We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Mary Poppins -Practically perfect in every way.”
Review of The Elm Tree Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Elm Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Elm Tree for five nights. Carol and Tom were wonderful, as were all the staff. Breakfast was exceptional, the rooms were delightful and the views to dream of. We have never been made to feel more welcome anywhere in the world. It felt like home from home. We would recommend this hotel without reservation to anyone. It is without doubt our favourite.

David and Isobel

Room Tip: We have stayed in three different rooms and all were first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherald924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

706 - 712 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We used Tripadvisor, at the last minute, to find this gem of a place to stay. We concur with so many other visitors that this is a super small hotel. From the moment you arrive Carol's welcome will assure you that you have come to the right place.

Carol will show you the available rooms; both those that were free were great but we chose the Executive Suite and were not disappointed. Carol has personally designed each room with well thought out contemporary decoration. The suite was spacious and comfortable with a perfect view of the sea and esplanade. Everything was spotlessly clean and there was plenty of hot water, fluffy towels and bathrobes. The central heating was very effective and easily adjustable. The bed was very comfortable with spotless crisp linen. Lighting and bedside lights were great. Easy to read in bed.

There is separate free wifi for each floor so signal strength and speed are great throughout the building. No children or pets which suited us.

Top quality food is used to provide a well cooked and presented substantial breakfast. Loads of choice and ample fresh fruits for the fruit salad. The bacon was especially good. Service was smooth, friendly and efficient.

The hotel is quietly situated on the sea front. The only noise was the shrieks of the gulls.

This is a delightful place to stay and we can see why many people keep coming back.

Room Tip: All we saw were good and it would be a shame not to have a sea view. The Executive Suite is a real t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiggerfrankUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We came to the Elm Tree for the Victorian Extravaganza weekend having stayed there last August and we were more than happy to return. Facilities are excellent (including the wi-fi) and nothing is too much trouble for Carol, Tom and their staff.. Carol has so much energy she would give the Duracell Bunny a run for its money!!

You can combine the excellent breakfasts with superb evening meals at the nearby Queen Victoria pub which Carol and Tom also own. You have the choice of dining in the pub downstairs or enjoying the dining room upstairs.

The Elm Tree is everything you could want in a small hotel - Welcoming - Well Run and Wonderful. Have already booked our next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeandGill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed mid April as a surprise birthday celebration. We were met on arrival by Carol who with her partner Tom were wonderful hosts. The hotel was immaculate with a superb Sun terrace and two elegant lounges, one with a honesty bar and a welcome lift to all floors. Our beautiful room no 6 had a sea view even from the bed.

The breakfast was delicious with everything on offer. We ate at the Queen Victoria just around the corner both evenings. Brittany gave us excellent service and made our celebration very special.

This is one of the best hotels without doubt we have stayed in. Faultless staff (Gareth) immaculate accommodation, extremely warm and friendly hosts.
Thank You Carol and Tom hope to see you soon.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

An excellent stay once again. Stayed in room 8, wonderful view of the bay. Tom and Carol are perfect hosts, nothing too much trouble, very friendly and kind. Rooms, breakfast and service excellent. Can't wait for the next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 200Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

As soon as we arrived at the Elm Tree & met Carol I liked her!! She is so sweet & fun & she takes the time to make sure you feel comfortable & right at home. The rooms are lovely & the beds sleep great!! And breakfast was delicious!!! Thank you Tom & Carol! From your Memphis, Tennessee friends!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank JMac-MemphisTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A big thankyou to Tom and Carol for making our stay so wonderful
we came for the Victorian extravaganzer and stayed here the rooms are emmaculate and tastfully designed,all the staff are friendly, breakfast is fantastic sets you up for the day,I must mention that the breakfast was serve so well by the gentleman waiter (sorry I forgot your name) , we had a front room overlooking the bay,I took my ipad, were ever you go in the hotel you get a great signal even when we sat in the front garden watching the world go by, have booked again and hope to visit more in the future

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#21 of 60 in Llandudno
1,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
962 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elm Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elm Tree Hotel

Address: 24 North Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elm Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Travellers Choice 2017 Award Winners - #1 Best Value Hotel in the World, #1 Best Small Hotel in the UK! A Visit Wales 4 Star Graded Accommodation in Boutique Style situated in an excellent position giving panoramic views of the magnificent Llandudno Bay. We are in close proximity to the main attractions including the Victorian Pier, Ski Slope, the renowned Venue Cymru Theatre and some of the best shopping facilities in North Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Elm Tree Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing