We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice weekend away” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chelsea
Ranked #82 of 150 Llandudno B&B and Inns
liverpool
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice weekend away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Great location, lovely property with an old chapel hall where breakfast was taken, Rebecca/Rachel was lovely really welcoming and friendly. Her mum was, well strict which made us a little uneasy but it was bearable as you could see she tried to make an effort. The rooms were adequate if a bit dated and pricy for £70 per night. We love Llandudno and visit many times a year, still haven't found the ideal b and b to return to yet but besides this its a wonderful short break destination. Great pubs and locally sourced food, fabulous walks and lots to do :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    21
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
14
57
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Chelsea for only one night, but would have loved to stay longer. There was a warm welcome on arrival and nothing was too much trouble, we stayed in the family room at the top of the house, and it was scrupulously clean and with good quality furniture which reflected the age and style of the house and the best beds I've ever come across in any B&B or Hotel I've stayed in! The en-suite bathroom was clean and modern, and the shower was good with plenty of hot water, all the electricals were new and in working order and there was A selection of hot drinks and a bottle of water each on the drinks tray. Breakfast was very nice and they even catered for my 14yr old daughters fussy diet. Everything was perfectly organised and done well, the house itself is beautiful and well kept. The location is perfect, just a few seconds walk from the town, no need to drive anywhere once you're there. Parking is limited but we didn't have much trouble finding a spot. All in all a really pleasant little break made nicer by the place and the people.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becs1971, Owner at The Chelsea, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review Judith. It was lovely to welcome you to our home (and B&B!) for your stay, albeit a short one! Jean and I are so pleased that we were able to provide everything you needed and make your stay a comfortable one. Receiving such favourable feedback from such pleasant people makes one feel the job is worthwhile. Sincerely hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nr crewe
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Arrived at this hotel and it is very clean and the theme is Victorian. For those who have complained...you are ignorant. The shower is neat and clean and the room, curtains, carpets etc are spotless and of good quality. The welcome was good. It is situated right by the cable car of the Great Orme and the view from the window is a pretty and flower covered courtyard and of the Great Orme. Parking has been good. Many themed hotels could realistically charge much more.
The hostess asked us about breakfast as she has to buy in the food fresh to cook it the following morning. I would recommend this hotel...if you want something modern where you can eat takeaways in your room...go to a travel lodge......this hotel has style and is lovingly cared for

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becs1971, Owner at The Chelsea, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay Carol. Jean and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to make guests welcome and comfortable, and as you say, we are a Victorian themed residence but unfortunately some people do not like this and want modern. Can't please everyone all the time I guess! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Had potential this place at the foot ofbthe great orme. Parking was difficult and the fact that dogs are accepted means it wont suit everyone, friendly staff but our room was very dated and bed was uncomfortable

Steps leading to door are steep and had some difficulty climbing them.

We thought we would try a hotel on other side of town to our usual excellent b&b but we have gone vack to what we know and trust for future visits

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Navaronuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just spent the bank holiday weekend here, clean & tidy, warm welcome and an excellent breakfast. In a good location and there are some good pubs and resturants nearby. We would stay here again no problem

Chris & kath

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Just returned from a couple of days at the Chelsea.The guest house was welcoming and clean,the staff were helpful and there was a good breakfast. All OK.Weve stayed before and will definitely return sometime.

Room Tip: We stayed on top floor lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrspennyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

No problems at all with this place to stay for a weekend break with our 2 dogs. It seems some people write on Tripadvisor just to make a point because they have their own agenda, I mean who wants to leave their dogs shut in a strange room anyway or you get a strop on when you expect far more than what you are paying for. For the record The Chelsea is situated close to everything in town and for the beach. Good places to eat where they allow dogs inside, 2 within 200 yards, Kings Head & Queen Vic, and one behind Wetherspoons called The Cottage Loaf. Rooms have everything you need, breakfast was good. I would recommend this as a good and reasonably priced place to stay for a break, if you want cheaper then you get what you pay for and I have no problem with that. Read all the reviews and ask yourself why the good outweigh the negative by about 20 to 1 and what type of person writes such rubbish just because they get annoyed or don't get a discount or just too inebriated and are sadly lacking in the social skills anyway. And if you don't have dogs it's still a good place to stay! (Me and the landlady are NOT related either)!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.8 mi away
Cae Mor Hotel
Cae Mor Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ascot House
Ascot House
#59 of 150 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Promenad
Promenad
#28 of 150 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chelsea

Property: The Chelsea
Address: 67 Church Walks, Llandudno LL30 2HG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chelsea has 8 en-suite rooms ranging from double, four poster, king or double and offers peaceful bed and breakfast accommodation nestled against the Great Orme. All rooms have central heating, LCD freeview tv's (some with DVD), iPod dock clock radio, complimentary beverage tray (some with mineral water) and toiletries. The guest house is ideally situated for walkers,cyclists and shoppers, being less than a minute from the beachfront, Great Orme, and shopping of Llandudno. We welcome well-behaved dogs in some rooms (charges and restrictions apply), and we politely request that dogs are not left unattended as this can be distressing for your pet. We regretfully do not accept children under the age of 10. Parking is available on-site (limited number of spaces on first-come first served basis) and on-street and is free of charge. Bike storage available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chelsea Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing