We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not good”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

we have just come back from 2 nts at the Ambassodor, with friends, and was very disappointed , we asked for a table for 4, and was told 2 of us had to sit at one table and the other two had to sit at another table at the other side of the room for our evening meal , at breakfast next morning our friends and us just sat down at a table for 4 and was told to move to the table we had for dinner, we had a few words with the waitress , told her we had booked together and we wanted to sit together for our meals, she was quite rude and made us move on separate tables. we went to reception to complain, the receptionist was really helpful and promised us a table the next night, which we got , and happy . My other complaint was the lift, I have never known a Hotel to shut the lift down at 12 clock at night , if your not back at the hotel for 12 at night you have to climb the stairs , in my case on all fours I have bad knees , we was on the top floor ( 3rd ) there was 6 flights of stairs to climb , I was in a really bad way when I got to the top, the reason for shutting the lift down at 12 was health & safety , never heard so much rubbish, The only thing going for this Hotel is the location, and I 'm sorry to say I will not be back , and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: get a room on the ground floor , lift shut down 12 o clock
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    276
    209
    92
    137
See reviews for
139
502
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just spent two nights at the Ambassador with my husband, son and daughter-in-law, daughter and son-in-law and two-year-old grandson (his first real experience of seaside!). Although the hotel is a bit dated and it was a long trek up to our room on third floor (3 flights of stairs or a tiny rickety lift), we had a great time and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Location is brilliant - on the sea front, weather was fab, and we had the break we had imagined celebrating 'grandad's' 70th birthday. The deal price we got through KGB was fantastic! It would be nice to think the hotel might get a facelift soon but it did for us! Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful and varied. We enjoyed ourselves!

Room Tip: Third floor is a bit of a trek!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Christy279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I agree with Lee S and their review. We also paid via a Wowcher Deal which included the 'Afternoon Tea' - huge disappointment (I also was expecting the full 'Afternoon Tea Experience') - value scones and squirty cream, I agree the bucks fizz did seem like fanta or britvic 55. Although the biggest disappointment was the room, you could feel the springs through the mattress, the duvet cover was so faded it was almost white, the pillows were old and smelt. The carpet was stained and old fashioned as was the bedroom furniture and the bed valance was stained with coffee I think!.But the en-suite was the worst we have ever seen and we agreed that Pontin's value accommodation was far better (and that is saying something!!!!). When we say it was an en-suite, it wasn't really it was a toilet with the smallest shower behind the toilet that we have ever seen, not only that but it was also filthy with black mold, it didn't look as if it had been cleaned for a good few years inside. But the what amazed us the most was that the sink was in the bedroom so couldn't really call it an en-suite there also wasn't anywhere to put toiletries. Overall the Hotel is very very dated with lots of rules and regulations- the Bar area is probably the best room, we did think about upgrading our room but when we looked into other rooms as we were passing we could see that they didn't seem any better.Good job we had good weather - we certainly won't be returning to the Ambassador and wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Llandudno is lovely though.

Room Tip: Don't think their are any 'good rooms' try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArtyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I feel I have to pipe up and write a review about this hotel. I got this for a birthday present(yes it was a Wowcher deal) and we upgraded to a deluxe room. When we arrived at the hotel the guy on reception seemed friendly enough. We plodded on up to our “deluxe room” and disappointed was an understatement. It was tiny, smelly and in no way deluxe. My girlfriend went to ask reception if the room was upgraded and the receptionist told her basically it meant it had a sea view window(side view by the way).

Next complaint is the staff. There was one young girl who was brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble for her. Unfortunately I do not know her name. The rest though I found the rude and most of their could bearly grasp basic English.

Complaint number 3. The “Afternoon Tea”. I believe Afternoon Tea consists of – Tea, Scones, Cakes and sandwiches. Cream Tea is tea and a scone. This “Afternoon Tea” seemed to be missing the cakes and the sandwiches…. Unless you paid extra. The scones FYI must have been Tesco’s extra value scones as well.

I appreciate that seaside hotels cannot afford to be as spectacular as they were probably 30 years ago nowadays, but there are still certain standards that should be met. Even if it was a Wowcher deal(I looked online line – this deal should have been £285 for 2 nights if booked through hotel !!!!!!) This hotel was very dated. (Even the bed sheets looked 20 years old) The staff were rude and the food I tried was poor.

Apart from all day that I have to say Llandudno is a lovely place and will definitely be coming again. Just not here unfortunately.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here at the beginning of July on a wowcher deal. In the rooms the mattress was non existent, shower didn't work so had to use one in another room! It was fixed though. My main disappointment though was the afternoon tea we got rubbish smart price scones with skirts creamdespite lovely big ones on display I think the bucks fizz was Fanta! I recommend putting a little more effort in to entice people to come back! Highlight was seeing James Blunt at Venue Cymru! Now that was brilliant!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a pleasant stay and it was good value. However a towel rack falling off the wall is not acceptable in the cheapest of B and Bs. The temperature of the breakfast room and the quality of the ingredients are easy to remedy. The reception staff were very helpful but are just 'papering over the cracks' of under investment. Surely the concept of 'wowcher deals is to advertise the hotel and encourage people to come back at a proper rate and to get clients on 'cheap' deals to spend money on dinners, drinks, etc. Unfortunately after the first breakfast I was not prepared to risk dinner and I am certainly not going back at £95 a night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conqueror17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Like many we had a 2 night break at a great price, maybe we got lucky with the room which had the best sea views from the top floor. Staff were all great and the little lift was an adventure each time we used it !

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gronwen spa room on the top floor, I think you would normally have to pay a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
831 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing