We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place, lovely people,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cliffbury Guest House
Ranked #15 of 146 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

It was a very nice experience to stay in Cliffbury Guest House. Myself and my wife enjoyed it very much. It was really clean place, very friendly people and very good hospitality. The only down point was that the water pressure was not so good, Mains plugs were also strangely situated very close to the floor that you couldn't plug your laptop or mobile phone charger. The double bed was also slightly small for 2 people. Breakfast was good. Very peaceful and quite location!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alireza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth O, Owner at The Cliffbury Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Hi Ali, thank you so much for writing a review of your stay with us.
I would like to comment on your points raised as follows:
"Small double bed" - the bed in the room is a standard size 4ft6" wide double bed as advertised on our website and also on Booking.com through whom you booked. The next size up is a king size bed at 5ft wide and we do have one of these in Room 2 as advertised. We would always encourage potential guests to read the room details before booking to ensure it meets their needs.

"Water pressure" - We have recently investigated this with Welsh Water who have assured us that the water pressure coming into the house is correct.
We do appreciate that being a guest house (and our home) and not a large hotel, there can from time to time be a drop in water pressure when a number of guests are showering or running a bath at the same time as we mention in the information folders in the rooms.

"Electric sockets" - unfortuantely some electric sockets in some rooms are positioned on the skirting board and we do appreciate that this can cause a problem for large chargers which are much bigger than a standard plug. We would always encourage our guests to mention any issue to us when they are here rather than waiting until thet get home as we can usually sort it out very easily and make your stay more comfortable. We do have multi point electrical extension leads available to borrow which would have sorted this problem out instantly had we been made aware, and in the future when we redecorate we will be moving some electrical sockets above the skirting board as we have done in other rooms.

Gareth & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at The Cliffbury and it was a superb experience. We stayed in room 4 which we had been warned by Gareth had a small en suite but to be honest we found it perfectly good for our purposes.
Breakfast was excellent and we particularly liked the ordering the night before which was being done to reduce waste of food - it really is commendable that Gareth and Claire are trying to prevent food being thrown away that is not eaten.
The Cliffbury is in a very quiet street which is far enough away from the town centre to be reasonably traffic free but near enough to walk to the shops and various entertainment venues.
Gareth was an excellent host who certainly knew lots about the area and while we felt the influence of Claire we didn't see her.
We would certainly return to The Cliffbury if visiting Llandudno again and would recommend it to friends and family.
Well deserving of five stars on all counts.

Room Tip: Room 4 was on the back of the house with very nice views from the window and although we were told t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Cliffbury for 3 nights in early September 2013. The earlier 5 star reviews do not exaggerate - this B&B is excellent in every respect: comfort, location, hospitality, decor, food, parking etc. etc.

We stayed in room 3 at the front with the lounge area. The room was comfortable and beautifully decorated. I would say the web photos do not do the separate lounge area justice. It is considerably more spacious than it appears in the photo.

We wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 at the front with the lounge area. The room was comfortable and beautifully deco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelWestcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our first visit and we are looking forward to going again.
Very welcoming hosts, house beautifully decorated and a good choice for breakfast.
We had room 3, very comfortable with its own sitting room.
Parking on the drive or in the street very convenient and its only a short walk to shops, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craigie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Return visit to the Cliffbury, this time we had Room 4 which is a quiet twin room on the 2nd floor. Comfy beds, spotless room/bathroom, fluffy towels and all the extras needed to make our stay comfortable. Had a full breakfast every day, excellent coffee and choice of menu, the fresh fruit 'salad' was great. Llandudno is a good base from which to discover north Wales, we visited Abersoch and Barmouth (on separate days) and each was within an easy hour and a half drive along the scenic coast road. Barmouth is particularly good if you like a walk on miles of empty beach and has a quaint harbour, Harlech is 10 mins away from Barmouth and again the beach is fantastic. Abersoch is quaint with trendy surf shops and lovely beaches. Discovered a new place to eat on this trip, La Taverna (Italian) was authentic and family run, prices were very reasonable. All in all had a brilliant 3 day break and the Cliffbury again met all our expectations. Thank you Gareth and Claire.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at The Cliffbury and found the hospitality, accommodation and food to be excellent. Highly recommended! Really comfy beds and the breakfasts were really yummy. Also we could park the car at the guest house and walk a short distance into Llandudno which saved a small fortune on parking fees.

Room Tip: We had the twin room as the rest of the house was fully booked, and found it to be really comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at the Cliffbury for 3 nights over the recent bank holiday weekend. The B&B is well positioned in easy walking distance from both the activities and restaurants in Llandudno but situated on a quiet residential street which afforded a good and quiet nights sleep.

The B&B is spotlessly clean and in excellent decorative order with well appointed rooms. Gareth and Claire were fantastic hosts that clearly take a great deal of pride in providing an excellent and friendly service.

Breakfast was cooked to order with high quality ingredients and served promptly. Definitely something to look forward to in the morning.

For those of you that like running heading out from the hotel and around Great Orme (along Marine Drive) and back is exactly 10k with some fantastic views.

We could not find fault with the Cliffbury and would not hesitate to recommend it to family and friends. Great value for money and I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lynton House
Lynton House
#5 of 146 in Llandudno
1,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#3 of 146 in Llandudno
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#4 of 146 in Llandudno
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clifton Villa Guest House
Clifton Villa Guest House
#1 of 146 in Llandudno
252 reviews
1 mi away
The Kendrick Guest House
The Kendrick Guest House
#7 of 146 in Llandudno
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffbury Guest House

Address: 34 St. Davids Road, Llandudno LL30 2UH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range: £65 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliffbury Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffbury is a modern and stylish 6 bedroom all ensuite guest house in one of the most beautiful streets in Llandudno. We are located within a few minutes walk to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, train station, promenade and Great Orme itself. We have private parking for all rooms, wireless internet access to all bedrooms, LCD digital televisions in all rooms and extensive tea & coffee making facilities. All bedrooms are on the 1st and 2nd floors. We cater mainly for the over 25s. No Pets. Nonsmoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cliffbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffbury Guest House Hotel Llandudno
The Cliffbury Guest House Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing