We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely awful”
Review of Elsinore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elsinore Hotel
Ranked #59 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Wigan, Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“absolutely awful”
Reviewed 29 December 2007

What a dire dump!! I know it was a good price £43 per room including breakfast, but I was really disappointed. The hotel is in great need of a full revamp. There is no atmosphere. Staff never around when needed. A can of cider (no Draught) was £2. No ice. Room very small and draughty. Curtains hanging down from the curtain pole, hooks missing.Bathroom was substandard. Mould in the shower and a back door mat to use when getting out of it.. There was a big crack all across the toilet seat, and no curtain up at the window. Breakfast was a joke.1 egg, 1 small sausage, half a tomato, 1 small rasher of bacon and a teaspoonfull of beans. All together a very disapppointing stay. It just reminded me of a doss house.

  • Liked — Position of Hotel
  • Disliked — Crummy interior
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anassa1us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    86
    105
    60
    220
See reviews for
86
232
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake District
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

Stayed here over the festive period.. We had read all the previous comments about this hotel and were cautious about what we were going to find. Upon arrival we were greeted politley and given the keys to our room. We paid £50 pn for 2 of us and for this we got a first floor sea view room. We had breakfast which was cereal, small english cooked and toast. The service was very efficient and we could not complain. Our room was serviced every day, tea and coffee topped up etc. All in all we had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is in need of decoration but due to the fact there are new owners, these things take time. We will definatley stay there again and look forward to watching this small business grow.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyTLakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2007

We booked a one night stay. We did not expect luxury but I was not expecting to see such filth. The person on the front desk quickly checked us in and gave us our key. Our room was on the 3rd floor, it was very small and what was a "double" room was a small 3/4 bed. The bed linen was dirty and had hairs on it. The curtain was hanging off the rail when I stood on the chair to fix it, I could not believe what I saw. The window sill was heavily marked with seagull dirt. I then noticed the top of the TV again was the same, it was disgusting. I appreciate the problems Llandudno has with seagulls but there was no excuse for this filth. There was also dirt on the walls. Immediately my husband & I left the hotel in search of alternative accommodation. Luckily we found a lovely clean hotel around the corner. We returned to the Elsinor and advised we would not be staying there due to the state of the room. He did not seem surprised at all, and checked us out. I would never return to this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — it was filthy
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Evo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2007

On arrival the steps leading up to the hotel were dirty and didn't seem to have been cleaned for some time. Front gardens were in need of much attention. Pools of water had formed on terrace after heavy rain and this was not cleaned during our five day stay. Our room was basic but clean, windows would not open so too warm. Damp patch marks on upper part of walls. Hotel in urgent need of full refurbishment. Food was basic and not very hot. When staff were available they were very pleasant, but seemed to disappear after the evening meal when the reception and bar were closed and locked. Would not stay at this hotel again.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank MariaMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Tor Hotel
Rose Tor Hotel
#41 of 60 in Llandudno
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#43 of 60 in Llandudno
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.7 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elsinore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elsinore Hotel

Property: Elsinore Hotel
Address: Main Promenade St. Georges Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2LF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elsinore Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elsinore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elsinore Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing