We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trying hard to please” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
leyland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Trying hard to please”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Just read reviews on this budget hotel and had to put them right - we stayed August 2012. To be fair it's a very dated hotel interior - we nearly booked out at first, but on second inspection it was very clean and tidy. They had put Taylors on the tea tray and even the on-the-wall heater, which looked worrying, was wonderfully efficent with good output, so the room was lovely and warm. The bedding was definitely looking worn but the beds were comfortable, clean and certainly bug free (I did inspect as we have been to New York and always do check). The bathroom looked ancient but our over bath shower had plentiful hot water and good an excellent flow. At breakfast we asked for boiled eggs and they were lovely - free range and not overcooked to rubber. We have been to 5 star hotels that can't boil an egg properly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    217
    180
    79
    123
See reviews for
112
401
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Arrived for a 2 night break. The Carpet on the stairs stank. The corridors stank and the room or should I say cupboard stank. The bedding was all faded. The drawers had no bottoms in them and the bathroom should be condemed. We left and checked into another Hotel. Book a room here at your peril. It is the wost excuse for a hotel I have ever seen. It is disgustingly filthy and dated. I thought I had walked into a hostel in some 3rd world country.

Room Tip: Do not book a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda196011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Just back from a great weekend at the Ambassador. I organised a weekend break for 92 people for 5th - 7th October and I did not have ONE complaint so what all these bad reviews are about I do not Know. The food was good, the staff were freindly & helpful. Ok, it was a little dated but overall a nice hotel.We will be going back to the Ambassador again, only this time I won't be worried about it after reading all the crap reviews on Tripadvisor!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickyboy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Had a really bad time here, came home covered in a bad rash with what looked like bite marks round it to be told by doctor it was bed bugs! Also found on back of curtains big brown stripe from which I can only assume someone wiped there backside on them as there was a horrible stench in that area too! Went for breakfast got two eggs and toast but the eggs were really rubbery so had to leave them! I drive a big 4x4 and really struggled in the car park and then got woken up at 6:30 asking if I could move my car as another guest couldn't get out!! I think the whole building needs demolishing as its one big health and safety disaster and something will only be done about the place when something bad has happened in it!! My only advice is don't be that person avoid at all costs be happy and go too fawlty towers!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wirralgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Hotel is in a fantastic spot right on the front near to the pier etc. Car parking is available at a cost.

We stayed here in May 2012 via a groupon deal. Hotel's communal areas were all tidy and receptionists were all welcoming.

Our room was at the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor. It was okay for what we paid for it. If you want a 'top of the range' hotel then pay top of the range money is what I say. The breakfast was okay - the usual cereal, fruit juice etc and then a full cooked breakfast. The waiting on staff were all very attentive.
I would stay here again if I could get the same deal and wanted a 'no frills' hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: a room with a sea view might be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandAnge92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I have just returned from a weekend break at the ambassador and very annoyed, My mum who is disabled requested a ground floor room, only given a shabby room with a flight of stairs, complained to the manager who didn't want to know, my mum had to struggle with her walking stick up the stairs.

The hotel is very cold please do not go in this hotel if you are disabled!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We arrived and wre met by a door that looked as though a war had taken place at it and the Letter box was missing too.The reception staff were wearing a shirt and blouse both unironed!Th room we were shown was bleak and the bedding was done .The pillowslips were turned wrong sibe up and when you turned them over you could see your hand thro them,none of the bedding was ironed.The pillows too were done.The bathroom floor was needing a scrub.We were allocated another room after refusing to stay in that one.We got an upgrade to another room and after buying spray bleach,cloths and Febreze freshener we were able to clean toilet,washand basin and mirror which had been splashed with toothpaste and make the place smell clean too.Again the bedding was needing to be replaced-desperately!The food tho was nice and some members of dining room staff were too others were a bit grumpy!Avoid staying here at all costs.

Room Tip: Our room had a sea view which was nice unfortunately the windows were painted shut with many years o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.7 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing