We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have just returned from a weekend staying at the Ambassador Hotel.It was really very good,nothing was too much troublefor the staff.The sea view room was amazing,what a view!!!!!!
The hotel is perfectly positioned on the promanade close to the pier,but also near the shops,bars and cafes.We will be staying here again Donna and Margaret

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnabos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

802 - 808 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

I read lots of negative reviews here but surely the cost must be taken into consideration. 2 nights for 2 people on a groupon - come on guys be fair what do you expect? Five star luxury? We actually enjoyed it here and ouir room was very clean and bright and airy. Sure its dated and needs a coat of paint but hey. Service was always fast and friendly. Would we go back? No and thats only because llandudno is a dump. If the hotel was in another location we would probably revisit if only for its quirkyness.

Room Tip: Choose room 320 - it was bight and airy and not too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qualitywork1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

good location, great customer service. a bit dated. and internet doesnt work in the rooms.

Room Tip: not in the 3rd floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LazizG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The hotel was very tired, carpets dirty and threadbare, our room was reasonable size but the bedding was old and not too a reasonable standard, we didn't sleep well as the bed was not comfy. The food was satisfactory but nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Sept in a third floor bedroom, please note third floor is in 2 halves and access is not available fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ange137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

'Value purchase' as a Groupon Voucher 'offer' for two nights' B&B with scone and jam afternoon snack: we added one dinner meal - great value discount if agreed on booking - of £12-50 per head for three courses. Remaining food (breakfasts) were largely self-serve buffet, but with the main hot dish (yes, it was!) ordered by the (extremely pleasant and well-spoken Spanish and East European staff) and delivered with a smile ! (They should teach the receptionist their smile: he needs the practice but, with a hotel full to the seams, perhaps it was understandable. Most staff seen - bar, coffee lounge, odd managers around - seemed pre-occupied rather than miserable, but it still looks like 'the troubles of the world' were on their shoulders.) Our room was at the back and overlooking the car-park (which always seemed full), though you CAN park on the promenade outside FREE from 1600 to 1000 a.m., i.e. overnight, and you are likely to be 'out' during the day, so why worry about a car-park? (Day parking is £4-00 for whole day from street coin-op machine, so NOT expensive.) Llandudno - in June - seemed to be 'opening up for the season' with some shops and booths on prom and pier still 'waking up', but plenty of restaurants, cafes and shops open though, like many towns in England, there were some empty and boarded-up business premises. Wet days: shopping malls were OK, rather than exciting. Dry sunny days, pay the toll (£2-50) and drive around the Great Orme coast road for fabulous views - to Puffin Island and Anglesey - then back into Llandudno. One absolute 'must' if you like singingers and singing: check out the choral evenbts on the bill-board on the promenade opposite the hotel: local churches offer choirs and instrumentalists many evenings at modest prices, and we had a great time with 'Chor Llandulas' and their energetic Harpist Conductor - knock-out performances in a beautiful church - St John's - with a lovely 'Charles Wesley was here' stained-glass window thrown in - very good evening for two, and change from £20. Enjoy your visit - try the local fish and chips, choirs - and yes, if you are on a budget - do try the Amassador - a modest but perfectly-adequate sea-front hotel, and spend a little extra on a sea-view room if you intend spending much time looking out...........

Room Tip: Sea views cost extra - but rear views across the town (and car-park) to the Great orme hill are spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonesometravellerGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This hotel is in desperate need of HELP. They should get in touch with the "Hotel Inspector"
First impressions from the outside are not too bad until you park in the side street and look at the dilapidated section above the dining room which looks appalling
It gets worse when you have checked in and made your way - through the dining room- past the kitchen - to the lift. It states that this takes a maximum of 3 people. Two thin people is a squeeze and when you press the button the lift jerks abruptly giving you a fright. Entering our room - 317- was like going back in time. Multi coloured, floral, threadbare (in parts)carpet with a greyish looking floral duvet cover on the bed. The pillow cases were even more grey looking! However, we were on a KGB deal and didn't expect to get a room with a view of the sea for the charge - £89 for 2 nights.Had we have been paying the voucher value of £311 we would have demanded a refund and left.
When we retired to bed on the first night we were wishing that we had left. The bed was a very small double, with a worn mattress that dipped in the middle, and it felt as if you were lying on a board. We may have had a small amount of sleep but woke up with severe aching bones. I would suggest that either the Hotel Owner or one of the management team tries to sleep in this bed before subjecting any more guests to the torture. The bathroom was also very small with cracked tiles.
Breakfast was adequate though only served from 8.15 - 9.15 am. Staff were pleasant but a little indifferent.
The KGB deals are a great way to try out different establishments and in most cases we would be happy to visit again and pay the normal rate. However we wouldn't consider a return visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JasperStoke_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay, but on arrival I was disappointed that there was no room in the car park despite having booked a place. Mind you - the car park is very small! The hotel needs to be updated and refreshed. The tablecloth in the dining room wasn't changed for two days! Meals were acceptable. Room was clean, but the lift only works going up! The staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Welshy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#49 of 60 in Llandudno
884 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#5 of 60 in Llandudno
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing