We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Say it as it is.......”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Say it as it is.......”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Having read all the reviews prior to my recent stay, I was filled with dread! However, if you book this hotel through a Groupon deal, then you get what you pay for and my partner and I thought it was actually really reasonable. Yes the hotel is VERY tired and sad looking and does need time and money investing in it, but we found the room clean and comfortable, the bar area ok, and the staff lovely. The breakfast was amusing, but nothing to get upset about (just make sure you sit at the right table...or else!!). Afternoon tea was lovely, Buck's Fizz and proper tea made a real difference. Parking is a bit of an issue, but can be resolved with a bit of patience.

Room Tip: Room 115 is at the back of the hotel and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiverpoolJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    256
    192
    84
    128
See reviews for
125
456
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Our 2 night deal on groupon was fantastic value. No issues with the room. All the staff were polite and helpful. Lots of choice at breakfast.
Ideal location on the prom and very near shopping area, theatre and all amenities.
I would return to this hotel, especially using a special deal as it was such good value.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCelticCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
270 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here on the 10th and 11th January with a Groupon deal, there was six of us in our party, the weather was lousy on the Friday night we arrived so we decided to eat in the hotel. They made us very welcome and the service from the young man who also was working the bar was very attentive.

Rooms were adequate I do agree that they are tired and need modernising, but they were clean and the bedding was fresh and clean too. Bathroom was quite small and accessing the loo was a bit of a challenge.........We had a side sea view which was quite nice too.

Breakfast was not too bad, you helped yourself to cereals, juice, tea and coffee, then breakfast orders were taken from the table. We did feel that when we were in the breakfast room it was a little bit like "Gods waiting room" as we were put right in the corner of the room as we are not the quietest of groups when we get together.

On the whole we enjoyed it, as it was really inexpensive, in this world you do get what you pay for......

Room Tip: if your not happy with your room, ask to change it........
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnPaul78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had the Brinksburn room on the 3rd floor, which given the views of the bay should be one of the best room in the town. Sadly it hasn't been decorated in 40 years and was done on the cheap even then!

This could and should be a great hotel, someone needs to spend some money on a refurb, and quickly!

Room Tip: Ask to view before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kwab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

my wife and i stayed here recently on a groupon voucher 49.00 with afternoon tea and bucks fizz and breakfast it is a really nice hotel and near to shops and pier the breakfast was excellent so was the bar menu we didnt dine in the restaurant because there wasnt a lot of choice but the bar menu was ample.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 25alec21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel smells
Of Fat, dirty oil, you end up smelly like a deep fat fryer. The rooms are outdated and tatty, the bathroom smells of urine the lino on the bathroom floor ripped and smelly. We had a 2 night break booked and managed 1 night. We are very very disapointed. We had 2 rooms booked and both were the same low standard.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenobrien79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

just returned from a one night stay at this hotel which was a Christmas present from my daughter read reviews beforehand and was really worried at what we found but I can honestly say I needn't have worried yes the hotel is tired and needs a facelift but it doesn't deserve the awful remarks it gets it was warm clean and the staff are so friendly if people want a five star hotel then they have to pay five star prices

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing