We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen cleaner on a rubbish tip!!!”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seen cleaner on a rubbish tip!!!”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Had a really bad time here, came home covered in a bad rash with what looked like bite marks round it to be told by doctor it was bed bugs! Also found on back of curtains big brown stripe from which I can only assume someone wiped there backside on them as there was a horrible stench in that area too! Went for breakfast got two eggs and toast but the eggs were really rubbery so had to leave them! I drive a big 4x4 and really struggled in the car park and then got woken up at 6:30 asking if I could move my car as another guest couldn't get out!! I think the whole building needs demolishing as its one big health and safety disaster and something will only be done about the place when something bad has happened in it!! My only advice is don't be that person avoid at all costs be happy and go too fawlty towers!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wirralgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    276
    209
    92
    137
See reviews for
139
502
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Hotel is in a fantastic spot right on the front near to the pier etc. Car parking is available at a cost.

We stayed here in May 2012 via a groupon deal. Hotel's communal areas were all tidy and receptionists were all welcoming.

Our room was at the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor. It was okay for what we paid for it. If you want a 'top of the range' hotel then pay top of the range money is what I say. The breakfast was okay - the usual cereal, fruit juice etc and then a full cooked breakfast. The waiting on staff were all very attentive.
I would stay here again if I could get the same deal and wanted a 'no frills' hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: a room with a sea view might be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandAnge92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I have just returned from a weekend break at the ambassador and very annoyed, My mum who is disabled requested a ground floor room, only given a shabby room with a flight of stairs, complained to the manager who didn't want to know, my mum had to struggle with her walking stick up the stairs.

The hotel is very cold please do not go in this hotel if you are disabled!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We arrived and wre met by a door that looked as though a war had taken place at it and the Letter box was missing too.The reception staff were wearing a shirt and blouse both unironed!Th room we were shown was bleak and the bedding was done .The pillowslips were turned wrong sibe up and when you turned them over you could see your hand thro them,none of the bedding was ironed.The pillows too were done.The bathroom floor was needing a scrub.We were allocated another room after refusing to stay in that one.We got an upgrade to another room and after buying spray bleach,cloths and Febreze freshener we were able to clean toilet,washand basin and mirror which had been splashed with toothpaste and make the place smell clean too.Again the bedding was needing to be replaced-desperately!The food tho was nice and some members of dining room staff were too others were a bit grumpy!Avoid staying here at all costs.

Room Tip: Our room had a sea view which was nice unfortunately the windows were painted shut with many years o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port douglas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

this hotel is appalling. The first bedroom we were offered was totally disgusting-bed linen soiled-no headboard so wallpaper behind the bed was badly stained/dirty and the dressing table was marked with white cream-face or hand. After a heated discussion we were offered another room- the bedlinen here was better but the ensuite was a disgrace-black mould around and up the walls of the shower sink taps and handbasin-I asked for cleaning materials to clean it my self but what they gave me was useless so I went to Poundland and brought some bathroom spray with bleach-the carpet was stained badly below the tea making things. We felt obliged to accept this room as we were meeting up with family who had arranged the accommodation. Dining room soiled tablecloths not changed dirty crockery and cutlery.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Just returned from a 6 night stay at this hotel and for the first time in my life I am glad to get home from a holiday. Read lots of reviews and went with an open mind. My wife and I took our two mothers who both fell up the step. OK there is a sign saying Mind The Step BUT both are visually impaired. Fellow guests or should I say inmates helped them on both occasions while on one occasion a staff member looked on with an inane smirk on his face.

Our room had a fire door/escape which rattled in the wind during the night. Pillows were very thin and bed quite uncomfortable. No headboard and grease stains on the wall where previous guests rested their head Ugh! Bathroom pretty basic, shower curtain was dirty and the Lino on the floor was old and dated. The shower was hot though. Our Mothers room also had the obligatory grease stains and the beds were in terrible condition ripped and stained. The stories about the lift are sadly true.

Onto the food. Meat (1slice) was served up with a couple of potatoes and the veg which was not well cooked served separate. I thought choice was limited considering this is billed as a luxury hotel. There is obviously a shortage of mint sauce as the waiter came round and put a bit on your plate when we had lamb one evening! Water was freely available but not on individual tables. Breakfasts were nothing to write home about. Strangely there was a total lack of sauce at breakfast until someone complained, then we were treated to a bit of HP the day after but nothing after that, but the best of all was the tea/coffee fiasco after the evening meal. Instead of having it served at the table you had to traipse into the bar area to have it there. I found this both hilarious and bizzare. Didn't mind the soup though.

Most of the waiting staff were foreign and tried hard and I have no problem with them. OK they made a few mistakes but they were there to learn.

At the end of the day you pays your money and makes your choice but I can see why this sad gloomy place (the lighting was terrible) was able to take vacancies when most hotels were fully booked up.

As a footnote beware of the 5% service charge added to your bill at the end of your stay/sentence which can seriously bang up the price.

Room Tip: Quite simply don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Although this hotel is a little tired, like so many at seaside resorts, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Our cases were taken to outside our room on arrival - a really good touch.
The room was clean, but bedding quite faded and oh those lumpy springs in the mattress. Maybe its time they were renewed. The food good and plentiful and yes the staff are mainly foreign, but tried hard and extremely friendly and polite. Nothing too much trouble.
Reception staff could be a little better organised when coach parties arrive, we were queuing to get in the door. Perhaps use one of the downstairs reception rooms next time.
All in all, ecconomical hotel so felt it was very good value.
The drinks at the bar were far too expensive.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms make up for the faded bed linen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
831 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing