We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location Victorian Gem”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Well the location was cracking if you are lucky you ge a sea view. Despite some previous comments I found the staff on reception and in general very helpful. Parking is very limited and needs to be booked in advance for the tiny carpark at the rear of the hotel. The lift as well documented is tiny a comfy fit for myself and my wife tight with our bags.The hotel is without doubt a little dated but we found it very clean. Breakfast was very good and well cooked with a good range. Bedroom was clean and a good size but did have a sliding door to the bathroom. The hotel team are obviously trying to keep this place moving in the right direction and I wish them well

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbluefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here for one night on bed and breakfast.
We had a lovely stay. Room was clean and warm. Staff were very friendly. The lift was tiny and abit hit and miss at times but made us laugh.
Breakfast was plenty. Large choice to choose from. Again the staff was friendly and helpful.
Not sure we would stay here again but overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JW7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We spent 2 nights here recently on a voucher deal. Told we could book in at 3pm which I thought is a bit late.anyway we arrived to be told our room was not ready, not a good start, 45minutes later had to ask at reception if room was ready which it was we were directed to the gods, attic room basically !!!! On our way to the room we were greeted with a mound of dirty bed linen on tbe staircase not good!!!! Room was uninviting, bed linen clean but washed out and seen better days. Our window was small so if there had been a fire we done for. No signs on landing to tell you were fire escapes were not good!!!!! On the good side its in a great location the breakfast and cream tea we had there were good. The staff were friendly but slow in their approach to serving and sorting problems which I found frustrating, I know we did nt pay alot for this but I was not impressed and would not return. I think the owners need to hire more domestic to deal with the rooms quickly and efficiently but as with alot of places they probably have what they ve got run ragged. It needs updating with better service. The parking at back is tiny costs 3.25 a day which is fine but the space there is a nightmare to park so beware.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The hotel is an old Victorian building which had seen various 'upgrades' over the years, the majority of which did not enhance the visitor's experience. Reception staff were frankly ignorant when we arrived, not even saying 'hello'. There were about a dozen pictures in the main hall showing the various managers, but most of these people were conspicuous in their absense, and very few actual staff were present, a typical case of too many chiefs, not enough indians and people bestowing meaningless titles on themselves.

The hotel was billed as being suitable for disabled people, what a joke. The two lifts off the main reception area are the smallest I have ever seen, and my father, who had a stroke last year & has to use a wheeled walking aid, had great difficulty getting in & out of the lift. We asked for a ground-floor room when we booked our stay & were given rooms on the second floor. When we mentioned this on arrival, no-one seemed to care, and we were not offered a room transfer.

The junior staff were all eastern European, and I noticed several other older residents having difficulty communicating with them, but we found them very polite, friendly and helpful. There is a carpark at the rear of the hotel, but I wouldnt bother trying to use it, the access passage is very narrow and the few parking spaces extremely difficult to get in & out of due to the limited manouvering space.

The rooms were small and totally unsuitable for disabled people, especially the bathrooms, which were minute. The bed bases were all old and worn, but the matresses were good. One blanket per bed was provided, but no duvets were present. The food was good, but there was a lack of vegetables, especially potatoes.

I could not recommend this hotel for disabled people, as the facilities are unsuitable. My father likened it to Fawlty Towers and we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andyrowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were a group of 19, had a bit of a problem on arrival as we had been given the wrong information concerning the check in time but the receptionist was very pleasant and sorted us out in quite a short time. Very professional yong lady. One of the bedrooms the shower was not working and another had a rather sad looking blanket on the bed instead of a duvet. The lino on the floor in my bathroom was quite awful black marks and rips all over. In general the staff were pleasant except for one of the managers who was paticulrly rude. The food was quite good but there was a shortage of veg especially potatoes.

Room Tip: Font and side rooms excellent view and very little noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Down-sides to the hotel.
We paid extra for the parking, make sure you take a small car, because the avenue to the back of the hotel to park is very narrow, I think it was designed for push bikes.
When we entered the hotel we found the lift not working properly and it seemed one of the smallest lifts I have ever been in. (the one next to the stairs)
So we decide to take the stairs and found the carpet in places thread bare bordering on going bald.
The room itself was very dated and that’s being polite, examples wardrobe ready to fall to bits, dressing table with chunks missing out of it (room service showed no intentions of repairing the visual problems)
Maid service was a new towel and a wipe of the bathroom mirror and that was it.

Summary:
Wasn’t unbearable, but wasn’t very pleasuaerable.

Up-sides to the hotel.
Good view if you up grade.
Good food

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wayne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The ambassador hotel is a lovely pleasent hotel to stay in. It is very very old and dated but it depends what you want out of a bed and breakfast. We paid to upgrade to a sea view spa room which was on the top floor which was 15 pound a night and I would recommend for the view. Its beautiful. I wouldnt pay for the spa room in particular as it is just a normal bath with plastic jets to make it rumble a bit. The rooms are a nice size they and although dated are spotlessly clean. The hotel staff are all friendly and the food is nice, nothing fancy. The ambassador is right on the sea front, perfect location, just a short walk from the town, peir and the great orme. The hotel is aimed more at older people but did the trick for us. I would recommend people to stay here if they just wanted a cheap and cheerful break in a pleasent no frills bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danniiu3146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
968 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wilton Hotel
Wilton Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing