We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peace and quiet”

St. John's Methodist Church
Ranked #14 of 99 things to do in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: St John's Methodist Church is housed in a beautiful listed building on Llandudno's vibrant Mostyn Street, right at the heart of the town. It enjoys a reputation for sound preaching, good singing and a warm welcome for the many visitors who join us during the holiday season. The church was built in 1866 as part of a special drive to establish churches in the new holiday resorts of Victorian Britain. In the 1990s the church was beautifully restored - it is noted for its wooden ceiling and glorious modern stained glass windows. We are also wellknown for our male voice choir concerts, held on Tuesdays and Thursdays throughout the holiday season. Worship is at 11am every Sunday, and the church is also open to visitors on Thursday afternoons after our healing service at 1:45pm, and on Friday mornings when we hold our coffee mornings with extra-delicious homemade cakes...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“peace and quiet”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

well worth a look - two beautiful newish stained glass windows, lovely interior giving a feeling of peace, very friendly stewards. Each Tues and Thurs evening a different male voice choir can be heard - very reasonable, very friendly and wonderful music.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    42
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable service”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Friendly, welcoming church. Lovely hymn-singing. I loved the stained glass window of John Wesley. Nothing I disliked.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wizzydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“church with a welcoming atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

It has some great stain glass windows depicting John Wesley. During the Spring Summer & Autumn on tuesdays & Thursday they have evening concerts with male voice choirs & soloists, a must to listen to when you visit

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidderminster
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

There is nothing more uplifting than to listen to a Welsh male voice choir. Their voices soar to the heavens in this special place.It was the first time that we had been to a 'live' performance, and although we have two excellent choirs (an all male voice one and an all female voice one) where we live, to hear this choir sing in such a beautiful church really was delightful.
Definitely 'a must go to' when we holiday in Llandudno again next year.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a wonderful and very moving experience”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

As regular visitors to Conwy a notice in the Tourist Information office in Betws y Coed alerted us to the regular concerts at St John's Methodist Church, held weekly during the holiday season, where various Welsh male voice choirs perform. We went when the Caernarfon Choir were performing and what a wonderful and extremely moving experience it was. When the choir of over 40 male voices sang out the sound was so majestic and simply gorgeous. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and had a marvellous evening of superb musical entertainment. The performance of the choir and the soloists was breathtaking and they quite literally send shudders (of the nicest type !) down your spine. Highly, highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 320Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. John's Methodist Church also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to St. John's Methodist Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing