff we dealt with we're courteous and very kind to Mum.

I had read some bad reports before going and was a little worried, but I have to say for the cost the Hotel was excellent, and took one back to the days when hotel staff treated guests like VIP's not like an inconvenience, which is the case in a lot of places these days.

All in all we had a wonderful time, the food was good, the surroundings comfortable, and we even made friends with Smudge the Spaniel. We will definitely go back again soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Went to this hotel late April 2012. Staff were very helpful, especially the receptionists. Downstairs the rooms were acceptable and clean looking with a large glass enclosed verandah to sea gaze. Sadly, the weather was appalling, so I did spend quite some time on the verandah. I took my spaniel with me and we were both treated with the greatest of respect, with the staff making sure Smudge had plenty of water and LOTS OF ATTENTION; even putting two dog bowls in our bedroom (never seen this done before).THANK YOU.
ERYL the female singer in the evening was brilliant.

The breakfast was not exactly hearty, but the sausages were excellent and I could have brought a ton home with me. . At 8.3oam I was told the hot breakfast wasn't ready yet and could have been another ten minutes, although it was earlier than that so I think there could have been a language misunderstanding between the Polish waiter and kitchen staff. The one thing I had to complain about was my bedroom .I was originally put on the third floor, with access only by the tiniest lift, which I could just about get into with my small dog. It was SO claustophobic that after using it once I realised I could not use it again. I don't suffer from this phobia normally, but it was like being in a moving coffin.Horrendous. The bedroom was dirty, the bed sunken and old and it was obvious somebody had been laying on the bed .There were also large grease marks from heads on the wall behind the bed, there being no bedhead.Ugh! I told the receptionist who siad he could not understand why I had been put in room 314 anyway (I didn,t question why)...and he offered me another room on the ground floor which was nearly as bad..more like a cellar...very dark and with only two hooks holding up the curtain. Eventually, he offered me a room on the first floor which I accepted. I felt like telling the management how effective simple bleach could be when used to rid mould on bathroom tiles!.....The shower was powerful and hot, however. Although the one sheet on the bed LOOKED clean I wasn't too sure about the faded blue pillow cases and duvet cover, the latter of which I'm sure hadn't been changed since the last occupant. I spent my two nights with a towel covering the pillow case...something I have NEVER done in 40 years of travelling all over the world.

I was very impressed with the friendliness of everyone, which made my short break quite pleasant, in the end. I notice a reviewer said how nice the coffee tray and cookies were....SO WHERE WERE MY COOKIES...? I would like to add that when I complained about the lift and the first room, the receptionist went out of his way to fix me with a better room and even going himself, in his break, to bring down my case and belongings, as I dare not use the lift to do so myself. THANK YOU.

Room Tip: ASK FOR A SEA VIEW ROOM but definitely not room 314.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel takes you back a few years to the era of Miss Marple. It has a genteel character and is full of charm. It is as far from the modern chain hotels as you can get. The food is wonderful with a great menu and superb presentation. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. The location is great. If you want a hotel with some old-fashioned style, even down to afternoon tea on the terrace overlooking the sea, then this is for you. If you want bland intercontinental chain hotels then you'll be disappointed.

Room Tip: Single rooms are small but well equipped. Sea view rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cligereen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We booked this via Groupon and it was so cheap we had to ask what the catch was, short answer nothing! If you want 5 star pay for it. The staff were poilite the room and surrounidng public areas clean and everyone was very helpful. I also read some of these reviews before going and thought it was going to be awful and it wasnt. It could do with some updating but for what they charge it is a bargain. I read one review left by someone who didnt even stay there and gave them 1 out of 5, so I am giving you 5 to make up for this as it isnt fair! For a good value, clean and comfortable stay go here its great for the price, in a fantastic location and the staff are really friendly. I will be returning through Groupon again thank you for an enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,381 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
829 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing