We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rushed service, dated and targeted towards older guests”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #40 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had good expectations of the hotel given it's prime location in the center of the promenade.

Room: The general cleanliness of the room was ok, the curtains are in desperate need of a clean as they were black with dirt at the back next to the window, the shower head was riddled with mold and looked like it was seeping murky jelly. Also on both nights we were woken up by loud banging noises coming from the water pipes in the bathroom which was a little disturbing for us.

Food: The food was very prompt however this was a set menu, the tables are very small to fit everything on and we felt pressured to order the courses as soon as we had sat down or finished the course, the food was piping hot I will give them that but we couldn't help but feel like this was the kind of food/service given at a nursing home.

Staff: The staff were helpful and friendly but some did struggle as English was not their first language and we heard a few couples having problems being understood.

If you are of a certain age group then I think they are catering just for you, otherwise if you are just looking for a room only and not expecting anything from the services then you should be OK here.

Not a hotel we will be looking at again and wish we had read up reviews before booking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mwardj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was almost afraid to stay here after reading such negative reviews, but as it was the weekend of the Victorian Extravanza I realized I would probably not find anywhere else. I'm so glad we stayed there after all. Yes I agree the bedroom was a little tired but we had a 2nd floor side view and it was fine - clean room, clean bedding and towels, T.V. tea tray, toiletries,etc. and the view was wonderful, the sea one way and to the right all the fun of the fair!! the hustle and bustle of all this great weekend had to offer. The public rooms were really nice, we had drinks in the front verandah in the evening with friends, lovely!! The breakfast was to a good standard, no complaints whatsoever there, quick efficient service, well presented and plentiful. All in all I would say there is nothing at all wrong with this Hotel for the price, Unless of course you expect Ritz quality for bargain prices!!

Room Tip: Ask for a front or side sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Food very good here. Service very good too. Location excellent.
Hotels needs a decorate revamp in parts.
Shame not to see a few more welsh speaking staff , staff very polite but few misunderstandings in language at meal times.
Dining room could do with rearranging to stop clash of folks !

Room Tip: Seaview rooms fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Hi stayed at the ambassador for 2 nights we had a Groupon which was organized by our daughter I have to say for the price we had nothing to grumble about, all tho was a bit sceptical after reading some of the reviews If we took notice of the ones that make it sound as tho its not worth going to we would have missed out on a stay in a majestic style building yes its a little worn but our room was OK plenty of space flat screen TV and a heater an tea making facilities and clean, beds made next day.the only thing i found was some of the floor boards are a bit creaky but that certanly didnt ruin my stay the breakfast was good and the staff couldn't have been more helpful especially David in the breakfast room and mellory who served us afternoon tea and scones with jam and cream in lovely little pots not Sachets a big thank you to you all hopefully will be going again this year for another stay

Room Tip: We stayed in room 117 a view round the back of hotel but spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michaelDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Great weekend here , great staff , very approachable and friendly . Food quite good and acceptable always hot and politely served . Car park if booked in advance, a bit tight for larger vehicles but reasonably priced considering Llandudno parking problems .
On the downside although very clean the overall décor , carpets , furnishing , curtains and bedding require updating throughout the Hotel but generally speaking we had a great weekend .

Room Tip: Sea view or side ocean view , second floor or above for better vision
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our twin bed room was very out-dated and small. Black mould in shower, paper thin quilt that were blood stained....glad to get home for a shower and sleep as right next to noisy lift. Shame as positioning perfect and staff helpful and friendly although could not speak much English!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have to say their afternoon tea and breakfast was not too bad. But the condition of the hotel was sooooo terrible plus their staff service made me crazy! The first day we arrived before 2 pm so they said we could leave our luggage there and come back to check in. But no one told us there was a free afternoon tea before 4.30pm (we bought deal from Groupon),so when we came to hotel at 4.35pm, they just smiled us and said oh sorry you just missed the afternoon tea! Then next day, when we went to have breakfast at 9.30am, they said sorry again! Because the time for breakfast was 8.15-9.15 everyday and only 8.45-9.45 on Sunday. But the Sunday time was on the top of the time board! And both me and my boyfriend believed that they told us the time was until 9.45! And they even believed that was our English problem not their fault! I don't even want to judge their clean and usage condition of their facilities. That was the worst staying in UK hotel for both of us!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Miaofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,266 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing