We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Elsinore,Llandudno”
Review of Elsinore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elsinore Hotel
Ranked #60 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Elsinore,Llandudno”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I had read the negative reviews about the Elsinore but decided to see for myself.
Im sorry to say it was just as bad as others have said.
It wasnt dirty,just very sad and worn.
Yes,the beef bacon was absolutely horrendous,tho the rest of the breakfast was ok. I stuck to scrambled eggs with toast.
My toilet wouldnt flush properly and the water would rise up towards the top then gradually recede. I was on pins in case it came over the top!
No toilet brush to clean toilet. Bathroom so small,my knee was hanging into the shower when I used the loo.
My room wasnt tidied on my 3rd day so at 3pm asked when it was getting done.
Bins not emptied,full bottle of pop went missing and sink scummy from that mornings toothpaste and soap.
Scaffolding outside my window-with a chair on! Was told it had been there 2 years.
Nasty!
BUT-great location and handy for everything.
Over all a very disappointing stay.I

Room Tip: Try and book a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    81
    104
    60
    219
See reviews for
84
231
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Just come back from a weekend in Llandudno and was suprised to see so many negative comments on this hotel. Its definitely a bit tired looking and could do with a bit of TLC but for the wonderful location and cheap prices it is worth staying at. I found the staff to be helpful and friendly, the room was clean and there was no problems with the hot water. The breakfast was very tasty apart from those beef rashers everyone keeps mentioning! For a weekend away this is a good, affordable hotel in a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumanji22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

terrible place in a beautiful city. really bad choice, old building, dirty, smelly and so cold!cold water, no heating at all!!!staff the opposite of happy people!!it is in a beautiful location and if they were a little more careful that could be better. i checked in at 3 and the first thing i was asked it was my card just after hello. horrible view , not the sea at all.i

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dem146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

worst hotel i have ever stayed in,the carpets were dirty and ripped and it it smelt badly,no landing lights, the lift didn't work, i tried to have a shower and all i got was a dribble of freezing cold water,i couldnt go in the dining room to eat as smell was putrid,so had to go out to eat somewhere different.THIS HOTEL MADE MY SKIN CRAWL

Room Tip: dont choose to even stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altrincham
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I was rather wary of staying at this hotel after reading some of the reviews. However, at £19 for a single room I wasn't expecting posh. I had a clean and comfortable bed and also a sea view. Only a child or stick insect would be able to get into the shower. The television only worked on BBC1 but hey who goes on holiday to watch telly. Sitting outside under cover was lovely place to watch the world go by. This hotel is very tired but this is somewhat countered by the staff who were so helpful, polite and cheerful. For being so helpful I must give a special mention to Katy and James. If you want a cheap base this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: No lifts but the staff will carry your bags to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I have to be honest about hotels and my experiences, and unfortunately not always good. The hotel reception was dirty, old fashioned and i thought the staff seemed very demotivated . The room wasnt ready as the toilet seat was loose.We returned later to see the room. It was dirty, shabby and small. The only saving grace was the beautiful view right on the sea front. The breakfast was not too bad actually , but again , bored, young demotivated staff which kind of made you want to eat and go!
Its ok if you have a groupon offer , or if you dont pay much as the location and llandudno are brilliant. seems a shame these beautiful building are being left to decay

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chezzybabe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I suppose everything is relevent and it depends what you expect for your money. We found the room was great, the sea views fantastic and the the location really good as its not far from the town but not noisy. The staff were friendly and polite so there are no issues there.
The breakast was fine with choice of cereal, toast and/or cooked breakfast (though comments that the beef bacon (what the hell is that anyway??) are like the insole of a shoe were quite truthful) and the room is fine if you are planning to get out and about and sample the surroundings and alcohol. If you are planning to spend alot of time in the hotel you would probably prefer one with entertainment anyway.
We were quite sceptical when we read the reviews after booking the hotel but being a late booking on August Bank Holiday weekend we didnt have alot of choice but we were pleasantly surprised which is the reason we posted. Hope this helps............

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Ash
The Grand Ash
#59 of 60 in Llandudno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#42 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elsinore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elsinore Hotel

Property: Elsinore Hotel
Address: Main Promenade St. Georges Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2LF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elsinore Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Elsinore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elsinore Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing