We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel in need of some TLC”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #40 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Stafford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel in need of some TLC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2008

We stayed at “The Ambassador” for a few days this month [March] and feel that the rating in Trip Advisor is about right. Certainly it can be said that people get what they pay for. This can be said about this hotel. Potentially it could be wonderful; it is on a key site on Llandudno promenade with rooms that have a lovely sea view. However, it is very much like a lot of British seaside hotels, tired and in need of some tender loving care. It is a family run business and in need of a massive cash injection to upgrade the bedrooms. We booked “ a recently refurbished” room, which had bedding [although clean] in need of replacement. It, in this day and age, had a twin bed with no headboard. It was also a smoking room [although soon to change]. We asked if there was another room and was offered “a Spa Room” which was better, (a no smoking room) but with the same tired bedding and damaged furniture. We had dinner on two nights and the food was a little hit and miss. They charge for water at the table with the excuse that it is saving the planet. In conclusion, at the moment it may suit the coach trade and it is a shame that it has neglect, and some of the staff do little to lift the atmosphere. In short, there is little to recommend it other than it has a low price for the location.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    245
    186
    82
    124
See reviews for
121
436
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2008

Having stayed at this hotel 18 months ago we were disappointed to find it now shabby and in need of much refurbishment.

Outside, the windows were dirty and paint was peeling from the walls and window sills.

The first room we were allocated (213) was scruffy and outdated, the bedding was torn and the bathroom door hanging off. We then changed to room 112- slightly better but still shabby and decor dating back to mid - seventies. These are both family rooms- I would recommend checking which room you would be staying in when you book. There is another family room which is the one we stayed in last time- this room was nicely decorated and cleaner, although maybe not so good now?

The food however was good. Varied choice- staff not happy if you don't arrive for breakfast before 915 ( breakfast is from 830 to 930).

We won't stay here again until it has been refurbished and even then i'd have my doubts. The location is good, just across the road from the beach and close to the shops.

  • Liked — lounge
  • Disliked — bedrooms
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank our-holiday-review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
derbyshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2007

we have recently had a party of 90+ including children for a weekend stay at this hotel after reading reviews on this hotel we were a little concerned as to what to expect . why is it people who like to whinge seem to be the only ones to write reports here goes then this hotel was excellent our rooms were clean and warm that warm in fact we turned off the radiator , In the bathroom we had soap shower caps lovely shampoo, conditioner and shower gel.The menu in the dining room was excellent with plenty to choose from at breakfast , and the evening meals were lovely there was vegetarian option a fish dish and salads also a well cooked meat dish all the food was freshly cooked with fresh vegetables , the hotel is in an excellant spot two minuets from the town etc and i have to say we were all impressed with llandudno itself , we had no complaints from any of our party they all said lets go there again and to add we come from the midlands and we don,t hold back if we have something to say keep up the good work ambassador you are a credit to llandudno

  • Liked — the food and location
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2007

My High School was on a tour of Ireland, Wales and England and some of us were put up at this hotel. I was disappointed with the staff as they could not understand english very well or just did not care. My biggest problem was the telephone service. I used a prepaid calling card to make a 16 minute call my folks in the USA and was presented with a 50 pound bill for telephone use at checkout. I am 18 years old and not a seasoned traveler but I would have expected some sort of warning about telephone use. I was not the only visitor with the same problem. Some of the other students and parents had telephone bills as high as 300 pounds. The hotel made NO attempt to make any adjustment or arrangement. This "family run" hotel even restricted some visitors from leaving the hotel until the bill was settled by having money wired to them from unhappy parents in the USA. The hotel also need some upgrades as it is old and worn out.

  • Liked — Location by sea
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alfieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2007

Had booked the hotel for a party of three couples. No parking available on site, so used sea front, which even in high season is reasonably priced - you only pay for day time hours, with overnight being free parking.

Rooms were not available until the stated check in time of 15.30, although this was not a great problem. The rooms, at back of hotel, did not have a sea view and this had been explained at time of booking. Rooms fairly small but had recently been refurbished with new carpet. Television ceased working after a few hours.

There is a reasonable bar area but we only used the restaurant for breakfast. The hotel knew we had booked as a party of six, but at breakfast there was a "seating plan", and this meant the threee couples being allocated tables at far corners of the dining room! Pleas for a table for six were not well received! We almost had to mutiny to be able to sit together!

Summing up, good location on sea front, although only limited rooms with sea views. The location probably explains the price of £82 per room for B&B.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Car Parking
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kule Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2007

stopped at the hotel ambassador for 3 nights in september 2006 for my husband.s birthday and also december for 3 nights rooms with a view were very nice spacious clean and the staff are extremely helpful the meals were varied the only problem we found was that the waiters and waitresses did not speak or understand english very well. the reception staff were extremely helpful but i think that for the price they charge the hotel needs to improve on the entertainment. the car park is a nightmare we found it better to park on the sea front.

  • Liked — the hotel room
  • Disliked — the car park
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyndastockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2006

We booked at short notice at the Ambassador and from the start were treated like sensible human beings by the staff. Indeed, throughout our stay all staff, without exception, were efficient, friendly, polite and knowledgeable.

Since the previous review (q.v.) there appears to have been quite a lot of refurbishment and more is going on in parts of the hotel although this is not intrusive. Our room was not on the sea front but the sea was visible. The room was comparatively large, the beds comfortable and everything was clean and worked well.

The food was very much to our liking. The quality and variety of the meals was excellent with some professional touches adding new twists to traditional dishes without going over the top.

We agree that the car park at the rear of the hotel is difficult to get in and out of and the cost of £3 per day doesnt compare well with on-street parking during March.

One thing that we did find irritating was the number of squeaky floorboards throughout the hotel, including several rooms that had been refurbished.

We would certainly return to the hotel, but would try to be there when it isnt rainy with gales!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank MSF48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 59 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#33 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing