We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money weekend”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #40 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just back from a relaxing stay in the Ambassador. We were a party of 6 adults on a Groupon break and we really had a good time. The rooms were a bit dated but clean and the breakfasts were really nice and served by very attentive staff. There was a well stocked bar and the downstairs lounges were clean and comfortable. We have all agreed that we will visit the Ambassador again soon as we enjoyed our recent stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jm001m3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have just come back from a turkey and tinsel weekend. We are a coach load that go away every year. This is the worst hotel we have stayed in.The rooms are grubby and out dated.
"The Christmas day" evening meal consisted of
half a plate of brown bread sauce, and a lump of stuffing
2 small slices of turkey and 3 lumps of brown turkey meat,
2 new potatoes,
peas, hard broccoli. THAT'S It!
That was the Christmas meal I am not exaggerating in any way!
The second night 4 of our table had fish. It was like a rubber band with a funny taste,3 did not eat their and told the waitress it was horrid but no replacement was offered and no apology.
It looked under cooked!.
It was £2.10 for any 1/2 of coke or lemonade (carbonated)
Our entertainment was in the lounge bar NO where to dance if you wanted to
A backing track singer came on at 9pm for 30 minutes had a break and back on for 40 mins.
He had to stop at 11 o'clock (This was the hotels policy).
We had the same man singer on the second evening
NOTHING on the last evening (not even a cd playing)
The Bar was shut and shutters down before 11.30pm
We all go away for this break to enjoy our selves But we didn't.
WOULD NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Although an old hotel, the owners of the Ambassador Hotel have managed to refurbish all the downstairs areas of the hotel to a good standard. The restaurant, the lounge bar, the patisserie and both general lounges are all very comfortable places to relax with good views of the sea.
Food in the restaurant is of a very good standard and is well presented and served by pleasant staff.
We also enjoyed well heated room and wifi.
Despite the threat of Storm St Jude, my husband and I enjoyed four very pleasant days at the hotel and will certainly revisit.
The only downside to our visit was the hotel parking - we didn't use the car park in the end, despite paying for it, as the disabled bay was virtually inaccessible for much of our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doll126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night after hiking up Snowdon.
We arrived exhausted, check in took an age, we'd booked through Groupon and the receptionist didn't know how to process it.
We were told where to park and that we could come in the back door to save us walking all the way back around to the front but after buzzing 3 times we gave up and walked around.
The receptionist offered no apology and said he was doing something else.
The room was clean (ish) and in need of redecoration.
Breakfast was delicious so top marks to the kitchen staff!
Check out was even more laborious and the receptionist (a different one) was rude to my partner, ignoring him on several occasions, after me sending him to the car with the bags she promptly told me her opinion of him!! The problem was we wanted to pay for our car parking with a £20 note, apparently that caused a lot of trouble.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all, go next door, it looked amazing!!

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NinaC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Eight of us spent a two night weekend break here on the 11/12th of Ocober,primary to watch a very good "Elvis tribute singer at the the theatre.
This hotel is not the "ritz" and nor is the price.
For £65 a person for 2 nights bbem it was a fantastic price.
The rooms are adequate,our room was on the side,so you could see the sea.I think doubled up as a family room as well. (double bed plus two bunkbeds)There was plenty of space for clothes,the shower over the bath was really hot.One complaint,bathroom could do with a shelf for toiletries etc.
The evening meal was very good with 3/4 choices on each course.Breakfast was really good with plenty of choice.
The staff were mainly east european,but very friendly and helpful.Special thanks to Anna from Valencia behind the bar.
As there is no night porter,the front door is locked between 23-30 and midnight,but every room is given a front door key.If you are walking impaired beware the lifts are shut off as well,at the same time,so get back early especially if on the third floor.
If going by car it might be worth booking a space in the hotel carpark,costs £3-50 a night,but only has nine spaces,we did not use it,i believe the entrance is very tight.It is free to park on the front between 17-00 and 09-00,like wise with the side road.
Would recommend hotel for a budget weekend

Room Tip: Front rooms have the sea view,and partial view from side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gunnerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Booked this hotel for two nights half board on a special deal through a travel agent and then read some very poor reviews! Obviously things have changed very much since they were written! There was absolutely no sign of the carpets in the photographs, and though some of the furnishings are a little dated, the hotel's communal areas were extremely comfortable, the quality and presentation of the meals was good and the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful.

We extended our stay for an extra night and were charged a very competitive rate.

It was certainly the best value for money hotel that we have ever stayed in. Character and comfort not a faceless chain hotel and the location couldn't be better.

Looking forward to another stay there in the spring.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aitchkay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

With much trepidation, my husband and I set off for a two night stay in Llandudno. I had read the reviews for the Ambassador and wondered what on earth we had let ourselves in for. When we arrived , a coach party was just going in,but no hold ups, within five minutes we had our key and were in the lift and up to our room. The lift was very small but adequate. Our room was large overlooking the sea with two large windows so very light and airy. The bathroom had a huge bath great shower and tons of hot water and clean towels every day.Breakfast was lovely and the menu for the evening meal had good choices to suit most people. Staff were very pleasant and the prices in the bar were surprisingly good.What more do people want? Would go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for front or side room if you want to see the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moron53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,283 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing