We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okish”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #40 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Cardiff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Okish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay, but on arrival I was disappointed that there was no room in the car park despite having booked a place. Mind you - the car park is very small! The hotel needs to be updated and refreshed. The tablecloth in the dining room wasn't changed for two days! Meals were acceptable. Room was clean, but the lift only works going up! The staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Welshy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    245
    186
    82
    124
See reviews for
121
436
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Booked deal via kgb deals,for myself hubby,dad & sister who is recovering from cancer & break for my dad giving we are approaching the 1st yrs anniversary of her passing on the 15th june. It was the jubilee wkend & ibked 2 nights. When I rang to make the resivations 2wks prior I explained I was disabled & was a wheelchair user & wanted to know if they were disable friendly & explained needed shower room etc was reasurred my needs would be met etc & booked.on arrival after trying to find car park ! Then was informed when you book you need to book a space as there are only 9 spaces & they charge £3.85 a day ! Gladly being a blue badge user found a space with no charge near by !my 1st complaint as I told the un aproachable man with attidude @ the reception I should of been informed of this given my quiery when booking giving my disability ! I was informed was on the 2nd floor with sea view rooms ! Was asked to sign form 4 the 3 rooms bked that if keys were lost would have to pay £25 ! Ok fair ! Went to rooms in lift & omg what a dump hole ! Even the seagulls left their mark on the dirty windows ! Went bk to reception to complain ! Gave me 2 more choices best out of 2 was on 3rd floor ! Then discovered the lift didn't go 2 that floor coz it was broken ! U had 2 go 2 the 2nd floor 2 get the lift up to the 3rd 2 get down ! 1st health & safety issue of many to reveal ! I went to complain by this time it was way after 7pm !& giving my hubby was diabetic needed to sort asap ! Then found out the lifts are turned off @ midnight due to health & saftey issues ! And also their is no one manning the reception from midnight until 8am in the morning ! So I informed him giving there was quiet a few people @ the hotel with walking difficulties etc & felt health & safety issues are being breached ! He then stated a mr !! Who is well in his 80s is disabled & been coming here for yrs ! He never made eye contact & was walking around the reception doing things ! In other words was not intrested in any issues was addressing ! So I told him I was goin to find alternative accomidation as was appauled & angry with issues surrounding peoples health & saftey whether disabled or not ! & told him wanted a full refund ! He told me I would have to return in the morning as he did not have the facilitities to do that ! Although it stated deputy manager on his badge !another fob off ! I felt like mary & joseph knockin & ringing hotels 4 rooms & sadly giving bh wkend ! Was no where we went 2 get something to eat as by this time was 9pm & giving my sis health & my own felt we had no option but 2 stay the nyt with reluctance & in hope nothing would happen ! With a couple of hrs sleep & scratchin was up crack of light ! Pulled sheets back & omg ! Poo stains ! Pee !mucus all over radiators ! Stains gallore all over pillows !have pics 2 evidence ! No wonder was scratching !the only way them mattresses met health & safety was it had lable for fire safety & dated built for the 1990s ! So 20+ yrs of poo & pee & god knows what else on them ! Lets not forget the springs comming out ! I rang the reception asap & asked them 2 come to my room asap they did & boy what a conversation ! Never refused to return the money ! He also said if house keepers don't tell them then they can not do anything about changing them ! But looking over tripadvicer reviews this as been going on for yrs & they cba or intrested bar taking your money ! It didn't take long me getting out that room ! But before took more pics to forward to who ever I need to get this flee pit shut down as is major major health & saftey issues there ! Even hare & hound would not advertice this place for pet friendly accomidation ! It was laughable how it displayes 3 stars ! Haha the cheek to display if you wish your tea & coffee to be replenished you have to pay ! The hairdryer ! Lookes like a vacume for yer car when 1st invented !toilet roll dispenser ! Batheroom yer couldn't swing a cat in ! If you are hard of hearing is a note to put on the outsidE of yer room case there is a fire ! Yet there is no one on the premises during the night ! & on a card in the room it states if there is a medical emergancy during the early hours you have to go down to the main hall press 0 for assistance ! & you would have to knock another guest up if able to help & answer the door for dr etc ! Stated all this but not intrested ! Shame on the familyrun buisness getting run into the sewer by people who they employ who don't give a hoot bout customer service & very doubtful they would stay in such a hovel ! Time I got to reception I was handed a reciept of refund & laughable which stated on it customer not present to varify signiture !! Guess was for reasons above being stated in ear view of other customers who had been adviced from many complaints were in full flow ! Never ever have I stayed in a place nor would I ever want to again like this ! The only place iv never looked over reviews before staying ! Iv purchased a few deals online & have been fab & staff been lovely ! But omg not here ! Needs fumigating the works totaly disgusting all clothing took I had to boil wash seperate from other laundry & scrubbed myself red as soon as entered my home & adviced my dad & sis to do so ! Never ever stay ere guys defo not 1 for the bucket list ! Only the bucket then burn ! X

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andreajoan1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

This is the second time I have stayed in this lovely hotel, the Richmond Suite is a lovely large room with spa bath, and fantastic views, the hotel is a bit tired but has a charm about it. Its a good value for money break and I would use it again except for the staff. Firstly the good, Simon the General Manager is fantastic, he cant do enough for you will sort problems out straight away I cant praise him enough. Unfortunately the same cant be said about the rest of the management team. We had a problem with a guest in the room next to us getting sick in the middle of the night, the poor chap was very confused and was banging on his radiator to attract attention, I called the duty night porter, he couldnt have been ruder, it was as if he was cross at being woken. He agreed to call an ambulance but left us with the guest rather than coming down to deal with himself. he only came down after a second call to demand his presence. The evening manager was rude and unhelpful. We had booked a car parking space and asked for one of the larger spaces, on arrival found this was taken rather than any apology or attempt to rectify the attitude was "Tough what do you expect me to do".

It is a shame as we really love this hotel, the position of it the old world charm and the Richmond suite but the rudeness of the staff has put me off going again.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for one of the spa rooms the views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had a groupon deal to this hotel in May and just had to tell you about it!!
The Hotel itself needs a lot of updating and cleaning and plenty of tlc to return it to its former glory.
It is in a great position on the promenade and could be so much better.
However, the good points were the staff. They were all very good and polite, especially the restaurant staff.
The food was good according to my husband, but for me as a vegetarian the choice wasn't good and I had salad both nights we were there.
Breakfast was ok though.
It didn't ruin our visit to Llandudno though, we still had a good time as we were out each day.

Room Tip: maybe ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

my wife and i stayed at the ambassador in february 2012 we did not like the room we had been given had had a word at reception they where bang on and gave us a sea view room at no extra cost. staff where all superb, and the breakfasts are a treat .
we returned to the ambassador, again in may once again on a groupon just for a couple of nights,the room we where allotted was room 114 the beds where solid as a rock,
I went down to reception who where very obliging and we where offered the choice of 2 more rooms we accepted the first one room 111 this is a street room with a bay window over looking the bay, very comfortable beds and 2 armchairs to sit and watch tellie.
so good we booked an extra night. the staff food and hotel all get 10/10 from us we shall return later this year

Room Tip: some rooms are superb if you dont like what you get don,t gripe on here have a word with reception i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkShooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Please please if you read this review don't stay at this hotel! The staff are rude especially at reception i dont think they notice that you can see that the facial expressions they make at you behind your back can be see once you complain ( i think Caroline??) The linnen is dirty and afternoon tea is appalling. I never complain at a hotel stay and this is my first review but I feel so strongly that I need to for warn other people that this hotel is an absolute dive even hostels are better than this place. Beware

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

My self & my husband , Book to stay on 31st may to 2nd of june, !! booked online, We got to the Ambassador 1 HOUR EARLY , Young & very rude girl at the reception told us to go away & come back in 1 hour , I Said my daughter & son-in-law stayed 1 dec 2011 !! & that time was ok with them on that occasion, she said I DON'T THINK SO MY FAMILY OWN THIS HOTEL !! So we waited with a pot of tea , 1 Hour later we went back to the reception , she give us room 222 !! when we got to the room WE WERE SHOCKED TO FIND THE ROOM DIRTY , BED SHEETS FILTHY , PILLOWS CASE'S WERE DIRTY YELLOW , THE BATH ROOM HAD PUBIC HAIR ON THE TOILET & IN THE BATH , WE WENT BACK TO THE RECEPTION & SAID WE WOULD NOT BE STOPPING , SO WE WENT TO THE CAE'MOR = LOVELY CLEAN HOTEL,

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 123tweats8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 59 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#33 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing