We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please do not waste your money”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #39 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Please do not waste your money”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel smells
Of Fat, dirty oil, you end up smelly like a deep fat fryer. The rooms are outdated and tatty, the bathroom smells of urine the lino on the bathroom floor ripped and smelly. We had a 2 night break booked and managed 1 night. We are very very disapointed. We had 2 rooms booked and both were the same low standard.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenobrien79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    265
    197
    86
    131
See reviews for
131
471
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

just returned from a one night stay at this hotel which was a Christmas present from my daughter read reviews beforehand and was really worried at what we found but I can honestly say I needn't have worried yes the hotel is tired and needs a facelift but it doesn't deserve the awful remarks it gets it was warm clean and the staff are so friendly if people want a five star hotel then they have to pay five star prices

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

we arrived at the ambassador to find the receptionist would not deal with us until bang on 2pm and made a fuss over something so little about our groupon voucher but suddenly 2pm hit and she just gave us the room key no questions asked :/ ... we got to the room to find a old dated run down room with extremely squeaky flooring stained bathroom floor and ripped dated bedding!! I can't explain how horrible the room was it was uncomfortable to the fact I couldn't sit down! So bad we left the hotel and went else to a different hotel wasting money! I would not recommend anyone to stay in the ambassador. Go to the iris as it is ibeautiful and well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BEK19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We booked this hotel on a groupon deal and when booking it over the telephone we were told that we would have to upgrade as no offer rooms were available this was at a cost of £15.00 per room per night. On arrival at the hotel we were told we would have to wait until 2pm to check in so we went for a walk, on returning we were informed that they had no records that we had even booked the hotel but they found us a room at the upgrade price. When we got to the room on the 3rd floor it was very cold and had a small electric heater near the door ( this took until sunday to get the room warm). The room was dated and in need of some modernising doing.
There was tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
We booked for bed, breakfast and afternoon tea, but be aware the afternoon tea is only for 1 day of your stay and not each day, afternoon tea was very nice.
Breakfast was very good with choice of cereals, fruit and yoghurt then a full English with toast. You helped yourself to tea, coffee and fruit juice. The staff at breakfast were very nice and polite.
The location of the hotel is excellent right on the promenade and also down the street from the main town street.
We have stayed in lots of hotels ranging from 2* to 4* but can honestly say this hotel was not value for money and the upgrade was expensive for what you get as you have already paid for the hotel.
Would i stay at this hotel again? i would for the location but the room would have to be updated and re-decorated.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiganAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed for one night on a Groupon deal. As we got a Groupon deal we upgraded the room to a seaview room on the top floor (the Grovener spa room) for an extra £25. The room was on it's own little floor in the eaves of the hotel - dated, but clean and with a beautiful view overlooking the sea and the promenade. My only comment about the room was that the soundproofing was a bit poor - we could hear a dog from another room barking and as we were right next to the lift shaft, everytime someone got the lift there was a very loud machinery noise. However, Llandudno isn't a late night stop out town, so it wasn't too bad.

Check in was quick and efficient and the staff were clearly trying hard. The afternoon tea was nice with Bucks Fizz. Breakfast was a bit of a shambles as they had clearly messed up the table system and tried to sit us on a table with another couple, it then took another 15 minutes to place our order! But the breakfast was fine.

Overall, I would stay again if there was an offer on. It doesn't deserve some of the bad reviews it gets on here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pontypool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights on a Groupon deal. Breakfast included as was an afternoon cream tea and glass of bucks fizz. Staff were friendly and food was okay. Was allocated a room at the back overlooking the car park, it was basic with quite dated furniture but it was clean and comfy. Overall it was okay value for the price paid.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smurfy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived 1/2 hour earlier and wern't allowed to check in till bang on 2pm, hardly the time of year to be that busy to warrant this. Rooms tired and in need of refurb but warm and cleanish, i found dust and grease on bedside cabinet, headboard was dusty and lightfittings also. Seafront situ was great. Synthetic cream tea, asked for more teabags for our room and were told we couldnt have any more than 2 extra(wots that about). A groupon offer which was value for money but would never pay full price. Breakfast lovely but need to pay attention to cleaning glasses as twice was served with filthy glasses.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lillymay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
811 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#40 of 60 in Llandudno
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#41 of 60 in Llandudno
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing