We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never ever stay at this hotel!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
loobywin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“never ever stay at this hotel!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

staff at reception was moody and un-approachable. Very disapointed with room that cost us 73.00 pounds. room stank of urine. huge yellow stain under toilet. not good enough facilities for the price we paid. Food was disgusting. Not happy at-all.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loobywin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    218
    180
    79
    123
See reviews for
112
401
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
lytham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

The owners of this hotel are the most uncaring people I have ever had the misfortune to meet. The hotel is run down dirty with threadbare carpets which are dangerous if you mention it to the owners they brush you off and ignore you. The food is an experience not to try a second time yuk. The only good thing about this hotel was one of the waitresses who was very nice and polite. Venture into this hotel at your peril.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline7lytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
cheshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

The gentleman we supported was disabled so we asked on booking for an adapted room and bathroom. on arrival we found it to be small and were only able to turn the wheelchair round near the bed. In the bathroom it took many attempts to get into the shower and he was unable to use the toilet at all. The hotel was shabby and outdated and the staff were distant and for the most part un-helpful. The food was disgusting and had broad leaf parsley on every meal including breakfast. We would never, never, never go again

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dipdatdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

At very short notice we decided to go to Llandudno. With very little availability we went with the Ambassador (via booking.com). On arrival we were told (politely) that we couldn't have a double as booked as they didn't have any (they blamed the internet co.). But we could have a twin with a view of the sea (which we had little choice but to accept). Whilst everyone was courteous etc. £40-50 would be a more appropriate price for the room. It was old & tired, albeit with a nice view of the bay (I'd have been really upset if I'd paid the £90 for a room at the back!) and the bathroom smelled of urine (before we'd used it).

In addition, there is virtually no parking & we ended up about 10 mins walk away by the train station (I think this is a problem for most hotels in Llandudno however).

That said, it's a charming traditional British resort & we did find a good value Persian restaurant called Pars.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveLLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

Weekend trip for a treat . Very disappointed in the overall look of the Hotel (inside and out). The Hotel was clean and comfy but needs a complete refurb (decoration, furniture etc). We were disappointed when we arrived as we were really looking forward to a little bit of "luxury". We both like to dress up for dinner and in the hotels advert it says "smart casual dress - no short trousers". No effort really made by any other guest ( which I know is no fault of the hotel) . Men and women in flip flops and t.shirts allowed in for evening dinner - disappointing! Shower and toilet were like the tardis - could harldy turn around in there - sink in bedroom had leaky tap. Toilet would not flush properly. Extremely small , old portable t.v. on a wonky wall fixture with no remote. Bedroom window would not stay open. Bedroom furnishings very poor - duvet was as thin as a hankie! Feel sorry for my Mum as she paid for it all and it wasn"t cheap.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pawsfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

Excellent hotel
Outstanding staff who are very customer friendly, always have a smile for you and to whom no request is too much trouble
Choice of menu is exceptional & is changed daily
Rooms are spacious, very clean & gave an excellent view of the outsatnding promanade & Little Orme
Reserved parking is adequate, value for money & gives a sense of security
Location is excellent to give access to all of North Wales' many attractions

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sugarpuff1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

Negative in house guide which sets the tone for the hotel. Everything is do not , you must not, you will be charged for. Food was appalling very little fresh food, the microwave must work overtime. This hotel needs to be completely refurbished and the owners need to see how bad they are compared to others.

  • Liked — position near shops
  • Disliked — atmosphere
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank MaidenO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.7 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing