We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a terrible hotel!”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have to say their afternoon tea and breakfast was not too bad. But the condition of the hotel was sooooo terrible plus their staff service made me crazy! The first day we arrived before 2 pm so they said we could leave our luggage there and come back to check in. But no one told us there was a free afternoon tea before 4.30pm (we bought deal from Groupon),so when we came to hotel at 4.35pm, they just smiled us and said oh sorry you just missed the afternoon tea! Then next day, when we went to have breakfast at 9.30am, they said sorry again! Because the time for breakfast was 8.15-9.15 everyday and only 8.45-9.45 on Sunday. But the Sunday time was on the top of the time board! And both me and my boyfriend believed that they told us the time was until 9.45! And they even believed that was our English problem not their fault! I don't even want to judge their clean and usage condition of their facilities. That was the worst staying in UK hotel for both of us!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Miaofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Went as part of a stevensons coach trip holiday. Food was ok, staff were polite. Great location just across the road from the seafront. entertainment was ok for a hotel but was the same guy singing the same songs for two nights on the trot, another problem is that there is no childrens activities in the hotel but very near local amusements.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night Groupon stay at this hotel which included my 80 year old parents, myself and my 11 year old daughter. I really wish we had read the reviews before we went, as I found the worst bits described by others to be totally correct. I felt we were treated as 2nd class guests throughout because we had taken advantage of an offer. The hotel acts more as a home for the elderly rather than a family hotel. They appeared to lack any desire to welcome children. The St George's hotel opposite clearly sets a high standard and is a good example of what is possible and more importantly, what people who visit Llandudno are willing to pay for good service. Go to Llandudno you'll enjoy it, the town is lovely and the promenade grand. Just stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Saturday.
In our first room the shower tray and head were covered in black mold, as the cleaner knocked on our door as we were going down for breakfast (a bit early we thought) we told him the problem which was dealt with, overall the room was "tired" and needed dragging into the 21st. century.
Sunday.
As there were upgrades available, we decided to go for a sea view room for our second night. Here again, the bed and furnishings were very dated but the room looked cleaner. It was not until Monday morning after an uncomfortable night that we found that the bedding was really disgusting (see attached photos) and the bed was in a poor state. My Sister & her partner also took an upgrade to a sea view room and were also disappointed with the condition of the bedding. All in all, not a very good experience.
We can only hope that as this was EARLY SEASON!!! things will greatly improve.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view room, at least the view is excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived to a very dated hotel was in a twin room which overlooked a scruffy looking car park rooms were cold the bucks fizz was nice we went down for tea at half seven to be told they only do tea for one hour and we had missed it . We ended up with kfc in the room. At breakfast we were told were to sit with another couple practically on there knees I felt so uncomfortable I ended up leaving my breakfast staff are polite and it did show what entertainment was only but there was none was glad we only booked one night not two .locational is ideal

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fluffy59England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed on a KGB deal. Hotel staff were very helpful. We arrived early so they let us leave our luggage 3 hours before our checkin time. The room was spacious, Clean and tidy. All information was available in room reguarding hotel and surrounding area. All clean towels in bathroom, water hot immediately out of tap. Cream tea with an extra sandwiche was perfect. Breakfast was great. It consisted of continental and traditional breakfast.Bar prices were good for a seafront hotel. Free WiFi within most areas of hotel. I would stay there again and recomend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bagpuss4540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We used a voucher but upgraded to sea view room which I recommend as the view is stunning. We also booked one of the limited car parking spaces which proved worthwhile if a little difficult to access.
The deal included an afternoon which we paid a nominal amount extra to include sandwiches-again recommended.
The rooms, whilst warm, we're a little tired and could do with refurbishment and new pillars and duvets.
Breakfasts were basic but filling and plentiful. We didn't eat in the hotel or use the bar so am unable to comment. The staff were friendly and welcoming.
If I had paid full price I would have been disappointed but as an offer I thought it reasonable value.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,449 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,290 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
968 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wilton Hotel
Wilton Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing