We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ambassador Hotel, Llandudno”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #40 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ambassador Hotel, Llandudno”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We, as a family, have been to Llandudno for the last 3 summers and on each occasion we have stayed in a different hotel. This year we decided to take advantage of the KGB deal and stayed for 6 nights. We were slightly apprehensive due to the negative reviews on here but as we only use the hotel as a base we were prepared to give it a go - we were not disappointed. Yes, the hotel is very dated but so are many of the other hotels in this British seaside resort. The positives - our room was large and clean, the bed linen was clean, the staff were friendly, the food was excellent (particularly the breakfast), children and dogs are welcome and the location of the hotel was perfect. The negatives – our room was next to the lift and there was a lot of banging going on throughout the night as the lift was used on a regular basis. We did not report this to the hotel as we felt that there was nothing they could do about it, instead we purchased some ear plugs which eliminated the problem. There was also no WIFI signal in our bedroom but again this wasn’t a huge issue. On the whole we had an excellent stay and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for those travellers that use hotels as a base for their holiday. If you want luxury then this isn’t the hotel for you. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zoey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    245
    186
    82
    124
See reviews for
121
436
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have just returned from the hotel. Went on a deal which was very reasonable. The hotel was clean, comfortable and very friendly. Our rooms although at back was very clean and well furnished. Breakfast plenty of choice and tasty. Nothing too much for staff, asked for more toast no problem. Our only concern that tea and coffe was not served which meant people wandering around with hot cups and pots of tea. A lot of guests were elderly so could be quite hazzardous. Overall would stay again, good position for all attactions, Keep up the good work Williams family.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trendyoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Clean hotel good bath and shower, decent breakfast and friendly hotel staff and fair price for the stay we had would recommend . Llandudno is a clean and nice place to visit with some good local pubs for food

Room Tip: see view might be worth it our view was poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Booked the trip through wowcher as a Anniversary treat,on arrival we enquired about the car park but were told it was full,but could park on front for £3.00 all day,so no problem there,the room we got was at the back,so no noise except from the sea gulls,the room was clean and comfortable,with a tv and kettle the bathroom was narrow but clean,the overall impression was good but the decor is a little dated,all the staff on duty during our visit were smart and polite and very helpful.
In all this is a hotel i wouldnt hesitate to use again.congratulations to all staff.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I’ll start by saying I like The Ambassador. Llandudno as a whole is a dated place, which very few hotels or bars being very ‘modern’ by today’s standards.

Although The Ambassador may not have all the mod-cons of other hotels around Britain, it keeps up with those in the area. It’s clean, every single member of staff is friendly, the food is good – it is what it is. It’s not modern, it’s getting older....but what do you expect from a British seaside hotel these days? If I had to offer one criticism, it’d be that I heard a lot of banging doors while trying to sleep...is that the hotel’s fault though, or the residents?

As I said in the title, it’s my second time at Llandudno in 12 months, and both times I’ve stayed here....and I’ll be doing the same thing next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I went to wales with my wife and booked this hotel. Was a bit skeptical about this one especially since the details given on the website were not very clear.

This turned out to be a pleasant surprise and purely because of the awesome location of this hotel. It has got a wonderful view of thw mountain and the ocean front.

The service, breakfast, scone tea were all good.

The room in itself was a bit stuffy.Since it was May, it actually got a bit too warm inside d room.
The room was a no frills one and the wifi signal was very weak.

The weather and the location made up for the room.

This is a good property for a casual traveller and bag packers. If you are looking for a luxury stay, not recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just come back from a couple of days at the Ambassador with my mother. We went with the Wowcher deal and for the money it was absolutely fine. If you were to be critical there are lots of little things that could be improved. Yes it is rather 'tired' but if they spent lots of money it would cost more. If you want perfection there are many lovely expensive hotels in LLandudno. It was clean the food was pretty good and its in a brilliant position on the sea front and by the town. I think some of these reviewers need to be realistic. You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vangstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 59 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#33 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing